We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Collins Road location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The James Royal Palm

Save Saved
You added The James Royal Palm to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
The James Royal Palm
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1545 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139‎   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Extra Nights On Us
Ranked #39 of 200 Hotels in Miami Beach
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
“Great Collins Road location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

This is a great hotel when looking away from the traditional classics around the area. Modern, trendy, low profile chic and it has real people in it. Service sometime has glitches, depending what you pay (South Beach prices are like the weather in London), try live with it as it is still worth it. Friendly service, great location, super amenities, Rooms from room city view to smaller oceans, both have the same things, just smaller. Beach is convenient and well serviced, pool get's busy. Kids are no problem. Try it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, Manager at The James Royal Palm, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thanks for the review. I’m happy to hear that you enjoyed the hotel and location. I appreciate the feedback about the lack of consistency with service. We will certainly address the concern. We hope to see you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    629
    353
    134
    62
    39
See reviews for
228
493
49
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Highly recommended. Great staff. Beautiful place. Great location.
Great for couples or families. Excellent food. Cool music at the pool. Great gym. Clean and comfy rooms. Great food and drink. Overall great vibe at the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, Manager at The James Royal Palm, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thanks for the posting. It’s great to hear that you had a wonderful time with us. We look forward to having you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abuja, Nigeria
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We stayed at the James hotel for a week and it was wonderful! Right from check in to check out every single member of staff was attentive, friendly and thoughtful. We came with our 8 month old daughter and her crib was already set up in our room when we checked in. The pool and beach amenities are top notch,we were always quickly attended to with complimentary towels, water and fruit, we particularly enjoyed the plunge pool.We went to Catch Restaurant on our final day and the food and service was great... try the surf and turf! My husband and i have stayed in a lot of hotels but we have to say the James hotel thinks of everything to make your stay better. The only negatives were the alarm that went off in the middle of the night for a few hours and it scared our baby, we went downstairs and found out it was a false alarm activated by some guests.The second negative is that they need more people to man the phones, sometimes i would call for the concierge and be directed to guest services, or call for in room dining and be redirected to the concierge. However whoever picked up was always on hand to help. The cleaners came in twice a day, we were given a microwave for the whole of our stay, we were allowed to check out 3 hours after their official check out time for free!! This put a bow on an absolutely wonderful stay. Great Location, Great Staff... would definitely come here again.

Room Tip: Higher Floors get the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, Manager at The James Royal Palm, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank you for the details in your review. I appreciate the highlights about the service received. We have been working on the issues shared and plan to have them resolved immediately. Once again, thanks for the contribution to better our experience. We look forward to having you back in Miami Beach soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Wonderful location in the heart of all south beach action. Very cool lobby - albeit small bar area... but really where this place stands out to me is service. There was a great deal of mix-up with our reservation (through no fault of the hotel) - and they were able to accommodate the entire party - without issue. I could not be more appreciative as this really could have been a disaster. The pool is a wonderful hangout - absolutely beautiful. The beachside service could use a bit of work - as the waitstaff were easily confused - and brought us the wrong drink a few times... but, again - based on the service dealing with my reservation - i was more than happy. Rooms are a bit small - but very well appointed - and very "cool".

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, Manager at The James Royal Palm, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank you for the review. I’m excited to hear that you enjoyed the service. The team appreciates the mention and we will certainly celebrate the progress. We hope to have you back on your next special occasion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

On the 2nd night the fire alarm went off for over 2 hours & didn't stop until 1am- no compensation granted from staff!
When we checked out our bill was charged an extra $650 for clothing and food that was billed to our room from other guests.
Be extremely careful to check your final bill the night before, as we had been charged a $112 dinner at catch restaurant which we never went to- $351 on clothing we never purchased & food at the bar over $200 we never ate!
The manager only took off half of this off and directly charged $253 to our credit card without consent & not replying to our responding email to verify the forged signatures ?
We are still waiting for a reply?
Start to our honeymoon awful after flying all the way from Australia to get here...

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, Manager at The James Royal Palm, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Thank you for the comments. I apologize about the experience at check out. I understand that our team has already responded to your issue. Kindly feel free to reach out to me at rhai@jameshotels.com for additional assistance as needed. I hope we have the opportunity to have you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jupiter, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

My husband and I were planning to celebrate my daughter's 21st birthday. We booked two rooms. Unfortunately, my husband, a surgeon, had a change in his work schedule. We tried to cancel his room for two nights- keeping it for only one night. We would have kept the other room like planned. We called only two hours past the free cancellation deadline, and the front desk from the Royal James was not only rude but also uncooperative. We ended up paying $700 as a cancellation fee rather than putting up with this attitude.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, Manager at The James Royal Palm, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Thanks for the feedback. I’m sorry to hear about the last minute change in plans and experience you had with our front desk. Please reach out to me at rhai@jameshotels.com so I can better understand the details. I hope to hear from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

This boutique hotel in the heart of South Beach is at a great location - on Collins a short walk to Ocean and Lincoln. Right from reservation to check-out and even afterward their service was always first class, and never snobby or judgmental as you might expect at a "boutique" hotel. It was always friendly, helpful service, with a smile! The concierge service is always willing to help you make your stay better and will help you find anything that meets your needs in the area. The pool and beach are first class - and the service there is too - they always make sure they find you a spot, get you chairs, clean them, set them up with towels and provide you a box with snacks and water! Don't be surprised if you even see the manager walking on the beach giving out slices of watermelon or pineapple on a really hot day! All wait staff at the restaurants, pools, and beach are always observant and notice anytime a guest needs anything! I would definitely recommend it as a place to stay!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The James Royal Palm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The James Royal Palm

Address: 1545 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139‎
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 200 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The James Royal Palm 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featured as one of Conde Nast Traveler UK & US Magazine's "Hot Hotels of 2013" and now a AAA Four Diamond rated beachfront retreat, The James Royal Palm is The James brand's third location and first hotel in Florida. Joining sister properties in Chicago and New York City, the ideally situated, oceanfront hotel offers a total of 393 guest rooms, including studios and suites, with the majority offering ocean views. A combination of personalized comfort, generous complimentary amenities, residentially styled, artistically-inspired details and impeccable service, create an environment ideal for both business and leisure travelers. Just steps away from the beach and world famous Ocean Drive and Collins Avenue, the oceanfront beach retreat is located within the coveted and culturally-rich area of South Beach. The James Royal Palm provides guests with a location immersed in luxury retail, endless entertainment and an unmatched shopping experience.Designed by Lauren Rottet of Rottet Studio, The James Royal Palm is as a modern tribute to the original Royal Palm Hotel's rich history, keeping intact many signature elements of the original architect's design. The compass rose on the terrazzo lobby floor, original green glass reception desk and porthole windows in the lobby lounge have all been preserved and restored.The James Royal Palm features two swimming pools, a plunge pool, poolside bar, The James Pool and Beach Experience, lobby lounge, coffee bar, renew the spa, a full-service spa with salt-infused treatments, lil' james Offerings and Play Space for children, give: the shop, a retail shop offering carefully curated items, and more than 10,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor meeting and event space. Guests can enjoy dining options including signature restaurant Florida Cookery; featuring regional Florida fare. A daily beach retreat charge includes: The James Beach and Pool Experience with Sun Concierge, children's play area, two beach chaise loungers and umbrella, poolside loungers, towel service, 24-hour gym, Lil' James play space access, and local & domestic long distance calls. The James offers complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the hotel, triple-distilled water refreshed twice daily and access to bicycles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Venere, Otel, Tingo, MrandMrsSmith, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HotelsClick and Jetsetter so you can book your The James Royal Palm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The James Royal Palm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.