We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 Days In Miami Beach!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The James Royal Palm

Save Saved
You added The James Royal Palm to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
The James Royal Palm
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1545 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139‎   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
35% off Suites
Ranked #39 of 201 Hotels in Miami Beach
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“4 Days In Miami Beach!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Myself & my dad recently stayed at the James Royal Palm for 3 nights, it was really important to us that we had 2 beds in the room as sharing was not an option as I'm now 21. On Check in we received a lovely room with 2 big double beds and a small balcony with a nice view of the beach on one side and the city on the other; the beds were really comfortable. The room was clean and had plenty of cupboard and draw space and it was nice to have a fridge and a bottle of water which was refreshed each day. The location was amazing for both the beach and the city and we found all the staff were helpful and friendly. The main problem with this hotel is that it was really expensive to eat at and unless you had lots of $'s you should definitely find somewhere else to eat, we paid $76 for the 2 of us to have a self service buffet breakfast (including the unnecessary 18% gratuity), I know that 18% is common on South Beach however when you serve yourself, I don’t see how that much is justified! We had an evening meal in the Florida Cookery and it was delicious especially the ribs, they had a good selection of food and drinks.

Room Tip: I would recommend a high floor room away from the lifts as the views were better and there was less...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    640
    358
    136
    62
    40
See reviews for
232
500
50
136
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The Royal Palm was recently remodeled. Our room was a junior suite, good layout with bar/ seating area, and separate bedroom. The decor is great! Very Art Decco! The windows are sound proof, room was very quiet. The hotel offers free wifi in the room, water, ad buffet breakfast. Service is exceptional! The beach chairs are very comfortable, each one with cushions, umbrellas, and free refreshments (water & fruit).
The employees at the beach are fantastic, always willing to help, and addressing you by Mr. or Mrs. XXXX. Worth it!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stow, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

First let me say I grew up in the area but live in Cleveland. I travel to South Beach every 3-4 months and have probably stayed in 10-12 different hotels on Collins. My girlfriend and I decided to take a last minute weekend trip. Our normal favorite hotel ( Fontainebleau ) was sold out, As was the W. So we decided to go on Hotwire and try a new hotel. We searched for a 4.5 - 5 star hotel. We ended up with The James. So here is the rundown.

First let me say the location is the best! Walking distance to Lincoln Rd. which is a huge plus for me. Also SL nightclub is next to this hotel. ( definitely not the same as SL NYC, I wouldn't waste my time here) unless your older and want a more subdued club..

When we first arrived no bell hop helped get our bags or even offered. ( big turn off) At other hotels bell hops are tripping over each other to help you and get that tip $.... So we check in and asked for a upgrade and offered to pay the difference. There was nothing available. Our room was average. It could have been cleaned better but was suffice. We unpacked and headed to the pool bar to meet a friend. We sat down and waited at least 10 minutes to get a bartender to quit watching the soccer game and take a drink order. When our friend arrived he had the same problem. We used the pool 2wice. The female who found us our chairs was extremely helpful and always smiled. I wish I would have gotten her name. ( her side head is shaved with a tattoo on her head) More staff at this hotel should be like her. The pool area was filthy,trash & empty bottles laying around. No one cleans up...( big turn off) I definately would not stay here again. I love boutique hotels but this one lacks anything special and needs to hire a better staff and clean things up a bit. This hotel is definatley NOT a 4.5 star hotel. More like a 3. Great hotel for spring break kids who aren't into luxury or care how they are treated. That's not me.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Streetsboro, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We selected this hotel for a winter get away from the cold weather in the Midwest. Upon arriving, the hotel looked very promising. Check-in was a breeze and the staff was exceptional! When we got to the room we were a little disappointed based on the $400 per night price tag. The room was overall comfortable however, the door to the room did not seal and there was a tremendous amount of noise coming from the hallway and the elevator that was right outside our room. The room did have nice modern furniture and was very clean.

After taking a shower, we discovered that the room did not have a hairdryer in it. Did I mention this is $400 per night room??? We called and requested one and ONE HOUR LATER we still did not have it. When we called a second time to check on the status of the hairdryer they asked if we already called and seemed annoyed that we called a second time instead of apologizing for it taking over an hour to get a hairdryer that should have already been in the room. They just asked us if we realized that this was their busy season. I really wasn't sure what that had to do with the service level I should expect after all, I was paying "in season" pricing so I certainly did not feel sympathetic.

We valeted at the hotel which was $30 per night which was pretty expensive but, we wanted the convenience of having the onsite parking. When we were on our way to dinner, we called to request our vehicle in advance as we were instructed to do. The hotel's valet is VERY busy on the weekend because it is the only valet in the area. When we went down to get our car we waited for 15 minutes and then I noticed that people that were approaching the valet after we got there were getting their car already. I asked the valet about our car. He said that they park the daily valet close and your car is far away so that is why they got their car first. Once again, I was paying $30 a night versus a $20 2 hour valet plus being a guest at their hotel, I felt like I should have been first in line not the reverse. Finally after 30 minutes of waiting our vehicle it finally did arrive. I will give the supervisor credit for refunding our valet fees for our stay due to the inconvenience. I did not ask for it and I did appreciate the gesture.

