We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hotel And Wonderful Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The James Royal Palm

Save Saved
You added The James Royal Palm to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The James Royal Palm
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1545 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139‎   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to $75 Daily Credit
Ranked #43 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
1 review
“Amazing Hotel And Wonderful Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

It Was An Amazing Stay At The Royal Palm. Me And A Friend Stayed There For 12 Nights And It Was The Best 12 Nights Of Our Lives. The Hotel Staff Were Wonderful Especially A Guy Calles Max Who Was Nice And Polite. The Hotel Has Great Services And It Literally Is Minutes Away From All The Shops, Clubs And Beach. Me And My Friend Are Planning To Come Back Next Year And Stay In The Very Same Place. Miami Brought Me Much Joy And If I Could Live There, I Would Be There Already.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie T, Asst General Manager at The James Royal Palm, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Thank you for the lovely comments regarding your stay. I certainly hope that you will return and visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,033 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    514
    308
    117
    58
    36
See reviews for
188
421
38
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

I stayed for July 4th. The crowds were intense and the staff was harried. The a/c system wasn't working in my tower the first night, not fun in the summer in Miami. I was surprised the hotel offered nothing by way of compensation (i.e. a breakfast). By the 2nd night the a/c was fixed and things had calmed down now that the holiday had passed. The pool and small gym were both perfect for a relaxing day. The pool is a little small for busy weekends, but otherwise quite nice. The on site Florida Cookery restaurant is good, and the spa was perfect for a nice long massage at spa month discounts. The rooms are fine, though mine was a little small. Overall, this is a good hotel with the potential to be better.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie T, Asst General Manager at The James Royal Palm, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
I was quite surprised to hear about the issues with your A/C in your guestroom. I apologize if this issue affected your stay as it was not a hotel wide outage. Thank you for the other comments regarding your time at The James Royal Palm. Again, I am sorry if you experienced issues with your room and will reach out privately to get more information regarding your visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas,Tx
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

What a wonderful hotel. The staff could not of been better. The hotel is incredibly clean/well decorated. Great service and amenities. The beach access is a huge plus. Would absolutely recommend The James.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie T, Asst General Manager at The James Royal Palm, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thanks for the glowing review. We appreciate that you took the time to tell us about your visit with us in South Beach. We look forward to welcoming you for your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Since the second we checked in til the time we checked out I had the most pleasant experience. The Hotel staff is warm and always there to help make your stay as amazing as possible. The Pool is a good size and the waiters are always there to get you a nice cold drink. My girlfriend and I had one of the best vacations. Thank to all the staff at The James!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie T, Asst General Manager at The James Royal Palm, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
What a wonderful review! Thanks for telling us about your stay. We certainly hope you will be back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usr nj
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

The hotel location is great. The staff were so accommodating and extremely courteous. Pool and beach areas were very nice and staff was always walking around ready to accommodate any wish you might have. Lunch in restaurant was wonderful (a bit pricey but food was excellent). Bathroom shampoo/lotion products were really great. My only disappointment was that the rooms were small. Other than that the hotel is a real winner!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie T, Asst General Manager at The James Royal Palm, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Thanks for the nice review of our property and Team Members. We certainly appreciate that you took the time to let us know of your stay. I hope that you will choose to stay with us again on your next trip to South Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

I stayed at the end of June 2013, that magic week before July 4th. I traveled alone, spent 4 days... the spa, pool, drinks, food, beach amenities and nearby sushi restaurants were all great. The hotel is across the street from public parking (garage) so you can save money on valet if needed. What I loved most was the supply of Intelligent Nutrients bath products which I've continued to purchase online ever since. I did not give it a 5 because the music in the spa was too thumping, not zen or relaxing, but I think they are working to change that.

Room Tip: If you want a balcony you must really really specify or you may not get one, a view with an open win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie T, Asst General Manager at The James Royal Palm, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
So nice to hear that you had a relaxing stay with us. Glad we were able to provide what seems to be some much needed time away from it all. We are currently looking at our music selections in the spa so hopefully that will not be an issue on your next visit. Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Amazing hotel with the best staff ever! The hotel location is great, close to everything and right on the beach, can't be beat! The only downside to our experience was with the beach lounge chairs, we were a family of 3 staying at the hotel and each room only has access to 2 chairs per day, additional chair was $19/day. I think this is unfair, in our booking we booked a room for 3 people we should have been entitled to 3 chairs at the beach.....

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie T, Asst General Manager at The James Royal Palm, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thanks for the great review. We certainly appreciate the comments about your stay. I apologize that you were unhappy with the additional chair cost and we do try to keep the extra charges to a minimum. I hope that you will come back to stay with us again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The James Royal Palm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The James Royal Palm

Address: 1545 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139‎
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The James Royal Palm 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featured as one of Conde Nast Traveler UK & US Magazine's "Hot Hotels of 2013" and now a AAA Four Diamond rated beachfront retreat, The James Royal Palm is The James brand's third location and first hotel in Florida. Joining sister properties in Chicago and New York City, the ideally situated, oceanfront hotel offers a total of 393 guest rooms, including studios and suites, with the majority offering ocean views. A combination of personalized comfort, generous complimentary amenities, residentially styled, artistically-inspired details and impeccable service, create an environment ideal for both business and leisure travelers. Just steps away from the beach and world famous Ocean Drive and Collins Avenue, the oceanfront beach retreat is located within the coveted and culturally-rich area of South Beach. The James Royal Palm provides guests with a location immersed in luxury retail, endless entertainment and an unmatched shopping experience.Designed by Lauren Rottet of Rottet Studio, The James Royal Palm is as a modern tribute to the original Royal Palm Hotel's rich history, keeping intact many signature elements of the original architect's design. The compass rose on the terrazzo lobby floor, original green glass reception desk and porthole windows in the lobby lounge have all been preserved and restored.The James Royal Palm features two swimming pools, a plunge pool, poolside bar, The James Pool and Beach Experience, lobby lounge, coffee bar, renew the spa, a full-service spa with salt-infused treatments, lil' james Offerings and Play Space for children, give: the shop, a retail shop offering carefully curated items, and more than 10,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor meeting and event space. Guests can enjoy dining options including signature restaurant Florida Cookery; featuring regional Florida fare. A daily beach retreat charge includes: The James Beach and Pool Experience with Sun Concierge, children's play area, two beach chaise loungers and umbrella, poolside loungers, towel service, 24-hour gym, Lil' James play space access, and local & domestic long distance calls. The James offers complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the hotel, triple-distilled water refreshed twice daily and access to bicycles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The James Royal Palm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The James Royal Palm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.