We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice beach holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Palm South Beach Miami

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Palm South Beach Miami to your Saves list
Royal Palm South Beach Miami
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1545 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139‎ (Formerly The James Royal Palm) (City Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #50 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bratislava, Slovakia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very nice beach holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

I´ve decided for James hotel based on its position - direct beach access and close to Lincoln road mall with restaurants, shops and possibilities to view the World cup. This has proved to be the biggest advantages of the stay.
As I have booked a beach front room for a week from Bookingcom on a very good deal I was pleasantly surprised to be given a beach front room on the top floor (1746) which had not only the front but as well left side view of the ocean, what has allowed for the most beautifull waking up to the sun coming up over the ocean, highly recommended. The in-room dining service is in general ok, the quality of the food very good (with the prices nothing less would be acceptable). The downside of the hotel as with most US hotels, you have to pay for everything separately - resort fee, fee for beach umbrella, for europeans it is an annoying experience (usually you have all inclusive deals in resorts).
The beach boxes (water and apples) at the beach are nice, but given the daily resort fee of USD 21 should be more then covered, and certainly not booked for the day when the beach is not used.
The hotel was over the week not full and therefore a peacefull place to enjoy my beach holiday (total opposite to Ocean Drive Hotels, not recommended for anyone wanting a peacfull night sleep).
The James Hotel is certainly a very good hotel for a beach holiday and has a lot of potential for being great given its position, staff and set up with little improvements.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,719 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    869
    498
    196
    96
    60
See reviews for
341
674
66
189
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (331)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We've stayed at the soho location several times and happy to report the Miami location does not disappoint. The beach and pool area are breathtaking and the hotel's decor is quirky and interesting. Great boutique hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Great location, great service, clean, lovely rooms. Will do it again soon we hope. Sleek and modern. Felt very South Beach without trying too hard. Everyone should do the Raven Run at the 5th street lifeguard stand while staying here.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Fantastic hotel located in the heart of South Beach. Big rooms, newly renovated in 2014, fitness-center, spa and private area on the beach - this hotel is what you are looking for! Lincoln Road with shopping and restaurants only 5 min walking distance from the hotel. Friendly, serviceminded and professional staff - they are truly there for their guests. Our biggest recommendations. A true Royal experience on Miami Beach.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

I absolutely LOVED this hotel! My hubby and I celebrated the Fourth of July holiday from a Wednesday to a Sunday at The James Royal Palm. Words cannot expressed how beautiful this hotel is, as well as all the great amenities included. First we checked in and was immediately offered cold towels due to the heat and cucumber water. The check in process was super quick, and our bellhop immediately let us know that anything we needed he was there to help. The bellhop Anthony was GREAT!!! He recommended several places to eat and bars to have good drinks. When my hubby and I got to our hotel we immediately were VERY impressed!!!! The room was spacious and the shower is simply AMAZING!!! We also had a very good view of both the beach and ocean from our room. One thing that I really liked about the hotel was the direct beach access, great location to Lincoln Shopping center and Ocean Dr. My hubby and I took advantage of the free bicycles at the hotel rode up and down Ocean Dr. I really like the fact the the hotel provides two beach chairs and a beach box with water and snacks while relaxing on the beach. I also like that the hotel was quiet and peaceful, and not a lot of kids running around, which is the main reason why we did not stay next door at Loews. My hubby and I will definitely return Miami and stay here again!!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandnes
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Perfect location. Friendly straff. The most pleasant thing about the hotel was the decor, style and furniture, throughout the hotel. Nice room, good bed, and the best minibar I have ever seen. Not value for money in the resturant. Had lunch there, but the rest of the meals outside the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio De Janeiro
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Loved the hotel. I had already been to Miami but sometimes stay at the James Hotel made ​​all the difference. Beautiful hotel with artwork inspiring, good service from staff, wonderful resort and great location. I thought great bikes that the hotel offers to guests. I only have two complaints, charging the umbrellas on the beach and the late opening of the cleanliness of the rooms. But the overall rating is very good. I intend to return often

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Palm South Beach Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palm South Beach Miami

Address: 1545 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139‎ (Formerly The James Royal Palm)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Palm South Beach Miami 4.5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Palm, Miami-South Beach boasts an enviable location on Collins Avenue, just north of the iconic Ocean Drive at 15th Street. With direct access to the beach and boardwalk, the resort is near the most appealing attractions of vibrant South Beach. The resort comprises a wealth of refined facilities, including a pampering spa and a pool encircled by cabanas. Dining venues serve authentic plates and cocktails in relaxing ambiences. Some 10,000 square feet of space is available for enchanting events. With iconic ocean or city views, guest rooms and suites house environmentally-friendly amenities and stylish areas for business and leisure. Poolside Suites are distinguished by their expansive outdoor terraces and proximity to the beach and pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Starwood, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Royal Palm South Beach Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Palm South Beach Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.