We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite a Nice Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The James Royal Palm

Save Saved
You added The James Royal Palm to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The James Royal Palm
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1545 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139‎   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$25 Daily Hotel Credit
Ranked #39 of 197 hotels in Miami Beach
Boca Raton, Florida
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Quite a Nice Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

This chic hotel, in the middle of trendy South Beach, is quite comfortable. The staff is courteous and professional. Great air conditioning - always a must in south Florida, works well. The décor is modern/art deco, really a treat, a feast for the eyes. Our room is really large, with a very comfy king size bed. The mid-three hundred dollar a night price tag per room, I suppose is par for the area, but I'm not crazy about $39 additional per night to park the car, nor do I like the $21 additional "fee" to sit at the hotel's pool or to enjoy the "free" coffee in the room.

Room Tip: It seems that rooms with a balcony are quite a bit smaller than those without.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie T, Asst General Manager at The James Royal Palm, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your visit to the hotel. Your comments are appreciated and I look forward to sharing them with the Team. I hope you will be back to stay with us again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

842 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    431
    237
    98
    47
    29
See reviews for
144
345
32
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Near Ocean drive, direct access to the beach. Great view! Nice trendy rooms and Swimming pool. Had room on the 17th floor, great view to the beach, Ocean Drive and Miami skyline. And the best: shower / bathroom with the same great view. Very friendly staff.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie T, Asst General Manager at The James Royal Palm, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to call out the positive attitude of staff members who assisted during your stay. It is always appreciated when we get a nice review and we thank you for both staying with us and for the review. Come back and stay with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Check in:
Pro- lasted mere seconds, very fast. Only asked for ID & CC
Con- held an additional $$150/nt on my Amex when I was told that it'd be $100 per night. Misinforming or lack thereof was the tone for our stay.

Room:
Pro: 1st room, nice & cozy, great view
Con: oh the smell!!!! It wasn't mildew it was much worse. Much.

Pro: 2 br suite , upgrade will cost you but sweeping views of the ocean. Ah-mazing the bed is so ridiculously comfortable you can't even imagine.
Con: Light bulbs out, couch broken, mystery items behind the bed that a guest some time ago must've lost. And OH THE DUST! Don't look under, behind, around the furniture. No room service menu. Had to call and ask for it. Was provided with one ( Word document) instantly held together by a paper clip. Housekeeping shows up at 8AM. Use the do not disturb!!!!

Food:
Pro: Florida Cookery on site
Con: Hit or miss. Only enjoyed the grits. The continental breakfast seemed to be very sparse in options.
Some employees said breakfast ended at 11:30. Heard a guest claim of being told to ended at noon and he'd waited patiently for 2 minutes to be served at 11:33

Front desk:
Pro: 89% of them are excellent. Very happy and eager to help. Michael G. the Manager truly awesome. Gets no better. Great team player. He kept me from checking out. Seriously. Lowes started looking real good after that hellacious smell.
Con: Employees don't wear name tags, so you are limited on using whatever info they provided to you as a reference. While at the front desk, I overheard a young lady say to an older couple, " I don't understand you!" Because they were speaking Spanish. They couldn't get in their room and she didn't understand the room number. Had another one ask me if someone "Sunt" past tense of sent???? me something to my room. Jeez. If they don't answer the phone it may require a trip downstairs (trust me). This happened to me & I found 4 young ladies just kind of chilling when I had been calling for 5 minutes.

Pool:
Pro: Heavenly, but busy. There are TWO pools, TWO. DOS! More shade at the bigger pool.
Con: I only found out about a second pool by looking at TA.....3 days later. Called to inquire and Julio said it was adults only. Hmmmm. Sign says children need to be accompanied by adult. Which is it? Spotty pool service. Told a pool guy I was headed to pool, literally, 43 minutes ago. He's still not here & neither are his colleagues. As I type this he shows up, for someone else. How lovely? 51 minutes later....I have a towel.

Spa:
Pro: Quiet, serene good massage, check the web page for deals, dried fruits & teas available while you wait. Exfoliation on sun deck following service.
Con: Reserved on the net but no follow up call to confirm, as promised. The nice masseuse tried to sell me everything she thought I needed from start to finish. The salt soak for your feet? Epsom salt & lukewarm water. Asked to add additional 15 minutes for an additional cost during massage.

Valet:
Pro: 95% attentive will greet you immediately. There is an older tall gentleman with silver hair that is so incredibly nice & accommodating. They should keep him. I need to get his name. Will get you a taxi if necessary.
Con: there's a small percentage that'll ignore you.

Kids:
Pro: Lil James located on the second floor in the Lania building. Loads of stuff to do. Including a movie, Finding Nemo. Board games but if you have the one kid not real helpful. Many books to read in Spanish & English. It would've been great to know this was here during rainy days. Apples & OJ in the kitchen. It is unsupervised but offers items for crafts & books.
Cons: Unsupervised no paper towels if the painting gets out of hand. No way to clean up your kid's mess.

