We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Miami Business” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The James Royal Palm

Save Saved
You added The James Royal Palm to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
The James Royal Palm
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1545 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139‎   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to $75 Daily Credit
Ranked #40 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Fairfax, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Miami Business”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

As someone who travels around the world hosting meetings, I was pleasantly surprised with the ease of this hotel. The boutique feeling was inviting and the artwork added a beautiful touch compared to the normal start walls and crazy patterned carpet. The meetings staff was extremely accommodating and attentive. The Banquets Department was a superstar and improvised when my normally late-rising attendees all decided to eat breakfast at the same time.

The real downside of the property is the mosquito issue. The structure of the outdoor restaurant is on top of a constantly wet space and promotes the breeding. Once we discovered the issue, we had to spray ourselves down with bug spray.

South Beach is not my normal scene, but as a relaxing destination, I would consider coming back to the James Royal Palm.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, Manager at The James Royal Palm, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Thank you for the details on your in house meeting experience. I regret to hear about the mosquito issue. We are making efforts to enhance the area and comfort.

We hope to have you back on your next trip to Miami Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,082 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    550
    318
    118
    59
    37
See reviews for
194
439
41
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Generally speaking my wife and I found the hotel very welcoming and in a good location. The old charm of this hotel was preserved with a tasteful renovation. We had a few issues related to our specific situation but this does not negate that the hotel met our needs.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, Manager at The James Royal Palm, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Thank you for the posting. The hotel has made extensive efforts to detail its décor and I’m happy to hear you liked it.

Kindly email me at rhai@jameshotels.com the details about your issues. I would like the opportunity to address them if possible. I hope to hear from you and I appreciate the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

Great location and staff,good value,was there a conference,everything ran very smoothly.Ate at Florida Cookery for breakfast ,lunch and dinner and they were very good experiences.Lovely pool area and accessibility to the beach brilliant

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, Manager at The James Royal Palm, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
I’m happy to hear that you enjoyed the culinary experience and pool during your stay. Please hurry back so we can see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

This is a typical restored art deco hotel in Miami Beach. The location is great, right in front of the beach and with entrance on Collins Av, near Lincoln Road. The rooms are large and modern. The main problens with this hotel are: (i) the service, which is careless, inattentive and poor and (ii) the cleanliness in the common areas. Trays of room service food would sit in the corridors for a whole day without being picked up.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, Manager at The James Royal Palm, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Thanks for the review. I’m sorry we did not meet your expectations. We try our very best to be a unique hotel that care for our guests. Service and cleanliness is our standard and important to me. Rest assured I will circle back with the teams to address the issues shared here.

I hope you will give us another chance in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Everything was very good.

the only things than we can say are:

There were few waiters at the pool and we had to wait 15 minutes minimum to make an order.

There were some children without their parents, running and shouting around the pool and was so annoying to be there.

There was a dog at the pool and nobody from staff did and said nothing to dog's owner.

We went to the beach and the umbrella were to expensive (19 dollar), it could free according to the price and the category of the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, Manager at The James Royal Palm, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Thank you for the comments. I’m sorry to hear that your poolside experience was not the best. I will talk to the team to better the operation.

