We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Newest gem on SOBE!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The James Royal Palm

Save Saved
You added The James Royal Palm to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
The James Royal Palm
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1545 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139‎   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to $75 Daily Credit
Ranked #42 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Miami Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Newest gem on SOBE!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Booked it last minute after realizing the hotel we had originally booked was well under construction, without having previously informed us of course! We loved the James Royal Palm! Great location right on the beach, large new beautiful rooms, very attentive front office staff. Very nice pool and beach area, lots of different options to lounge on. Children loved the play space where they made artwork and played a lot of different board games. Our night before departure, we had dinner at Catch, which we recognized from their location in New York, and the food was just as divine at this location as well. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: We splurged on the Two Bedroom Apartment and it can't be beat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,075 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    546
    317
    116
    59
    37
See reviews for
194
437
40
126
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I just spent 3 nights at the James Royal Palm and had a delightful time. The staff could not have been more friendly and helpful and we found our room to be clean, airy and exactly what we had booked through Expedia. Also, despite the fact that this was a huge party weekend in SoBe, we found the James to be a place of (relative) tranquility, unlike so many other hotels nearby that clearly suffered from the excessive party noise.
Great hotel, would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the James for business. We were blown away by the decor and service the second we arrived. The housekeepers were very nice, the front desk staff, the valet and the bartenders! We had gone to visit a few bars and restaurants while in Miami, and the James royal palm staff were the best! The bartenders were creative with their drinks and the food they served was great. Nothing like having champagne and berries while sitting pool side. I recommend this hotel to everyone!

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

Hotel is beautiful & in a perfect location. That being said, I was disappointed in the service- there is a $19/day fee for pool/beach yet the beach service was horrible. The waitresses were horrible, they would maybe come by once the whole day, would take an hour to even bring a basket over. At one point I went up to the bar to ask for my waitress and was told she left the beach for a while & would come over but she never did. The service at the restaurant where we had breakfast was horrible too, not even sure who our server was, took 20 minutes to get a cup of coffee then another 10 min to get creamer. Housekeeping was spotty; my room was not cleaned at all one day- didn't call because I was gone most of the day & thought they just were late; when I called the next day guest services seemed indifferent.
There were some other minor issues as well. Positives- comfortable bed, quiet room(I did not experience the noise issues others have) great decor, awesome location.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Can't say more on how satisfied we were with our stay in this hotel despite a crazy Miami weekend!! Impressed w their simplicity and retro deco set up. Ocean view room was breathless.
Kudos to all their employees from the front door ,reception, coffee bar and all the way to their room maids!!
Next time that we'll stop in Miami this for sure is our place to stay!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick H, General Manager at The James Royal Palm, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
56Jun

Thank you for the great review of The James Royal Palm! Appreciate you calling out our door, reception, coffee bar and housekeeping teams!

See you next time you stop in Miami!

Best,
Patrick Hatton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed at the James Royal Palm for 5 nights in March. We booked a king ocean view room on the 12th floor which was perfect with a beautiful view over the pools, beach and ocean. The service on the beach was great, you get given a James box each day with fresh water and fruit. The breakfast at Florida cookery was fresh and tasty. Ivan the concierge was fabulous! he managed to get us a last minute booking at Catch (definitely worth a visit) after a disastrous evening at Bianca restaurant in the Delano. The location is excellent, for Linocoln road, Ocean drive and right on the beach. We loved our stay here and will definitely be back. We also used the spa for a massage and a pedicure, service was perfect. Would highly recommend!

Room Tip: Go for a full ocean view room on a high floor. It's peaceful and the views are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick H, General Manager at The James Royal Palm, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Maria R

Thank you for the terrific review! I am glad that you enjoyed your room, breakfast, location and Jaems Beach Box! Great to hear about your spa experience as well. Hope you got the opportunity to enjoy our renew spa terrace over looking the ocean from it's 4th floor perch!

Thank you for highly recommending us!

