We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The James Royal Palm

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The James Royal Palm to your Saves list
The James Royal Palm
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1545 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139‎   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$200 daily hotel credit
Ranked #33 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
1 review
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

Wonderfully renovated hotel. Modern and a great value for your money. Centrally located to everything in South Beach. Pool and beach service were wonderful. Stayed in a partial ocean view room. The size wasn't huge but was well appointed and the bathroom was beautiful...awesome shower!! Didn't eat at the restaurants so can't provide any feedback. Would definitely return and recommend to others.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick H, General Manager at The James Royal Palm, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Bulk72-

Thank you for the 5 Star review! Appreciate your favorable comments about our location, Pool and Beach service and awesome bathroom!

Look forward to welcoming you back and thank you for sharing with the Trip Advisor nation!

Best,
Patrick Hatton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    766
    413
    144
    69
    42
See reviews for
264
568
58
164
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

Well I first booked the wrong Hotel I booked The Palms Hotel And Spa which was too far down on Collins away from everything.So I switched over to this hotel so I can be a little closer to the stores and restaurants so that I wouldn't have to spend money on cabs. This hotel is in a great location the beach is right in its backyard. The rooms were very nice and customer service was excellent. We had a problem with our toilet and our water wouldn't get hot but repairs were done within minutes. The food prices at their restaurant was kind of lofty and wasn't all the great but it wasn't bad neither. Our bill for two was 85.00..The food restaurants on Ocean Dr were close by within walking distance with food deals This hotel is a great place to stay when visiting South Beach I will stay here again...

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick H, General Manager at The James Royal Palm, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Lasha33-

Thank you for the great review of your experience with us. I appreciate the kind words re: our location, customer service and problem resolution. I'm sorry you didn't find the restaurant to be of value. Will review with team.

We're glad you moved down the block and look forward to welcoming you back soon

Best,

Patrick Hatton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Marlboro
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

The reviews were right...this place is great. From the time we checked in, until the time we checked out, customer service was always on point; everyone was nice and very accommodating. And checkout is at 2, so that's even better! We booked an ocean view room, without balcony, but requested an upgrade upon check in. Not only did we get an upgrade (ocean view with balcony), but our room overlooked the strip and we were on the top floor. We were there for the 4th, so we had an amazing view of the fireworks on Sobe. I couldn't have asked for more.

We didn't eat at the hotel, but we did have drinks, and they were quite pricey (i.e., 2 frozen drinks for $43). Of course we didn't realize how much they'd be until after we drank them, so we avoided the JRP bar like the plague.

One odd thing, was an employee asked us for bus fare late one night. He said we could come back and get it the next day, but we decided it wasn't worth it. What bus in Miami costs $4 anyway? But we gave it to him.

The pool is pretty small, so we didn't get a chance to enjoy it.

The room itself was very nice. It was small, but not super small, like other reviews mentioned. everything was clean, but we did notice blonde hair on the wall in the bathroom and in the shower. We only let them come in and clean twice, but the hair never moved. The bed was very comfy. The refrigerator started leaking on our last day and there was a trail of water from the refrigerator to the bed. We called the front desk, and they said they'd send someone up, but they never did. Eventually it stopped and the floor dried. The balconies are very small. My husband only put one foot out and left the other foot in because he didn't trust it. I got out there, but was nervous the entire time.

If there is a club in the hotel, we never saw it or heard any noise.

Overall we had a great time, and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick H, General Manager at The James Royal Palm, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
msbrown76-

Thank you for the detailed review of your experience with us. Your designation as a Top Contributor with 44 hotel reviews to date means a lot. We appreciate your time and effort.

Love the opening line, yet disappointed by some of our mis-steps in housekeeping and drink pricing. Shocked by the bus fare request and while I appreciate your generosity, am embarrased that you were asked. Certainly not acceptable and first I've heard of such a request in 24 years in the business. I am sotty that you were put in that position.

Glad you had a great time and look forward to welcoming you back.

Best,

Patrick Hatton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed here with our two boys at the start of our holiday in Florida. The double room is nice but feels quite cramped with two kids. Staff is very welcoming and friendly. One of the highlights was my visit to the spa. The spa is quite expensive but had great specials this month. I had an excellent massage and facial. I would recommend it to anybody and regret not living closer! Overall the James Royal Palm is a wonderful hotel but a bit too expensive for what it offers (room, food and drink prices as well as valet parking).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick H, General Manager at The James Royal Palm, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Maria H-

Thank you for the kind review and I'm thrilled that you were able to enjoy our Spa Month specials in renew, the spa. Appreciate the great comments about our team.

