We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The James Royal Palm

Save Saved
You added The James Royal Palm to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
The James Royal Palm
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1545 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139‎   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Extra Nights On Us
Ranked #39 of 200 Hotels in Miami Beach
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Gorgeous hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Such a cool and trendy hotel, very Miami. The welcome on reception was very good as was the service through out the hotel. I was really impressed with the bedrooms, everything was so white and spotlessly clean. I think the bed was probably the most comfortable hotel bed I have ever stayed in. The pool area can get busy but is a great place to plot up for a couple of hours and hotel has direct access to the beach. Great location, close enough to be near the action but far enough away for peace and quiet. Very impressed!

Room Tip: We had a city view room which was fine but had no balcony, go for sea view if your budget will allow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie T, Asst General Manager at The James Royal Palm, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thank you for the lovely comments regarding your visit with us. We appreciate that you took the time to detail your stay. Our beds are very comfortable and with the white bedding you can feel as though you are resting on a cloud. Please come back to visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    629
    353
    134
    62
    39
See reviews for
228
493
49
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

We had a fantastic stay at The James Royal Palm. Edgar assisted with my check-in and went above and beyond to assure that we had the best room available and to have it ready in a timely fashion so that I could take a nap following my red-eye flight. Beach servers Steven and Berlin were both very attentive and patient with our large group of girls. Bartenders Nate and Ray were also wonderful, very friendly, mixed excellent cocktails, and had great recommendations of things to do in the area. Thanks again for a fantastic trip! It was worth every penny and I will definitely be back to stay at The James next time I'm in South Beach.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie T, Asst General Manager at The James Royal Palm, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
So happy to hear that you had a great stay with us! Thank you for letting us know in your review. We also appreciate that you let us know specific Team Members that that had a positive impact on your visit- the bartenders, beach servers and the agent at check in. I will be sure to pass your compliments along to them. Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

Just returned from a wonderful stay at The James Royal Palm. The service was unsurpassed, the rooms were sparkling clean and the setting amidst the palm trees and right on the ocean was perfect. I will be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie T, Asst General Manager at The James Royal Palm, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
What a gracious and warm review! Thank you so much for your comments. I will certainly share your experience details with the team. I am so glad that the service and housekeeping met and surpassed your expectations. Thank you again and we look forward to having you back as our guest soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingston
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Choosing the right hotel in South beach is a matter of whether you want one large or small, the location (Ocean Drive, Collins or elsewhere), and of course budget. There are so many good ones to choose from that it can become a difficult situation. We’ve stayed at the Albion (decent, tiny room), Loews (big, comfortable), Raleigh (classical, lovely pool), Tides (fabulous) and National (lovely, evocative). This time we chose one of the newest names on the block, The James Royal Palm, following a recent stay at their sister property in New York.

It is one of the bigger ones on an enviable location on Collins, directly on the beach (across the short boardwalk path). The James is not as big as it’s next door neighbour, Loews, but bigger than others. It is actually made up of two main buildings, which were extension based on original hotels (Shorecrest and Royal Palm). The frontage of each has been immaculately re-designed (the story of the property is laid out near the lobby).

The design of the James is, like New York, based on style, with various pieces of art throughout the airy and spacious lobby and around the hotel. It preserves the original art deco design while given various modern touches throughout. The interior is cool and airy, and the exterior areas are relaxed, with lots of banquettes and cushions.

Our room was on the 15th Floor of the ‘Shorecrest’ side, and we had a spectacular view from our step-out balcony of South Beach, Lummus Park, Ocean Drive down to Southpointe and across to the city. The room was clean, white and spacious. The bed was comfy and huge. It included the usual James touches such as robes, slippers, big flat screen TV, and minibar. Complimentary water was provided but was only brought once a day, rather than twice as advertised (so note to management here about sorting this first of the minor issues).

There are a few dining options on site, including Catch and Florida Cookery (neither of which we tried on this occasion) plus some great bars which serve superb cocktails. Music and entertainment was provided at various points of the day (mostly a DJ spinning tunes).

The staff were good. Extra perks provided include free cycles. There’s an excellent gym on site, along with a coffee shop and the usual gift shop.

The pool area is lovely. While there are two pools the sun beds get snapped up early so unless you are spending a day by the pool and arrive in the morning, getting one in the afternoon after a day’s sightseeing can be difficult, but the staff are on hand to help out (and bring drinks and food).

The beach service is also very good – with loungers and baskets provided (apples, small bottles of water and a menu/service for food and drink if needed – you also get these by the pool). However, we had one bone of contention here. If you want to sit on the beach, the James charges you an extra $19 if you want an umbrella. James – please sort this out! Us paying guests are already paying for rooms, buying expensive cocktails, and paying resort taxes of an extra $21 per day, so this just feels a bit penny pinching.