Location:
Pro- Close to Lincoln & many food, shopping options. Great if you want true SoBe experience.
Con: none really.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie T, Asst General Manager at The James Royal Palm, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for the extremely detailed review. You have given us some great information and we are certainly going to review it with the Team to ensure that we learn from the areas of opportunity that you have outlined. thank you for staying with us and for your time in providing your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

This was my second time staying at the James. It is a hidden gem. Intimate, cool, yet not pretentious. Staff was friendly and extremely accommodating, the room was beautiful- great decor, clean, and spacious. The view was absolutely mind blowing- I am a Florida native and couldn't stop taking pictures! We had lunch at The Cookery, the meal was delicious. On the beach, wait staff comes around with fruit and water and you can order cocktails and a bite to eat. The hotel is located very close to many fun hot spots.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie T, Asst General Manager at The James Royal Palm, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for the great review. We like to consider ourselves a hidden gem as well. I'm glad you found us. Hurry back to visit with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bergen, New Jersey
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

The Hotel Was amazing !!! We stayed at the Royal Palms years ago before it was The James Royal Palms and was not as nice... However just coming back from giving it another try we are so glad we did... From Check in to the Pool Staff and Pool Wait Staff were all amazing... Hotel is beautifully renovated and each employee goes out of there way to help you...
We arrived early around 1030 in the morning and were surprised that our room was ready... This was a huge plus ... We will absolutely be staying there again soon !!! Location is perfect right on the beach and the pool and hot tub is breath taking... Definitely worth visiting

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie T, Asst General Manager at The James Royal Palm, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for the review. How exciting that you used the word "Amazing" to describe the hotel and service you received! Glad you returned after our conversion to The James Royal Palm. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

I've stayed at a few places on South Beach and found some great low key places but for this visit I wanted a romantic getaway with all the extras. The only problem is some hotels in this catagory are too over-the-top and it just isn't fun. James Hotel is the opposite; 5 start service without hassle, friendly staff, great location and nothing was too much trouble.

Our booking specifically asked for a balcony that somehow didn't get given to the hotel. Not a problem for the James, they sorted it out and we had a new room before we could sit down.

There is a fitness centre and dining but I haven't rated them as we didn't use them.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie T, Asst General Manager at The James Royal Palm, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
It was so nice to read that we provided exceptional service with no hassles. Thanks for giving us your feedback and thanks for staying with us. We look forward to the next time you are in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Hotel was excellent. All staff were friendly and made you feel welcome. Staff could not do enough for you. Location was perfect. Close to shopping and dining. Beach amenities were great. Loved to be able to order food and drinks on the beach.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie T, Asst General Manager at The James Royal Palm, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for your review. Your positive comments are appreciated. I am glad we were able to create some wonderful memories for you. We look forward to having you as our guest again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The James Royal Palm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The James Royal Palm

Address: 1545 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139‎
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 197 hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The James Royal Palm 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featured as one of Conde Nast Traveler UK & US Magazine’s “Hot Hotels of 2013” and now a AAA Four Diamond rated beachfront retreat, The James Royal Palm is The James brand’s third location and first hotel in Florida. Joining sister properties in Chicago and New York City, the ideally situated, oceanfront hotel offers a total of 393 guest rooms, including studios and suites, with the majority offering ocean views. A combination of personalized comfort, generous complimentary amenities, residentially styled, artistically-inspired details and impeccable service, create an environment ideal for both business and leisure travelers. Just steps away from the beach and world famous Ocean Drive and Collins Avenue, the oceanfront beach retreat is located within the coveted and culturally-rich area of South Beach. The James Royal Palm provides guests with a location immersed in luxury retail, endless entertainment and an unmatched shopping experience.Designed by Lauren Rottet of Rottet Studio, The James Royal Palm is as a modern tribute to the original Royal Palm Hotel’s rich history, keeping intact many signature elements of the original architect’s design. The compass rose on the terrazzo lobby floor, original green glass reception desk and porthole windows in the lobby lounge have all been preserved and restored.The James Royal Palm features two swimming pools, a plunge pool, poolside bar, The James Pool and Beach Experience, lobby lounge, coffee bar, renew the spa, a full-service spa with salt-infused treatments, lil’ james Offerings and Play Space for children, give: the shop, a retail shop offering carefully curated items, and more than 10,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor meeting and event space. Guests can enjoy two dining options including signature restaurant Florida Cookery; featuring regional Florida fare and Catch Miami; a globally influenced seafood restaurant.A daily beach retreat charge includes: The James Beach and Pool Experience with Sun Concierge, children’s play area, two beach chaise loungers and umbrella, poolside loungers, towel service, 24-hour gym, Lil’ James play space access, and local & domestic long distance calls. The James offers complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the hotel, triple-distilled water refreshed twice daily and access to bicycles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Tablet Hotels, Amex, Splendia, Otel, Tingo, HotelsClick, MrandMrsSmith, getaroom.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The James Royal Palm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The James Royal Palm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.