We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent recommendation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The James Royal Palm

Save Saved
You added The James Royal Palm to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
The James Royal Palm
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1545 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139‎   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Extra Nights On Us
Ranked #39 of 200 Hotels in Miami Beach
Basel
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent recommendation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

Great place to spend a couple of days. Location is close to almost everything in Miami Beach (shopping, restaurants). The rooms are spacious, bar and restaurant state of the art for that class of hotel. I also liked the service at the hotel beach. Specifically worth to mention is the very competent and friendly staff.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, Manager at The James Royal Palm, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thanks for the recommendation. It’s great to read that you enjoyed the hotel amenities and service. We look forward to your next trip to Miami Beach. Thanks again and see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    629
    353
    134
    62
    39
See reviews for
228
493
49
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

We stayed in an ocean front room for a great price of $240 a night. I would not stay here if it cost any more than that. Check in started off promising, with the great aid of Marlon. There was something wrong with my room, so Marlon paced me in a temp room because I had a splitting headache. What great service! Once in my booked room, I had to call down after 40 minutes of waiting for my bag. They couldn't find it! The guest services person was not friendly, and had sarcastic undertones. My bag arrived after 1 hour. I realized that the mini bar had not been restocked prior to my arrival. I called down to report, so as not to be charged upon checkout, and again was met by the same sarcastic male on the phone. Of course the tv didn't work. I cringed when I had to call, and again endure the same man on the phone. Nothing I called down for was inappropriate or "pest like", but he sure made me feel like he thought I was a nut!

The room was splendid. The view was spectacular. The bed was uber comfortable. The vibe in the hotel was great. We tried the spa, and it was glorious! One of the best massages I've ever had.

The service in the hotel was interesting. Everyone was willing to help, or attend to us, but NOBODY did it with a smile or a friendly attitude. Perhaps it was the heat, but the staff seemed so unhappy to be dealing with people. We went down to the outdoor restaurant by the pool one afternoon, and left after 15 minutes of being ignored by the many staff standing around. We also went to the breakfast buffet one morning and paid WAY too much for cold eggs, soggy bacon, and some fruit.

The room was fantastic, so I would stay again, but only if the price is right. This was a trial for this hotel, but I think we'll stick to our usual MB hotel next door.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, Manager at The James Royal Palm, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you for the details in your review. I’m sorry to hear about your arrival experience and additional issues experienced during your stay. I will certainly talk to the teams to better our service. I appreciate the feedback and hope that you will give us another try in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Fantastic stay.
Start with the check in, Lakeisha (I hope in spelling her name right) was a gem very helpful and attentive she described everything I needed to know about the hotel and then some. The hotel is a nice boutique hotel between 15 and 16 on Collins. It has a nice pool with limited umbrellas so get there early if you plan on spending the morning by the pool. Also please tip the pool girl she hustles all day and I see some of you just kind of brush her off after she sets up your chairs and umbrella, you know who you are you cheapo. Anyway the beach is right on the property as well so if the pool gets full go to the beach they will set you up with a chair and an umbrella as well, tip him as well. They will bring you food and drinks if you want. Raquel is very pleasant and is constantly walking around to see if you need a drink or food.
The hotel is perfectly situated between ocean drive and Lincoln road you can walk to both or use one of the hotels bicycles (they are free) to troll the streets.
Breakfast by the Florida cookery is fine you can do the buffet or a la carte. They both come out to be about the same price 60-70. This time the food looked better for some reason. The happy gentlemen with the sunglasses that greeted us for breakfast puts you in a good mood instantly.

I enjoy the acknowledgement from all of the staff as you walk through the hotel lobby or property, it makes you feel important (good job)

Now for the :(
We were by the pool and the supervisor came and told me to turn down my little Bose speaker because it interfered with their choice of music (boo) I say to that. I just think he was jealous of my tunes.

Marlon forgot to tell the valet to retrieve my car from the parking lot when I called down from my room. It was hot out there waiting for the car.

Those are the only negatives I had this weekend. Until next time.

I will post pictures later.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, Manager at The James Royal Palm, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thanks for the details in your review. I appreciate the mention about Lakeisha, Raquel, and the team. I’m also happy to read that you enjoyed the location and amenities. I'm sorry to hear about the feedback but it is much appreciated and I will talk to the team members so we can better the experience. Don’t wait too long to come back. See you soon and thanks for the contribution!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

I spent the July 4th weekend at the James Royal Palm. Awesome hotel experience. Perfect location - close to the restaurants on Ocean Drive and the Lincoln Road Mall and right on the beach. I was able to walk from the pool/bar right onto the sand. Even their most basic room, which is what I had, was pretty luxurious. And the staff really went out of their way, particularly the incredibly helpful and cheerful concierge Nathalie, who rocks in English, French and Spanish.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, Manager at The James Royal Palm, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thanks for the review. It’s great to read that you enjoyed the celebration in Miami Beach. Our location allows easy access to all festivities. The mention about Natalie is much appreciated and we will certainly recognize her efforts. We look forward to having you back at The James Royal Palm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilburn, Georgia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