Patrick Hatton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Here are some comments I sent to the hotel upon request via their own survey:

1. We booked through Expedia...and our reservation did not indicate what room type we were to expect. I sent 3 emails to the JRP to enquire about our room type, as well to find out if we could take advantage of the UPFAST promo advertised on your website (free room upgrade + 2 breakfasts per day). No response to 3 emails; Upon check-in, front-desk personnel had no idea about the website promotions; were informed that the web promo did not apply to us because we booked through Expedia and not directly with the hotel.

2. The per day fee for beach rentals was not made clear at check-in; we were not informed that this fee would be applied regardless of whether we used them or not.

3. Rooms made up after 5:30PM - Really?

4. Windows in the room did not open; air conditioning was not working properly; Ice machine on our floor and at least 2 other floors were not working; Rooms were not sound-proofed!

5. On checkout, I asked for a printout of my bill and was astonished to see 2 days of valet parking added to my bill. We did not have a car :)

6. Concierge arranged for a cab which did not accept credit cards...had to find an ATM machine at airport!

7. Value for the money just wasn't there...I get that we can expect to pay a premium @ SOBE...but I have stayed at premium hotels (i.e. Paris, Manhattan, Boston, etc.) for half the price and double the luxury. Not too happy about my stay at JRP!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick H, General Manager at The James Royal Palm, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
toronto1959

I am terribly sorry about your pre-arrival and stay experience. I will reach out to you offline to learn more about who you attempted to contact. No reply is embarrasing and unacceptable.

Clearly communicating the inclusions of the retreat fee is critical as we have bundled so many services the other hotels in SoBe charge for including not only beach chairs and umbrella, but complimentary triple distilled water, local calls, business center w/ iMacs, turndown service, reading materials including newspapers and books and our brand standard complimentary WiFi throughout the resort.

Unfortunately, most cabs in South Beach do not take credit cards. Is it a big issue that the hotel community is working with the convention bureau and city to resolve. However, we should have inquired when you requested the cab to prevent the unfortunate position we put you in at the airport.

Thank you for the specific feedback. I appreciate the opportunity to learn from your experience and apologize again.

Best
Patrick Hatton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The James Royal Palm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The James Royal Palm

Address: 1545 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139‎
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The James Royal Palm 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featured as one of Conde Nast Traveler UK & US Magazine's "Hot Hotels of 2013" and now a AAA Four Diamond rated beachfront retreat, The James Royal Palm is The James brand's third location and first hotel in Florida. Joining sister properties in Chicago and New York City, the ideally situated, oceanfront hotel offers a total of 393 guest rooms, including studios and suites, with the majority offering ocean views. A combination of personalized comfort, generous complimentary amenities, residentially styled, artistically-inspired details and impeccable service, create an environment ideal for both business and leisure travelers. Just steps away from the beach and world famous Ocean Drive and Collins Avenue, the oceanfront beach retreat is located within the coveted and culturally-rich area of South Beach. The James Royal Palm provides guests with a location immersed in luxury retail, endless entertainment and an unmatched shopping experience.Designed by Lauren Rottet of Rottet Studio, The James Royal Palm is as a modern tribute to the original Royal Palm Hotel's rich history, keeping intact many signature elements of the original architect's design. The compass rose on the terrazzo lobby floor, original green glass reception desk and porthole windows in the lobby lounge have all been preserved and restored.The James Royal Palm features two swimming pools, a plunge pool, poolside bar, The James Pool and Beach Experience, lobby lounge, coffee bar, renew the spa, a full-service spa with salt-infused treatments, lil' james Offerings and Play Space for children, give: the shop, a retail shop offering carefully curated items, and more than 10,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor meeting and event space. Guests can enjoy dining options including signature restaurant Florida Cookery; featuring regional Florida fare. A daily beach retreat charge includes: The James Beach and Pool Experience with Sun Concierge, children's play area, two beach chaise loungers and umbrella, poolside loungers, towel service, 24-hour gym, Lil' James play space access, and local & domestic long distance calls. The James offers complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the hotel, triple-distilled water refreshed twice daily and access to bicycles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Tablet Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Venere, Otel, Tingo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and HotelsClick so you can book your The James Royal Palm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The James Royal Palm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.