Appreciate your business and your review.

Best,
Patrick Hatton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JHB South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

After having stayed in 5 different hotels of the same category, in 5 different cities of the world during the months of April and May, I can highly recommend "The James"
The rooms are beautifully renovated with modern clean lines with a fresh light and bright feel. Wonderful views of the ocean and pool and conducive to a relaxing carefree holiday. Great access to beach where you are pampered with chaises, umbrellas, towels, and fruit and water at a reasonable daily charge.
The staff were extremely pleasant and helpful.
Location superb. In the heart of SouthBeach within walking distance to Lincoln Road and a great variety of restaurants .
Would definitely stay here again and recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick H, General Manager at The James Royal Palm, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
NadiaJHB-

Thank you for the beautiful review of you experience at The James Royal Palm. I appreciate the detail and wonderful comments about the team.

Look forward to welcoming you back!

Best,

Patrick Hatton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Md
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We absolutely loved our time in the hotel. Our room was spacious and extremely comfortable, especially for under $250 a night. We loved the beach service. Lounge chairs were amazingly comfortable, and the umbrellas were the perfect size. I burn extremely easily, and this is the first beach vacation I've ever taken without getting a sunburn thanks to those umbrellas. We were surprised by how reasonably priced room service was, how easy it was to order, how nice the turn down snack was, etc. I wish I'd requested some of the in-room shampoo and conditioner to take home with us because it was amazing, made my hair so bright and shiny. I really cannot say enough nice things about this hotel. We were very impressed, and came home relaxed. The only thing I will say is, there are a surprising number of little kids running around here. They're easy enough to avoid, but we were surprised to see so many at such a chic hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick H, General Manager at The James Royal Palm, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Elizabeth N-

Thank you for the Amazing review! I appreciate the details and glad you went home relaxed and not sunburn!

We are in high travel season as some of our key International feeder markets are on Holiday, so see a strong volume of families traveling at this time of year. We have also built the programming for our retreat to accommodate families, couples and individuals alike. In fact, 52 of our 307 TripAdvisor reviews are from reviewers traveling with thier families and the feedback has been equally as positive as yours.

Hope to see you back soon

Best,

Patrick Hatton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The James Royal Palm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The James Royal Palm

Address: 1545 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139‎
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The James Royal Palm 4.5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featured as one of Conde Nast Traveler UK & US Magazine's "Hot Hotels of 2013" and now a AAA Four Diamond rated beachfront retreat, The James Royal Palm is The James brand's third location and first hotel in Florida. Joining sister properties in Chicago and New York City, the ideally situated, oceanfront hotel offers a total of 393 guest rooms, including studios and suites, with the majority offering ocean views. A combination of personalized comfort, generous complimentary amenities, residentially styled, artistically-inspired details and impeccable service, create an environment ideal for both business and leisure travelers. Just steps away from the beach and world famous Ocean Drive and Collins Avenue, the oceanfront beach retreat is located within the coveted and culturally-rich area of South Beach. The James Royal Palm provides guests with a location immersed in luxury retail, endless entertainment and an unmatched shopping experience.Designed by Lauren Rottet of Rottet Studio, The James Royal Palm is as a modern tribute to the original Royal Palm Hotel's rich history, keeping intact many signature elements of the original architect's design. The compass rose on the terrazzo lobby floor, original green glass reception desk and porthole windows in the lobby lounge have all been preserved and restored.The James Royal Palm features two swimming pools, a plunge pool, poolside bar, The James Pool and Beach Experience, lobby lounge, coffee bar, renew the spa, a full-service spa with salt-infused treatments, lil' james Offerings and Play Space for children, give: the shop, a retail shop offering carefully curated items, and more than 10,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor meeting and event space. Guests can enjoy dining options including signature restaurant Florida Cookery; featuring regional Florida fare. A daily beach retreat charge includes: The James Beach and Pool Experience with Sun Concierge, children's play area, two beach chaise loungers and umbrella, poolside loungers, towel service, 24-hour gym, Lil' James play space access, and local & domestic long distance calls. The James offers complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the hotel, triple-distilled water refreshed twice daily and access to bicycles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Venere, getaroom.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The James Royal Palm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The James Royal Palm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.