We had a weekend stay at the James. It was a pleasant surprise to us. First, it was my wife's bday and they had put a bottle of champagne and chocolate strawberries in the room. The staff was very cordial and accommodating the whole time we were there. Loved the direct access to the beach and the fact that they have umbrellas, chairs and towels for the guest that are complimentary was over the top. Be careful though because for some reason they charge on the weekends. It is nice to see that the staff goes over the top to make sure your experience is a good one. We didn't eat there because we thought the food and drinks were a bit pricey but if you talk with the concierge they will recommend great places to eat within walking distance. The location is great because it is right at the begining of Ocean Drive and thats were it starts to get wild and crazy! I must mention one thing on the rooms. When you decide on an ocean view or ocean front or street view be advised that an "Ocean view" is just that, you only see a small portion of the ocean from your rooms because they have no balconies for the "Ocean View". Last but not least, I usually stay at The Ritz Carlton which is about 1 block down from the The James. The price for which I payed for this hotel and the service and ammenities, I will no longer stay at the Ritz unless someone else is paying.

Room Tip: Don't pay the extra money for an Ocean View because it is not worth it. Either a Ocean Front ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, Manager at The James Royal Palm, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thanks for the comments. I’m happy to hear that we were able to meet your expectations during your stay with us. The details and comparisons are much appreciated. We hope you will select us on your next trip to Miami Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

This was my first time in Miami Beach and was happy I came across the James royal Hotel. From the time we stepped out our vehical we were treated like the number 1 priority. We were able to upgrade our room based on availability at no charge and just had overall friendly service the entire 3 days we were there. :) def will be going back next time we're in South Beach Miami!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, Manager at The James Royal Palm, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thanks for the posting. I’m excited that you found us. It sounds like we were able to make a great impression. We would love to have you back. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

I stayed at the James during the weekend of 07/25. Awesome staff, awesome location, breakfast buffet was very good, affordable rates.
Gorgeous view from our balcony. Martin, Rob, from the staff were super pleasant. the only hotel I can remember I had such good service is when I travel to Rio (Sheraton)
I will definitely be back at the James Royal Palm!! Loved it!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, Manager at The James Royal Palm, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Thanks for staying with us. I appreciate the mention about the team members, amenities, and service. Martin and Rob are big service contributors at the pool. We will certainly recognize them for their efforts. We look forward to having you back at The James Royal Palm.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The James Royal Palm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The James Royal Palm

Address: 1545 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139‎
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 200 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The James Royal Palm 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featured as one of Conde Nast Traveler UK & US Magazine's "Hot Hotels of 2013" and now a AAA Four Diamond rated beachfront retreat, The James Royal Palm is The James brand's third location and first hotel in Florida. Joining sister properties in Chicago and New York City, the ideally situated, oceanfront hotel offers a total of 393 guest rooms, including studios and suites, with the majority offering ocean views. A combination of personalized comfort, generous complimentary amenities, residentially styled, artistically-inspired details and impeccable service, create an environment ideal for both business and leisure travelers. Just steps away from the beach and world famous Ocean Drive and Collins Avenue, the oceanfront beach retreat is located within the coveted and culturally-rich area of South Beach. The James Royal Palm provides guests with a location immersed in luxury retail, endless entertainment and an unmatched shopping experience.Designed by Lauren Rottet of Rottet Studio, The James Royal Palm is as a modern tribute to the original Royal Palm Hotel's rich history, keeping intact many signature elements of the original architect's design. The compass rose on the terrazzo lobby floor, original green glass reception desk and porthole windows in the lobby lounge have all been preserved and restored.The James Royal Palm features two swimming pools, a plunge pool, poolside bar, The James Pool and Beach Experience, lobby lounge, coffee bar, renew the spa, a full-service spa with salt-infused treatments, lil' james Offerings and Play Space for children, give: the shop, a retail shop offering carefully curated items, and more than 10,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor meeting and event space. Guests can enjoy dining options including signature restaurant Florida Cookery; featuring regional Florida fare. A daily beach retreat charge includes: The James Beach and Pool Experience with Sun Concierge, children's play area, two beach chaise loungers and umbrella, poolside loungers, towel service, 24-hour gym, Lil' James play space access, and local & domestic long distance calls. The James offers complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the hotel, triple-distilled water refreshed twice daily and access to bicycles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Otel, Tingo, MrandMrsSmith, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Jetsetter so you can book your The James Royal Palm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The James Royal Palm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.