We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The James Royal Palm

Save Saved
You added The James Royal Palm to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
The James Royal Palm
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1545 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139‎   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to $75 Daily Credit
Ranked #42 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Miami Beach
1 review
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Usually I think staying at a hotel on South Beach will be just average but staying at The James Royal Palm exceeded my expectations by far. The hotel is very clean. The staff is friendly and go out their way to make your stay as perfect as possible. I really love this hotel and am planning another trip with many of our friends to stay here next year.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie T, Asst General Manager at The James Royal Palm, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you so much for telling us about your amazing visit. It's a great feeling when we hit one out of the ballpark. We are excited at the opportunity of hosting you again in the future. Hopefully we'll see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,075 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    546
    317
    116
    59
    37
See reviews for
194
437
40
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
citizenoftheworldtrips
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

This is a bare minimum hotel with an Ikea style ground floor lobby but basic rooms. Among the ocean front hotels in Miami Beach, this is not luxe. PROS: price, location, beach front, gym CONS: extra charges, scene and clientele, small pools, basic furnishings. At this price point there are other options with better quality. You have the power to choose on South Beach hotel space and I would definitely not choose this again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie T, Asst General Manager at The James Royal Palm, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
It is so unfortunate that we did not meet your expectations and for that I am genuinely sorry. Like many hotels in South Beach, the vibe is always changing and evolving and can be a different feel from morning to night of the same day. Please stop in on your next visit and give us another try. We'd love to see you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The staff as a whole was excellent. Very friendly and courteous. The design of the hotel itself is modern and stylish. Nice attention to details all around, from the service to the rooms. Location was excellent. Hotel is right on the beach and a block from Ocean Dr.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie T, Asst General manager at The James Royal Palm, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
How wonderful to learn that we were able to make you feel so special. It's what we strive for in every guest interaction and we appreciate you taking the time to let us know how much you enjoyed your stay. Please hurry back so we can be a part of more wonderful memories!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Ma
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Hotel is beautiful, great location, very friendly staff -- special props to Florian the Concierge...he did a GREAT job of helping us plan our days and find things for us to do. LOVED the fact that the hotel had direct access to the paved beachside running path. Also loved the Intelligent Nutrients brand of shampoo & conditioner provided in the bathroom. Free wi-fi was an awesome feature!!
TV remote in our room did not function properly -- not sure if the batteries were low, etc. -- just a small annoyance. Also, there were no washcloths provided in our bathroom, which was kind of strange, seeing how there was a bottle of body wash provided in the shower. No fan in bathroom. Our largest gripe was the noise we experienced in the room. We were on the 4th floor and each night, we were woken up by thumping of bass from what I assume was a night club somewhere below our room. We also heard loud voices of what probably were patrons of this night club -- the loud voices sounded like they were RIGHT outside our window, despite us being on the 4th floor. So, we did not get a very good nights sleep any of the nights we stayed at The James.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eddie T, Asst General Manager at The James Royal Palm, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and your review. We appreciate your comments and I realize that we have a few areas where our service did not meet your expectations and for that I apologize. I am working with our Housekeeping Department to ensure that your issues are addressed and we are looking at further ways to improve noise issues you encountered while on property. Thank you again and we look forward to having you as our guest again in the future.

Eddie Timmons, Asst General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Very well located, near all the important attractions in South Beach, The Hotel is renovated, nice Art Deco new furnishing, nie ambiance in all áreas, the room clean and new.just the pricing in the restaurants Little high, but you can find plenty in the surroundings.
GGH

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick H, General Manager at The James Royal Palm, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
JerryGzz-

Thank you for the kind review of your recent experience at The James Royal Palm! I appreciate your feedback and thoughts on Restaurant prices. We aim to remain competitive in the marketplace and will continue to actively respond to guest feedback and market changes from a pricing perspective.

Thank you again!

Best,

Patrick Hatton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Didn't like the $21 a day extra charge, even if you don't use the beach, pool, or gym facilities you still have to pay it and the drink prices are ridiculously high. The maid didn't leave extra toilet paper and wash clothes, so we had to ask for these items and there were only a few hangers in the closet so we had to ask for more hangers too. Other than that stay was nice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick H, General Manager at The James Royal Palm, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
D S

Thank you for the feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I apologize for the lapses in service from housekeeping. Will review with team to insure during stay service is in keeping with our arrival service. Our $21 retreat fee not only includes pool and beach services, including our signature Beach Welcome Basket (average charge on beach is $35 for 2 lounges and an umbrella), but includes all of the inclusions of our brand programming including Business Lounge, High Speed Wi-fi throughout the retreat, Bicycles and Longboards, our Lil James offerings for kids and in room tripled distilled bottled water.

Appreacite the comments about the friendly staff and clean facility.

Hope to see you back soon,

Patrick Hatton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

Wonderfully renovated hotel. Modern and a great value for your money. Centrally located to everything in South Beach. Pool and beach service were wonderful. Stayed in a partial ocean view room. The size wasn't huge but was well appointed and the bathroom was beautiful...awesome shower!! Didn't eat at the restaurants so can't provide any feedback. Would definitely return and recommend to others.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick H, General Manager at The James Royal Palm, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Bulk72-

Thank you for the 5 Star review! Appreciate your favorable comments about our location, Pool and Beach service and awesome bathroom!

Look forward to welcoming you back and thank you for sharing with the Trip Advisor nation!

Best,
Patrick Hatton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The James Royal Palm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The James Royal Palm

Address: 1545 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139‎
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The James Royal Palm 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featured as one of Conde Nast Traveler UK & US Magazine's "Hot Hotels of 2013" and now a AAA Four Diamond rated beachfront retreat, The James Royal Palm is The James brand's third location and first hotel in Florida. Joining sister properties in Chicago and New York City, the ideally situated, oceanfront hotel offers a total of 393 guest rooms, including studios and suites, with the majority offering ocean views. A combination of personalized comfort, generous complimentary amenities, residentially styled, artistically-inspired details and impeccable service, create an environment ideal for both business and leisure travelers. Just steps away from the beach and world famous Ocean Drive and Collins Avenue, the oceanfront beach retreat is located within the coveted and culturally-rich area of South Beach. The James Royal Palm provides guests with a location immersed in luxury retail, endless entertainment and an unmatched shopping experience.Designed by Lauren Rottet of Rottet Studio, The James Royal Palm is as a modern tribute to the original Royal Palm Hotel's rich history, keeping intact many signature elements of the original architect's design. The compass rose on the terrazzo lobby floor, original green glass reception desk and porthole windows in the lobby lounge have all been preserved and restored.The James Royal Palm features two swimming pools, a plunge pool, poolside bar, The James Pool and Beach Experience, lobby lounge, coffee bar, renew the spa, a full-service spa with salt-infused treatments, lil' james Offerings and Play Space for children, give: the shop, a retail shop offering carefully curated items, and more than 10,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor meeting and event space. Guests can enjoy dining options including signature restaurant Florida Cookery; featuring regional Florida fare. A daily beach retreat charge includes: The James Beach and Pool Experience with Sun Concierge, children's play area, two beach chaise loungers and umbrella, poolside loungers, towel service, 24-hour gym, Lil' James play space access, and local & domestic long distance calls. The James offers complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the hotel, triple-distilled water refreshed twice daily and access to bicycles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Tablet Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Venere, Otel, Tingo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and HotelsClick so you can book your The James Royal Palm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The James Royal Palm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.