That said, these few negatives should not distract from the positive experience we had at The James Royal Palm. I mention them only because they were stark (tiny) irritations in what was otherwise a fantastic stay at a stylish, classy, and remarkable hotel. The James Royal Palm gets so much absolutely right. We loved it.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 15th floor and was quiet but with an amazing view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie T, Asst General Manager at The James Royal Palm, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for your lovely and detailed account of your stay at The James Royal Palm. We appreciate all the wonderful comments and certainly take to heart your points regarding the umbrella and water. I am glad to hear that you had a great stay with us and enjoyed our location and the amenities. We look forward to welcoming you back and hope it will be soon. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

This is a good hotel in a great location. We found the hotel concierge (Brooke) to be absolutely brilliant. Thanks brooke! If you need anything or plan to take the misses out for the evening he is the man to go to! He has more contacts than I have had hot dinners. The manager was also very friendly and the housekeeping was great. We had a great few days there, although our experience was tarnished by 2 aspects: Some of the younger stuff I found to be rude and unhelpful especially the ones at front desk.They let the hotel down! The hotel was booked through expedia. The hotel room booked clearly states the room is overlooking the beach and sea. This is a incorrect!. The description has been taken from the hotels website. In fact the first room we were given you could only see a portion of the sea (between 2 apartment complexes). The second room we were given overlooked a apartment complex. The sea was visible when you stuck your head out of the window. Maybe the term "overlooking" is used differently in other countries ;-).

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie T, Asst General Manager at The James Royal Palm, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
We appreciate the review of the hotel and the details regarding your stay. Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. Thanks for letting us know about your interactions with Brooke and also with the housekeeping department. I will take your comments regarding the Front Desk and investigate as this is not something I ever hear and I want to ensure we are addressing it quickly. I'm sorry if you were made to feel this way. We do have a number of room types with differing views and I apologize if our categorization did not meet with your expectations. Hopefully we will be able to put you in a room meeting your expectations on your next visit. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mullica Hill, New Jersey, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

My husband and I really enjoyed our time at this hotel. We had a wonderful room with an ocean view. The beach service was wonderful. What a nice relaxing way to enjoy the beach on a nice padded chair with an umbrella and a waiter to bring you delicious drinks.

The only downside to this trip was a rude man on the beach. He was horrible to the staff for no reason and he yelled and complained. He lied about getting poor service and was rewarded with free drinks. After the manager came over and brought the drinks, he bragged to the people around him that he does that everywhere he goes to get free drinks. He even bragged that he'll complain about his room and get a discount. Disgusting!

All the staff was really nice...even when we had to leave for the airport at 5am.

I would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie T, Asst General Manager at The James Royal Palm, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experiences at The James Royal Palm on your recent visit. I am so glad you were able to enjoy the beach and our services. I apologize that you had to experience the unfortunate situation with the other guest and hope it did not negatively impact your day too much. Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

The service at The James was FANTASTIC. But one example of the quality of the staff service was their response when my wife had an allergic reaction at about 3 AM. We called down to the front desk to see if they had any Benadryl tablets or capsules, and they didn't. But they offered to send someone out to get some from the pharmacy. And, sure enough, 15 minutes later, staff arrived with Benadryl. Truly exceptional service like that will keep us coming back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie T, Asst General Manager at The James Royal Palm, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Thank you for the lovely review. It is wonderful to see that we were able to assist you and your wife during a difficult situation. I certainly hope she is feeling better and you are beginning to make plans for your next visit. thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The James Royal Palm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The James Royal Palm

Address: 1545 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139‎
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 200 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The James Royal Palm 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featured as one of Conde Nast Traveler UK & US Magazine's "Hot Hotels of 2013" and now a AAA Four Diamond rated beachfront retreat, The James Royal Palm is The James brand's third location and first hotel in Florida. Joining sister properties in Chicago and New York City, the ideally situated, oceanfront hotel offers a total of 393 guest rooms, including studios and suites, with the majority offering ocean views. A combination of personalized comfort, generous complimentary amenities, residentially styled, artistically-inspired details and impeccable service, create an environment ideal for both business and leisure travelers. Just steps away from the beach and world famous Ocean Drive and Collins Avenue, the oceanfront beach retreat is located within the coveted and culturally-rich area of South Beach. The James Royal Palm provides guests with a location immersed in luxury retail, endless entertainment and an unmatched shopping experience.Designed by Lauren Rottet of Rottet Studio, The James Royal Palm is as a modern tribute to the original Royal Palm Hotel's rich history, keeping intact many signature elements of the original architect's design. The compass rose on the terrazzo lobby floor, original green glass reception desk and porthole windows in the lobby lounge have all been preserved and restored.The James Royal Palm features two swimming pools, a plunge pool, poolside bar, The James Pool and Beach Experience, lobby lounge, coffee bar, renew the spa, a full-service spa with salt-infused treatments, lil' james Offerings and Play Space for children, give: the shop, a retail shop offering carefully curated items, and more than 10,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor meeting and event space. Guests can enjoy dining options including signature restaurant Florida Cookery; featuring regional Florida fare. A daily beach retreat charge includes: The James Beach and Pool Experience with Sun Concierge, children's play area, two beach chaise loungers and umbrella, poolside loungers, towel service, 24-hour gym, Lil' James play space access, and local & domestic long distance calls. The James offers complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the hotel, triple-distilled water refreshed twice daily and access to bicycles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Otel, Tingo, MrandMrsSmith, getaroom.com, Venere, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Jetsetter so you can book your The James Royal Palm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The James Royal Palm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.