I appreciate the concern about our retreat fee of $19 which allows usage of amenities throughout our property. The price allows us to extend additional services with added value. Thanks again for your time and feedback. We hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Everything from the staff, the service, the contemporary decorated the rooms, the location and the beach club I LOVED! This was a hotel totally my style. Beds were so comfortable I never wanted to get up. The staff super service minded and friendly. The service around the pool and at the beach club was amazing as well as the food and the drinks. You even got a basket with fruit and water. There was wifi at the beach! Writing this review really makes me think back and remember how good it was, I wanna go back RIGHT NOW!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, Manager at The James Royal Palm, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Wow! Thanks for the review. Happy to hear you had a great time at our hotel and enjoyed the amenities. We enjoy having frequent guests of The James Royal Palm so hurry back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Location of this hotel on SoBe without being at the heart of the craziness (close enough to see all SouthBeach has to offer without being immersed in it) was key in my choosing it, as well as the size of rooms, clean facility, and opportunity to reserve a balcony. Some of those expectations worked out. Our room (602) was large, and we liked the layout. The room featured a "walkout balcony" - which apparently means just narrow enough to step onto. Not sure you could fit a chair on it. I expected more, although once there it was not a big issue, since the nights are warm and sitting inside with the AC was nice. The ocean suites might have larger balconies, at a substantial premium. If you are looking at The James because you want a balcony, do not. The Loews and Z hotel a few doors down both looked like they had good large balconies.
There was an outdoor wedding, and the music was a serious issue- with the bass thumping well past midnight (1am?). Management said an outdoor wedding on the property was rare, and made a small adjustment to the bill - although I would have preferred the sleep. A few highlight were: dinner at Catch, one of the on premise restaurants. There is also a paver path that runs up and down the beachfront for several miles, that is directly behind the hotel (as well as any other hotel on the beach) with the beach on the other side. Great for a run, bike ride (as others have said, the hotel does have bikes for guest use). Two chairs and blankets are free with a standard room. The place has a great open feel, not overly developed, with nice art. The spa is nice, my wife enjoyed a massage. The main pool was not large, and was full. All in all the location is great if you want fun but not a rave, and we found the place clean and well run - but the late, loud music was really an issue for us the one night. I had not seen that as an issue on other reviews, so was very surprised and disappointed. Ultimately, I liked the place but not sure I was impressed enough to return, versus the numerous other options.

Room Tip: Room 602 west tower was large and had a great layout, although too low, and although it had a narrow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard H, Manager at The James Royal Palm, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Thanks for the reviews. I’m sorry to hear about the balcony. We have many categories in our hotel that may assist with different preferences. The oceanfront rooms are best for large balconies and possess spectacular views of the ocean.

I appreciate the comments about the events as we try our best to create the right experience for all who visit us. It appears that we did not meet this expectation with you and for that I apologize about the issue. I hope we have the chance to have you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The James Royal Palm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The James Royal Palm

Address: 1545 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139‎
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The James Royal Palm 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featured as one of Conde Nast Traveler UK & US Magazine's "Hot Hotels of 2013" and now a AAA Four Diamond rated beachfront retreat, The James Royal Palm is The James brand's third location and first hotel in Florida. Joining sister properties in Chicago and New York City, the ideally situated, oceanfront hotel offers a total of 393 guest rooms, including studios and suites, with the majority offering ocean views. A combination of personalized comfort, generous complimentary amenities, residentially styled, artistically-inspired details and impeccable service, create an environment ideal for both business and leisure travelers. Just steps away from the beach and world famous Ocean Drive and Collins Avenue, the oceanfront beach retreat is located within the coveted and culturally-rich area of South Beach. The James Royal Palm provides guests with a location immersed in luxury retail, endless entertainment and an unmatched shopping experience.Designed by Lauren Rottet of Rottet Studio, The James Royal Palm is as a modern tribute to the original Royal Palm Hotel's rich history, keeping intact many signature elements of the original architect's design. The compass rose on the terrazzo lobby floor, original green glass reception desk and porthole windows in the lobby lounge have all been preserved and restored.The James Royal Palm features two swimming pools, a plunge pool, poolside bar, The James Pool and Beach Experience, lobby lounge, coffee bar, renew the spa, a full-service spa with salt-infused treatments, lil' james Offerings and Play Space for children, give: the shop, a retail shop offering carefully curated items, and more than 10,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor meeting and event space. Guests can enjoy dining options including signature restaurant Florida Cookery; featuring regional Florida fare. A daily beach retreat charge includes: The James Beach and Pool Experience with Sun Concierge, children's play area, two beach chaise loungers and umbrella, poolside loungers, towel service, 24-hour gym, Lil' James play space access, and local & domestic long distance calls. The James offers complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the hotel, triple-distilled water refreshed twice daily and access to bicycles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Tablet Hotels, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Venere, Tingo, TripOnline SA, MrandMrsSmith, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and HotelsClick so you can book your The James Royal Palm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The James Royal Palm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.