We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort to your Saves list
Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1545 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139‎ (Formerly The James Royal Palm) (City Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #56 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
North Bergen, New Jersey
2 reviews
“GREAT HOTEL”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

The Hotel Was amazing !!! We stayed at the Royal Palms years ago before it was The James Royal Palms and was not as nice... However just coming back from giving it another try we are so glad we did... From Check in to the Pool Staff and Pool Wait Staff were all amazing... Hotel is beautifully renovated and each employee goes out of there way to help you...
We arrived early around 1030 in the morning and were surprised that our room was ready... This was a huge plus ... We will absolutely be staying there again soon !!! Location is perfect right on the beach and the pool and hot tub is breath taking... Definitely worth visiting

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie T, Asst General Manager at Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for the review. How exciting that you used the word "Amazing" to describe the hotel and service you received! Glad you returned after our conversion to The James Royal Palm. We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,823 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    897
    527
    219
    112
    68
See reviews for
362
717
69
198
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

I've stayed at a few places on South Beach and found some great low key places but for this visit I wanted a romantic getaway with all the extras. The only problem is some hotels in this catagory are too over-the-top and it just isn't fun. James Hotel is the opposite; 5 start service without hassle, friendly staff, great location and nothing was too much trouble.

Our booking specifically asked for a balcony that somehow didn't get given to the hotel. Not a problem for the James, they sorted it out and we had a new room before we could sit down.

There is a fitness centre and dining but I haven't rated them as we didn't use them.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie T, Asst General Manager at Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
It was so nice to read that we provided exceptional service with no hassles. Thanks for giving us your feedback and thanks for staying with us. We look forward to the next time you are in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Hotel was excellent. All staff were friendly and made you feel welcome. Staff could not do enough for you. Location was perfect. Close to shopping and dining. Beach amenities were great. Loved to be able to order food and drinks on the beach.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie T, Asst General Manager at Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for your review. Your positive comments are appreciated. I am glad we were able to create some wonderful memories for you. We look forward to having you as our guest again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Spent 9 nights in a 2 bedrooms suite with 2 kids: a lot of space with a large view to the sea, sleeping area is quite small but there is a huge dressing area in between (but opened on the living room too!). Furniture and decoration is very...white. If you like opulence and fluffily ambience don't go the The James, it is far from Four Seasons or Mandarin Oriental style, and finally less comfortable also.

Each bedroom has its own shower room with one sink.

Beach is very maintained and sun beds are truly comfortable.
Miami's South beach is large, cleaned and full of hundreds of bed chairs (in different colors and very close to each others) in front of a warm and pristine water.
Intimacy and exclusivity are not offered here but, seriously, who goes to South Beach for these?
On arrival at the beach each guest is given a little basket of fruits (banana or oranges) with a bottle of water. Waiters are truly wonderful: service is close to perfection with smile and efficiency.

The only negative point is the breakfast: not enough choice of food and a bit overpriced.
Instead of other restaurants which are tasty.

swimming pool is very small regarding number of rooms but it is wisely organized and we never had difficulties to find sun beds.

this hotel is very family friendly.

All in all, The James is a great place to stay and enjoy SO as it is well located, next to shops and restaurants outside. There are several different hotel on the beach, many are 4 stars as the James. Would recommend it for discerning travelers who like trendy place with a relax ambience, kids friendly ambiance.

Room Tip: 2 bedroom suites are perfect for a family with 2 kids but not more as sleeping areas are small
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie T, Asst General Manager at Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the location and the Beach amenities. We are always looking at ways to improve and we will certainly take your comments regarding our dining selections into consideration as we look at our menu options. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope you will return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

The hotel staff is truly amazing. They made us feel warm and welcomed from the time we pulled up to the property. We stayed in the 2 bedroom ocean view suite on the 11th floor. We opened the door and lost our breath, literally. The view from that room is amazing! The hotel is decorated with the highest quality art. The Intelligent Nutrients line of products leaves your body feeling refreshed. The hotel has everything from room service, a spa (you can get a massage outside on the spa deck, while you watch the ocean), restaurant, bar and a rum room. Yes! a rum room with over 150 rums. We spent one of our days on the beach in the hotel cabana where you have wifi and your able to charge your phone all solar powered. This hotel is very cognizant of their foot print on the environment. They ensure that most of their products and the things they sell in the shop are either given back in charity initiatives,or are great for the earth. Its location is perfect you can literally walk to shops, restaurants or clubs. I've been to South Beach over a hundred times and stayed at many places, but going forward I will never stay anywhere else. The James Royal Palm is a cut above the rest!

Room Tip: 2 bedroom ocean view suite on any floor above 7, you wont regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie T, Asst General Manager at Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Wow! Thanks so much for the great review! We are truly excited when we are able to exceed our guest's expectations. Hurry back to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

The service from staff was excellent all over, accommodating each step of the way. Very nice renovations, support to artists, nice combination of materials, textures and looks, maintaining the art deco style outside. Environmental commitment and measures to reduce environmental impact. We had a room with partial room of the ocean, and it was very nice to enjoy the view (balcony was small, but it did the trick). Beds and pillows very comfy. Room is small, but truly, who cared, we just wanted to be out by the beach!. Beach staff very friendly and prompt service. Breakfast was way too expensive, if you can, you are better off having breakfast outside. Being so close to the ocean, and to the happening area of MIami Beach was a major highlight.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie T, Asst General Manager at Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to having you as our guest again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Hotel staff is friendly but not overly thrilled to accommodate your needs. This hotel is located in the perfect spot. Right on the beach, near shopping, restaurants, and nightlife. It has a full service staff located on the beach to get you beach chairs, umbrellas, and drinks.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie T, Asst General Manager at Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to detail your experiences. I will be reaching out to you privately to get further clarification on your comments. We strive to meet and exceed everyone's expectations and it appears we did not accomplish that on this visit. I apologize and hope we are able to better understand your expectations in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort

Address: 1545 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139‎ (Formerly The James Royal Palm)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Palm, Miami-South Beach boasts an enviable location on Collins Avenue, just north of the iconic Ocean Drive at 15th Street. With direct access to the beach and boardwalk, the resort is near the most appealing attractions of vibrant South Beach. The resort comprises a wealth of refined facilities, including a pampering spa and a pool encircled by cabanas. Dining venues serve authentic plates and cocktails in relaxing ambiences. Some 10,000 square feet of space is available for enchanting events. With iconic ocean or city views, guest rooms and suites house environmentally-friendly amenities and stylish areas for business and leisure. Poolside Suites are distinguished by their expansive outdoor terraces and proximity to the beach and pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Groupon, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.