We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I really enjoyed this place.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The James Royal Palm

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The James Royal Palm to your Saves list
The James Royal Palm
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1545 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139‎   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$200 daily hotel credit
Ranked #34 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
The_Cart_Toronto
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“I really enjoyed this place.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Great relaxed and chill vibe. Perfect location to Lincoln Ave. Staff around pool and beach area were attentive, helpful and went out of there way to make you feel at home. Unpretentious and unannoying guests (unlike some other SoBe hotels).

Great breakfast and reasonably priced.

I've stayed at Shore Club, Fontainebleu, SLS, Gaansvort and this has by far been my favourite of the bunch.

Will be back. Book early and score great deals.

Massage was one of the best I've ever had. Ask for Luis.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie T, Asst General Manager at The James Royal Palm, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Wow! Thanks for all of the great comments. You rank us in good company and we appreciate that you put us in the lead. I am so happy we were able to provide you with the experience you were looking for and we hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,445 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    777
    413
    144
    69
    42
See reviews for
266
571
59
164
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Visited this hotel for part of our honeymoon. Hotel is kept spotless, location is great but what impressed me the most was politeness of staff. John, one of the staff on the beach, was particularly helpful and delivered a superb service during our stay. The Florida Cookery was also impressive, pancakes for breakfast were very tasty and the steak for dinner was delicious. Would like to say a big thank you to all the staff at the hotel for a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie T, Asst General Manager at The James Royal Palm, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Thank you for your comments regarding the facility but most especially I would like to thank you for recognizing the staff. We do our best to provide excellent service and make everyone feel welcome and special. I appreciate that you took the time to mention John and we will certainly pass on your positive comments. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Overall this hotel is awesome. The rooms have excellent decor and sheets! The service poolside and ocean side are both amazing!!!! The pool was great, great cocktails, good music. The hot tub is fun, the location is perfect. I would definitely stay there again.

The only thing to note is that when they tell you, you have an ocean view room, it doesn't mean you are facing the ocean... in our case it was a view in the distance off to the side, behind a building.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie T, Asst General Manager at The James Royal Palm, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Thank you so much for the great review. We are very pleased that you had a wonderful stay with us and enjoyed the property. I apologize for the misunderstanding regarding the view. We do have ocean front and ocean view rooms and I am sorry if this was not communicated better during your reservation process. I hope you will return to visit The James Royal Palm and South Beach again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

I tagged along with a friend who came for business. She worked all day and I played! The hotel is wonderful. The staff is amazing. Anything you needed, they were more than happy to help. I was sad to leave.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie T, Asst General Manager at The James Royal Palm, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
I am so glad you were able to "tag along"! It's great to read that we were able to give you a great experience and you were able to enjoy the amenities around the property. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
273 helpful votes 273 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Generally, not bad. The location is good, the staff friendly, especially the pool staff, and the facility is modern. We felt the resort fee of $21 per day regardless of which amenities we used took advantage of us having no choice but to pay especially as no one explained this fee in advance.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie T, Asst General Manager at The James Royal Palm, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you for the review. I apologize if the Resort Charge was not explained properly prior to your arrival. It does cover a multitude of items including internet access, triple distilled water, chaise lounges at the beach and your James Beach box each day. I certainly appreciate your comments and will make sure that we discuss these items to ensure that they are communicated better with future guests. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Room was very nice but the staff is not well trained and the attention to detail is not up to par for this brand. Prior communication with the hotel was either ignored or not acted upon for reasons we never were told. Front desk needs better training to take care of issues that may arrive.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie T, Asst General Manager at The James Royal Palm, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
I was disappointed to read that we had not reacted to prior communication that you had with the property. All of your other comments were positive and I am sorry that we dropped the ball in that area. I hope that you will return sometime soon and let us show the service we pride ourselves on. Thank you for the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Before being assigned a room be sure to ask if there are chairs in the room.
No chair/chairs in our room.. Your choice of sitting is on the bed or floor.
Also need a safety handle on the wall for getting in and out of the shower.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie T, Asst General Manager at The James Royal Palm, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We do have a small group of rooms that do not have a side chair, but we are working to correct that issue and should have it resolved very soon. I hope it did not hamper your stay in a negative way. We look forward to having you return in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The James Royal Palm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The James Royal Palm

Address: 1545 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139‎
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The James Royal Palm 4.5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featured as one of Conde Nast Traveler UK & US Magazine's "Hot Hotels of 2013" and now a AAA Four Diamond rated beachfront retreat, The James Royal Palm is The James brand's third location and first hotel in Florida. Joining sister properties in Chicago and New York City, the ideally situated, oceanfront hotel offers a total of 393 guest rooms, including studios and suites, with the majority offering ocean views. A combination of personalized comfort, generous complimentary amenities, residentially styled, artistically-inspired details and impeccable service, create an environment ideal for both business and leisure travelers. Just steps away from the beach and world famous Ocean Drive and Collins Avenue, the oceanfront beach retreat is located within the coveted and culturally-rich area of South Beach. The James Royal Palm provides guests with a location immersed in luxury retail, endless entertainment and an unmatched shopping experience.Designed by Lauren Rottet of Rottet Studio, The James Royal Palm is as a modern tribute to the original Royal Palm Hotel's rich history, keeping intact many signature elements of the original architect's design. The compass rose on the terrazzo lobby floor, original green glass reception desk and porthole windows in the lobby lounge have all been preserved and restored.The James Royal Palm features two swimming pools, a plunge pool, poolside bar, The James Pool and Beach Experience, lobby lounge, coffee bar, renew the spa, a full-service spa with salt-infused treatments, lil' james Offerings and Play Space for children, give: the shop, a retail shop offering carefully curated items, and more than 10,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor meeting and event space. Guests can enjoy dining options including signature restaurant Florida Cookery; featuring regional Florida fare. A daily beach retreat charge includes: The James Beach and Pool Experience with Sun Concierge, children's play area, two beach chaise loungers and umbrella, poolside loungers, towel service, 24-hour gym, Lil' James play space access, and local & domestic long distance calls. The James offers complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the hotel, triple-distilled water refreshed twice daily and access to bicycles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Venere, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your The James Royal Palm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The James Royal Palm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.