We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location on the beach.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort to your Saves list
Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1545 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139‎ (Formerly The James Royal Palm) (City Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #92 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great location on the beach.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Freshly remodeled. Very cool outdoor bar and pool area. Room #405 is big, spacious and comfortable but doesn't have the best view. And be advised that trash collection in the alley below starts early every morning.

Room Tip: Room #405 is big, spacious and comfortable but doesn't have the best view. And be advised that t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheBrewmaster18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie T, Asst General Manager at Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you for your review. We agree that our location on the beach cannot be beat. I apologize if the outside noises affected your stay. I hope you will return soon and visit with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Miami Beach
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Staff was very welcoming. Convenient location to beach and shopping.
Poor service in restaurant and unhappy with food choices. Staff were accomaditing in making the necessary changes in food order.
Had to move to another room due to noise from disco. Second room had an unpleasant odor. Seemed like the shampoo was diluted and it stung when used on scalp!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Danielle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie T, Asst General Manager at Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, responded to this review, March 11, 2014
Thank you for reviewing the property and telling of your experiences while you were staying with us. I was glad to hear that the staff was accommodating to your requests. I was sorry to hear that you were not pleased with our bathroom amenity products and that you were inconvenienced by the music during your stay. I hope you will return and give us another opportunity to show you the customer service we aspire to with all of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

We had a 3-day stay and could easily have stayed longer. We didn't even get to see/use all the facilities at the hotel during our stay. The location was perfect, room & view exceptional, and staff really friendly. All in all a very good experience. We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mai C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie T, Asst General Manager at Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you for the fantastic review. We are excited that you will recommend us and hope that you will return soon. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
103 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

After arriving from Ecuador we were told the room was not ready ... three hours later we were still waiting! eventually got into the room.
Lovely room overlooking the sea and all very clean apparently a deluxe ocean front room (which the man on the desk kept saying it will be worth the wait well it was a nice room but nothing particularly that special. The cost of the two nights cost 1150 US dollars, so not cheap. This did not include breakfast room only.
We were given no fresh water the next day although it stipulated the water was put there on a daily basis, so went down at 10pm to ask for some water, yes it would be bought up I was told well that never arrived. The next day checking out we were told no courtesy suite to change in, no shower facility to use bearing in mind check out was 11am and we did not leave the hotel till 6pm. Out of all the hotels we have been to around the world, we have never been to one that does not offer this facility after having a few words about this to the nice lady behind the desk she said she would give us a later check out which we appreciated.
We spent a few hours on the beach, to find wow the hotel sunbeds were free but hey 20$ for the sun umbrella and 150$ for a double bed with canopy!!! where on earth does one have to pay for the hotel facility when one is staying at the hotel using their stretch of the beach?
Have to say not what I expected from a five star hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sunsmiley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie T, Asst General Manager at Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you for your comments regarding your stay. While we do offer chairs on the beach included in your Resort Charge, additional services do have a fee as is common at many South Beach properties. I am glad we were able to accommodate you with a later check out so you could enjoy the property. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio De Janeiro, Brazil
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

I had a wonderful experience
The service was better than I expected, the pool, the beach are gorgeous and the location was perfect
I travell with my 14 years old daughter, they accept to put her with us and it was confortable
I hardly recomend

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Christiane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie T, Asst General Manager at Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you for the review and I was so pleased to see that we exceeded your expectations. I was happy to hear that you agree that our location and beach are perfect. Thank you again and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
73 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

For better or worse, I've stayed in many hotels in Miami Beach, mainly for work-related events. I have found most of them to be lacking in some way. But I just returned from 3 days at the James Royal Palm and had a fantastic stay. It is in an ideal location - right on the beach, close to shopping and restaurants.

Very stylish but warm interiors and lots of great places to hang out, either inside or outside. I had an ocean view room, which was small but really comfortable, nicely designed, with good amenities and features. Views were lovely. The pool area is very nice, as is the lobby (where I was able to find good places for work when I needed to do that). Loved having access to a bicycle too. Finally, service was remarkably attentive and friendly - everything from check in, to room service, to the spa, to breakfast on the patio, to drinks on the beach.

Overall, this hotel has a great, friendly vibe with a nice mix of guests (families, couples, business travelers). Would definitely return and recommend to friends.

Room Tip: Definitely go for the ocean view if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TxTree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie T, Asst General Manager at Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
What a lovely review! Thank you for detailing your experiences. It is great to hear that we really exceeded your expectations. We have to agree that our location is perfect and it is great to see that you feel our staff is attentive and service is on point. Thank you again and please hurry back to see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

the hotel is really great and very nice.Very good position and friendly staff.
But I really don't understand why you have to pay for the beach. You must arleady pay USD 21 resort fee each day.
Would be perfect if the beach is included.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
Helpful?
Thank Armand774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie T, Asst General Manager at Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, responded to this review, March 10, 2014
Thank you for your comments. I am not certain as to your statements saying that you had to pay for the beach. We do have the resort charge which includes your beach chairs, James Beach Box, water, and Wi-Fi. The only other charge you may have at the beach is for an umbrella as that is not included. Please feel free to contact me privately at jamesmiamigm@jameshotels.com if there was some other type of charge that you encountered so I may investigate. thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Thompson Miami Beach
#5 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,200 reviews
Oceanfront
Metropolitan by COMO, Miami Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#50 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 4,852 reviews
Oceanfront
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
#99 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,003 reviews
The Palms Hotel & Spa
#61 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort

Address: 1545 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139‎ (Formerly The James Royal Palm)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Palm South Beach Miami boasts an enviable location on Collins Avenue, just north of the iconic Ocean Drive at 15th Street. With direct access to the beach and boardwalk, the resort is near the most appealing attractions of vibrant South Beach. The resort comprises a wealth of refined facilities, including a pampering spa and a pool encircled by cabanas. Dining venues serve authentic plates and cocktails in a relaxing ambience. Some 10,000 square feet of space is available for enchanting events. With iconic ocean or city views, guest rooms and suites house environmentally-friendly amenities and stylish areas for business and leisure. Poolside Suites are distinguished by their expansive outdoor terraces and proximity to the beach and pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Starwood, HotelsClick and Jetsetter so you can book your Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing