We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific week in Miami - Thanks St. James Royal Palm!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort to your Saves list
Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1545 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139‎ (Formerly The James Royal Palm) (City Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #55 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Terrific week in Miami - Thanks St. James Royal Palm!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

I, my wife, our two young children, our older daughter & her best friend all enjoyed a great week at The St. James Royal Palm for Spring Break! Great staff throughout the hotel, the two bedroom suite w/ adjoining room for me and my wife was a terrific set up, and the location was great!

Props to the staff: AJ, Lou, Joe, Marcel, Ron, Betty, Star, Kitty, Peter, Florian, to name a few. Thanks for making our Spring Break enjoyable!

If there are two areas for improvement they would:

1). The speed at which food is served in the restaurant. The wait staff was always professional & friendly, but it often took quite a while for the food to be served.

2). The bed wasn't the greatest and the bed frame would often squeak when I or my wife moved

I have not frequented Miami too often, but The St. James Royal Palm is a very good hotel. Their staff makes the difference.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,801 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    892
    519
    216
    110
    64
See reviews for
357
709
67
197
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We have stayed at 6 different Collins Avenue beachfront hotels in South Beach and this was one of our favorite vacations because of the ammenities at the James Royal Palm. Our lanai room was spacious and well appointed and check-in was a breeze. The afternoon turn-down service is a great touch and the pool service was outstanding. One of the best features is the breakfast buffet in the Florida Cookery. The food was awesome and the selection was unbelievable. Everyone at the James Royal Palm made you feel like you were the most important guest. The only downside was the inconsistency of the hot water in the shower.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Dunmow, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We booked the James Royal Palm and weren't sure what to expect. The location is great and the beach was perfect for us. On arrival We were greeted by some of the best hotel staff ever and the holiday just got better. Once checked in we went to the room which was really clean, comfortable and quiet for South Beach. We spent our first day by the pool and were looked after by Raquel who was just fabulous, then we met Joseph Kemp the beach and pool manager who took our stay to another level, Joseph went out of his way to make us welcome and to make our short holiday one of the best ever, what a great guy - I should also mention Martin who looked after us at the beach. Great hotel, made even better by great people - we are definately coming back for a longer stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akıncılar, Sivas, Turkey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

The location is excelent! Very good service. They give you oranges and water in a little basket as a gift in the beach and in the pool.
We had a problem with the girl of the pool, she was too rude and she didn't hold the deck chair for you while you were having breakfast or lunch at the hotel restaurant. Apart from this problem everything was excelent.

Room Tip: Rooms with sea-view are bigger and have a balcony to smoke.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Check in took forever. We were guided to one help desk where we got cut off by other guest. They checked in three parties who walked in front of us and the staff knew we were waiting. The bedding was nice but the door wouldn't shut all the way or open properly when you stuck the key into the electronic lock. It was raining so there were some time spent in the room a little bit more than expected so it was up setting when the tv was based on satellite with no reception. The room service menu was quite limited although had an upscale flair. The bathroom had a nice set up of body wash and hair wash. I called down for the valet to pull the car around and checked out conveniently over the phone, the gentleman said it would be 15 minutes so we waited in the room. As we were leaving we could here water dropping pretty heavily on the other side of the elevator doors. When the elevator opened on our floor it was like the titanic was happening. Water was raining down through the ceiling in all three elevators of course I refused to step inside an electric elevator that was raining inside. As we were walking down 5 flights of stairs I saw some staff in the stairwell where it seemed to be the place where they store their cleaning equipment. Of course I mentioned the rain in the elevator but it didn't seem to shock them what so ever, as if it was just another day. As we started to rush out of the hotel we told the valet we were waiting. After 20mins after speaking with the valet they still did not grab my car.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

So many hip and cool hotels have stuck-up service. Not this one. The hotel is beautiful and the people seem like they actually like serving you. They're friendly without being inauthentic. They seem like they like their jobs! The combination of great ambiance and wonderful service makes this a fantastic lux hotel experience in Miami. If you're going to spend the money, spend it here.
Enjoy!

Room Tip: Ask. They want to be accommodating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

This hotel is located in a great location- one block from Starbucks!
Beautiful Rooms, Nice gym, and great pool area!!
I was not impressed with the concierige' who we asked for recommendations, and never returned our call?
bell hop and front door staff were very friendly.
Go to the beach and eat at the Taco Truck- best fish taco ever!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort

Address: 1545 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139‎ (Formerly The James Royal Palm)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Palm, Miami-South Beach boasts an enviable location on Collins Avenue, just north of the iconic Ocean Drive at 15th Street. With direct access to the beach and boardwalk, the resort is near the most appealing attractions of vibrant South Beach. The resort comprises a wealth of refined facilities, including a pampering spa and a pool encircled by cabanas. Dining venues serve authentic plates and cocktails in relaxing ambiences. Some 10,000 square feet of space is available for enchanting events. With iconic ocean or city views, guest rooms and suites house environmentally-friendly amenities and stylish areas for business and leisure. Poolside Suites are distinguished by their expansive outdoor terraces and proximity to the beach and pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Booking.com, Starwood, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, EasyToBook, HotelTravel.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.