We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort to your Saves list
Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1545 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139‎ (Formerly The James Royal Palm) (City Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #92 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Miami Beach
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Hotel was excellent. All staff were friendly and made you feel welcome. Staff could not do enough for you. Location was perfect. Close to shopping and dining. Beach amenities were great. Loved to be able to order food and drinks on the beach.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie T, Asst General Manager at Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for your review. Your positive comments are appreciated. I am glad we were able to create some wonderful memories for you. We look forward to having you as our guest again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
paris
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Spent 9 nights in a 2 bedrooms suite with 2 kids: a lot of space with a large view to the sea, sleeping area is quite small but there is a huge dressing area in between (but opened on the living room too!). Furniture and decoration is very...white. If you like opulence and fluffily ambience don't go the The James, it is far from Four Seasons or Mandarin Oriental style, and finally less comfortable also.

Each bedroom has its own shower room with one sink.

Beach is very maintained and sun beds are truly comfortable.
Miami's South beach is large, cleaned and full of hundreds of bed chairs (in different colors and very close to each others) in front of a warm and pristine water.
Intimacy and exclusivity are not offered here but, seriously, who goes to South Beach for these?
On arrival at the beach each guest is given a little basket of fruits (banana or oranges) with a bottle of water. Waiters are truly wonderful: service is close to perfection with smile and efficiency.

The only negative point is the breakfast: not enough choice of food and a bit overpriced.
Instead of other restaurants which are tasty.

swimming pool is very small regarding number of rooms but it is wisely organized and we never had difficulties to find sun beds.

this hotel is very family friendly.

All in all, The James is a great place to stay and enjoy SO as it is well located, next to shops and restaurants outside. There are several different hotel on the beach, many are 4 stars as the James. Would recommend it for discerning travelers who like trendy place with a relax ambience, kids friendly ambiance.

Room Tip: 2 bedroom suites are perfect for a family with 2 kids but not more as sleeping areas are small
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jasmindesiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie T, Asst General Manager at Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the location and the Beach amenities. We are always looking at ways to improve and we will certainly take your comments regarding our dining selections into consideration as we look at our menu options. Thank you again for staying with us and we hope you will return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

The hotel staff is truly amazing. They made us feel warm and welcomed from the time we pulled up to the property. We stayed in the 2 bedroom ocean view suite on the 11th floor. We opened the door and lost our breath, literally. The view from that room is amazing! The hotel is decorated with the highest quality art. The Intelligent Nutrients line of products leaves your body feeling refreshed. The hotel has everything from room service, a spa (you can get a massage outside on the spa deck, while you watch the ocean), restaurant, bar and a rum room. Yes! a rum room with over 150 rums. We spent one of our days on the beach in the hotel cabana where you have wifi and your able to charge your phone all solar powered. This hotel is very cognizant of their foot print on the environment. They ensure that most of their products and the things they sell in the shop are either given back in charity initiatives,or are great for the earth. Its location is perfect you can literally walk to shops, restaurants or clubs. I've been to South Beach over a hundred times and stayed at many places, but going forward I will never stay anywhere else. The James Royal Palm is a cut above the rest!

Room Tip: 2 bedroom ocean view suite on any floor above 7, you wont regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie T, Asst General Manager at Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Wow! Thanks so much for the great review! We are truly excited when we are able to exceed our guest's expectations. Hurry back to visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

The service from staff was excellent all over, accommodating each step of the way. Very nice renovations, support to artists, nice combination of materials, textures and looks, maintaining the art deco style outside. Environmental commitment and measures to reduce environmental impact. We had a room with partial room of the ocean, and it was very nice to enjoy the view (balcony was small, but it did the trick). Beds and pillows very comfy. Room is small, but truly, who cared, we just wanted to be out by the beach!. Beach staff very friendly and prompt service. Breakfast was way too expensive, if you can, you are better off having breakfast outside. Being so close to the ocean, and to the happening area of MIami Beach was a major highlight.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rmiami2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie T, Asst General Manager at Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to having you as our guest again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Hotel staff is friendly but not overly thrilled to accommodate your needs. This hotel is located in the perfect spot. Right on the beach, near shopping, restaurants, and nightlife. It has a full service staff located on the beach to get you beach chairs, umbrellas, and drinks.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kaymay13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie T, Asst General Manager at Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to detail your experiences. I will be reaching out to you privately to get further clarification on your comments. We strive to meet and exceed everyone's expectations and it appears we did not accomplish that on this visit. I apologize and hope we are able to better understand your expectations in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MARQUETTE MI
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Housekeeping service needs help, no housekeeping for 2 days. Ask 3 times and at 10pm at night front desk manager called and ask us if we wanted service now at 10pm. I said just towels and water, there was know sorry from him. The beach and server staff were outstanding and very helpful. Not a lot of pool chairs, if hotel was full there would not be enough room for the guest. The beach was amazing.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank comfday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie T, Asst General Manager at Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for telling us about your experiences at the hotel. I was disappointed to hear that we failed to provide the expected service in regards to Housekeeping. I am definitely going to investigate to find out how this happened. I apologize for this oversight and assure you that this is not acceptable. Thank you for staying with us and I hope you will return in the future so we can provide the service you expect from The James.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I stayed for 3 nights in Oct at The James Royal Palm. What an experience. The resort is beautifully transformed (renovation completed last year). Great sense of arrival with a pretty grass park entrance. Super friendly staff. The rooms are consisent in decor and very fun and functional (lots of outlets in the right places....yeah). Loved the choice of pools and loved the beach amenity (basket with apples and water). We had wonderful meals in The Florida Cookery and at CATCH. They have 393 rooms and 159 various size suites (lofts, 1-2-3 bedrooms). Awesome location to watch to everything. Great people watching! I left something in my room and got great service from loss prevention to track it down too! Spa has a nice quiet deck and had a fantastic massage.

Room Tip: loft suites have great oceanviews.........some rooms have a city view instead of beach but you get t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KathiKSL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie T, Asst General Manager at Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
It was great to see that we met all of your expectations. We strive to do that with every guest encounter and I am glad we achieved our goal. thank you for staying at our property and for giving us a great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Thompson Miami Beach
#5 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,200 reviews
Oceanfront
Metropolitan by COMO, Miami Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#50 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 4,853 reviews
Oceanfront
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
#99 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,004 reviews
The Palms Hotel & Spa
#61 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort

Address: 1545 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139‎ (Formerly The James Royal Palm)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Palm South Beach Miami boasts an enviable location on Collins Avenue, just north of the iconic Ocean Drive at 15th Street. With direct access to the beach and boardwalk, the resort is near the most appealing attractions of vibrant South Beach. The resort comprises a wealth of refined facilities, including a pampering spa and a pool encircled by cabanas. Dining venues serve authentic plates and cocktails in a relaxing ambience. Some 10,000 square feet of space is available for enchanting events. With iconic ocean or city views, guest rooms and suites house environmentally-friendly amenities and stylish areas for business and leisure. Poolside Suites are distinguished by their expansive outdoor terraces and proximity to the beach and pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Starwood, Odigeo, Hotwire, HotelsClick and Jetsetter so you can book your Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing