We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good atmosphere , spacious / light one bed room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort to your Saves list
Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1545 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139‎ (Formerly The James Royal Palm) (City Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #92 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great location, good atmosphere , spacious / light one bed room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We are a family with 2 teenage kids and this hotel was ideal. We had the one bedroom / sitting room option with 2 extra beds for the kids which worked out well. Room is light , clean and spacious enough. Staff very friendly. Location is great - can walk to the Art Deco Area, shops and restaurants. Beach right by the hotel. Free bike rental and did some good cycling around South Miami and downtown. This part of Miami is buzzing - lots of people watching ! Kids loved it .

Room Tip: We had the one bedroom suite on the second floor with easy pool access. Also a nice seating area jus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SwissyLugano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, Manager at Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thanks for the posting. It’s great to hear that you joined us with your family. As you already know, our bikes are a great amenity for a ride in Miami Beach. We also have additional activations like games and Lil James with a selection of arts and crafts for families. I hope we have the family back for a visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

The front desk staff are amazing. The rooms are very nice! The rest of the staff was lacking. Some of the servers and house keeping are quite rude. The beach was amazing and most of the service was good. The service was actually better at the beach then it was at the pools. The location is perfect. The food wasn't so good. The drinks were not the quality I was expecting for the price. The pools are nice. I would probably return. If I could change anything I would update the servers/wait staff and housekeeping on a little customer service.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pinkpantherx3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, Manager at Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thanks for the review. I appreciate the mention about our front desk and beach team. I will talk to the additional departments and address the lack of service. Once again, many thanks for the feedback and I hope to see you again in Miami Beach soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

My boyfriend and I just had the time of our life staying at The James Royal Palm in Miami. Without gushing on for paragraph after paragraph, I'd like to mention some standouts. Melody at check in, instantly made us feel at home. She was pleasant, informative, and took excellent care of us which made our first impression, spot on. Unfortunately I didn't catch any of the doormen/bellmen names but they were always there to assist with a smile and an offer of a bottled water on the extra hot days. Florian, the Chef Concierge, made remarkable recommendations which heightened our stay tremendously! He was an integral part of our stay for sure and you must stop to see him for ideas! John and Rob at the poolside bar were excellent with the drinks as well as great info about nearby things to do as well. I booked a signature renew massage and Elizabeth was beyond amazing - she helped me choose the best three modalities for me and helped me with some trouble spots that I didn't even know needed help!
All in all, this hotel is incredible and I will highly recommend it and hopefully return soon!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FireFly2727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, Manager at Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thanks for all the names mentioned in your posting. They are an important ingredient to our service and I appreciate all their efforts. We will recognize their contribution. Thanks again for the post and we look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Nice outside space for relaxing. Beach amenities.. just right.
Bed very comfortable. Nice housekeeping staff. Great location for all the South Beach action.
Did not eat in the restaurant, but the atmosphere looked very nice! I want my dining room to look like that. :-)

Room Tip: 17th floor had A/C noise, I guess from the roof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucinda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, Manager at Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thanks for the posting. I’m happy to hear that we delivered the right experience for you. We hope to have you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014 via mobile

Great place to spend a couple of days. Location is close to almost everything in Miami Beach (shopping, restaurants). The rooms are spacious, bar and restaurant state of the art for that class of hotel. I also liked the service at the hotel beach. Specifically worth to mention is the very competent and friendly staff.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mastif4711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, Manager at Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thanks for the recommendation. It’s great to read that you enjoyed the hotel amenities and service. We look forward to your next trip to Miami Beach. Thanks again and see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We stayed in an ocean front room for a great price of $240 a night. I would not stay here if it cost any more than that. Check in started off promising, with the great aid of Marlon. There was something wrong with my room, so Marlon paced me in a temp room because I had a splitting headache. What great service! Once in my booked room, I had to call down after 40 minutes of waiting for my bag. They couldn't find it! The guest services person was not friendly, and had sarcastic undertones. My bag arrived after 1 hour. I realized that the mini bar had not been restocked prior to my arrival. I called down to report, so as not to be charged upon checkout, and again was met by the same sarcastic male on the phone. Of course the tv didn't work. I cringed when I had to call, and again endure the same man on the phone. Nothing I called down for was inappropriate or "pest like", but he sure made me feel like he thought I was a nut!