The final issue that we had with the room is when we returned to hotel room after it was cleaned for the day, the door was left ajar. Our room was right across from the elevator and we just walked right in to our room. Luckily, nothing was taken however, that was the final straw for us.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

While the facilities are wonderful (pool, beach, bars, and Florida Cookery restaurant) and the room was quite clean and comfortable, we had ongoing problems with noise throughout our 4 night stay. On the 1st night a group of ladies down the hall were arguing loudly for several hours. The walls must be paper thin because we could hear their conversation word for word. On the 2nd night from 2-3am, the music from the hotel's nightclub was so loud that everything in our room was vibrating. Guest Services did nothing to help. The next day, we asked for a quieter room and they told us we would have to wait until after other guests checked in, and they would get back to us. They NEVER got back to us. Thankfully the nightclub wasn't open that night and the 3rd night we slept well. However, on the 4th night, starting at 12am and continuing to 2am, repairs involving drilling and hammering were being done in the rooms in the floor above us. How could the management give the OK to do repairs in the middle of the night, when there are guests trying to sleep? It boggles my mind!! It is really unfortunate, because as I said, it is a beautiful hotel with great facilities, but I only got a good night's sleep 1/4 nights, and that is simply unacceptable when you're on vacation and trying to rest and relax. They need to focus less on being superficially friendly and more on actually caring and thinking about the comfort of their guests during their stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

I reserved two rooms here for my parents and for myself, hoping to give my parents a real treat by staying at such an expensive hotel ($390/night). Unfortunately, while the hotel has some positive aspects that we did appreciate (including friendly wait staff at the restaurant, Florida Cookery), we were also disappointed in many ways. First, my parents were given a room with two small beds, rather than a king, despite my having made a request for one bed at the time of the reservation. Second, I requested that we not be given any rooms with adjoining doorways, as online reviewers had indicated that these rooms could be very noisy if one had noisy neighbors. This request was also ignored, and we were given rooms (on different floors) with adjoining doors to the neighboring rooms. Sure enough, in the middle of the second night of our stay, my parents had to endure several hours of extremely loud "adult activity" going on in the adjoining room, to the extent that they could hear every single thing that went on, word for word, down to the forms of birth control being selected. A newly renovated, 4-star hotel really should provide a quieter experience than that! When we brought this to the attention of management, all they offered us was a discounted breakfast. Third, the windows and door going out onto the (tiny) balcony were encrusted with grime, and these were never cleaned despite my requests. When one is paying to stay on the beach, it would be nice to be able to see the beach through the window, rather than just dirt! Fourth, the bathroom doors do not shut properly--they slowly slide open so that no privacy is attainable. And finally, housekeeping was spotty--sometimes you would be provided with towels, sometimes you wouldn't, etc. My expectations are pretty reasonable, and I really had hoped for more from an expensive 4-star hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

I usually dont do a reviews, but I had to on this place. This place has great service. From the valet, to the hotel employees, to pool area, to the beach attendants.

Pros:
Right on the beach
Very sheek design rooms
Service was great

Cons:

$$$$

This place aint cheap. I am a average joe guy. But hey you get the best at what you pay for.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The James Royal Palm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The James Royal Palm

Address: 1545 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139‎
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 201 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The James Royal Palm 4.5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featured as one of Conde Nast Traveler UK & US Magazine's "Hot Hotels of 2013" and now a AAA Four Diamond rated beachfront retreat, The James Royal Palm is The James brand's third location and first hotel in Florida. Joining sister properties in Chicago and New York City, the ideally situated, oceanfront hotel offers a total of 393 guest rooms, including studios and suites, with the majority offering ocean views. A combination of personalized comfort, generous complimentary amenities, residentially styled, artistically-inspired details and impeccable service, create an environment ideal for both business and leisure travelers. Just steps away from the beach and world famous Ocean Drive and Collins Avenue, the oceanfront beach retreat is located within the coveted and culturally-rich area of South Beach. The James Royal Palm provides guests with a location immersed in luxury retail, endless entertainment and an unmatched shopping experience.Designed by Lauren Rottet of Rottet Studio, The James Royal Palm is as a modern tribute to the original Royal Palm Hotel's rich history, keeping intact many signature elements of the original architect's design. The compass rose on the terrazzo lobby floor, original green glass reception desk and porthole windows in the lobby lounge have all been preserved and restored.The James Royal Palm features two swimming pools, a plunge pool, poolside bar, The James Pool and Beach Experience, lobby lounge, coffee bar, renew the spa, a full-service spa with salt-infused treatments, lil' james Offerings and Play Space for children, give: the shop, a retail shop offering carefully curated items, and more than 10,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor meeting and event space. Guests can enjoy dining options including signature restaurant Florida Cookery; featuring regional Florida fare. A daily beach retreat charge includes: The James Beach and Pool Experience with Sun Concierge, children's play area, two beach chaise loungers and umbrella, poolside loungers, towel service, 24-hour gym, Lil' James play space access, and local & domestic long distance calls. The James offers complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the hotel, triple-distilled water refreshed twice daily and access to bicycles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Venere, Otel, Tingo, MrandMrsSmith, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and HotelsClick so you can book your The James Royal Palm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The James Royal Palm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;