The room was splendid. The view was spectacular. The bed was uber comfortable. The vibe in the hotel was great. We tried the spa, and it was glorious! One of the best massages I've ever had.

The service in the hotel was interesting. Everyone was willing to help, or attend to us, but NOBODY did it with a smile or a friendly attitude. Perhaps it was the heat, but the staff seemed so unhappy to be dealing with people. We went down to the outdoor restaurant by the pool one afternoon, and left after 15 minutes of being ignored by the many staff standing around. We also went to the breakfast buffet one morning and paid WAY too much for cold eggs, soggy bacon, and some fruit.

The room was fantastic, so I would stay again, but only if the price is right. This was a trial for this hotel, but I think we'll stick to our usual MB hotel next door.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trvlr2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, Manager at Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you for the details in your review. I’m sorry to hear about your arrival experience and additional issues experienced during your stay. I will certainly talk to the teams to better our service. I appreciate the feedback and hope that you will give us another try in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014 via mobile

Fantastic stay.
Start with the check in, Lakeisha (I hope in spelling her name right) was a gem very helpful and attentive she described everything I needed to know about the hotel and then some. The hotel is a nice boutique hotel between 15 and 16 on Collins. It has a nice pool with limited umbrellas so get there early if you plan on spending the morning by the pool. Also please tip the pool girl she hustles all day and I see some of you just kind of brush her off after she sets up your chairs and umbrella, you know who you are you cheapo. Anyway the beach is right on the property as well so if the pool gets full go to the beach they will set you up with a chair and an umbrella as well, tip him as well. They will bring you food and drinks if you want. Raquel is very pleasant and is constantly walking around to see if you need a drink or food.
The hotel is perfectly situated between ocean drive and Lincoln road you can walk to both or use one of the hotels bicycles (they are free) to troll the streets.
Breakfast by the Florida cookery is fine you can do the buffet or a la carte. They both come out to be about the same price 60-70. This time the food looked better for some reason. The happy gentlemen with the sunglasses that greeted us for breakfast puts you in a good mood instantly.

I enjoy the acknowledgement from all of the staff as you walk through the hotel lobby or property, it makes you feel important (good job)

Now for the :(
We were by the pool and the supervisor came and told me to turn down my little Bose speaker because it interfered with their choice of music (boo) I say to that. I just think he was jealous of my tunes.

Marlon forgot to tell the valet to retrieve my car from the parking lot when I called down from my room. It was hot out there waiting for the car.

Those are the only negatives I had this weekend. Until next time.

I will post pictures later.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank sinister27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, Manager at Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thanks for the details in your review. I appreciate the mention about Lakeisha, Raquel, and the team. I’m also happy to read that you enjoyed the location and amenities. I'm sorry to hear about the feedback but it is much appreciated and I will talk to the team members so we can better the experience. Don’t wait too long to come back. See you soon and thanks for the contribution!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Thompson Miami Beach
#5 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,197 reviews
Oceanfront
Metropolitan by COMO, Miami Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#50 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 4,848 reviews
Oceanfront
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
#98 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,001 reviews
The Palms Hotel & Spa
#60 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort

Address: 1545 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139‎ (Formerly The James Royal Palm)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Palm South Beach Miami boasts an enviable location on Collins Avenue, just north of the iconic Ocean Drive at 15th Street. With direct access to the beach and boardwalk, the resort is near the most appealing attractions of vibrant South Beach. The resort comprises a wealth of refined facilities, including a pampering spa and a pool encircled by cabanas. Dining venues serve authentic plates and cocktails in a relaxing ambience. Some 10,000 square feet of space is available for enchanting events. With iconic ocean or city views, guest rooms and suites house environmentally-friendly amenities and stylish areas for business and leisure. Poolside Suites are distinguished by their expansive outdoor terraces and proximity to the beach and pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, Starwood, HotelsClick and Jetsetter so you can book your Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing