We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the James!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The James Royal Palm

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The James Royal Palm to your Saves list
The James Royal Palm
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1545 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139‎   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$100 daily hotel credit
Ranked #39 of 202 Hotels in Miami Beach
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Loved the James!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed at the James Royal Palm for 5 nights in March. We booked a king ocean view room on the 12th floor which was perfect with a beautiful view over the pools, beach and ocean. The service on the beach was great, you get given a James box each day with fresh water and fruit. The breakfast at Florida cookery was fresh and tasty. Ivan the concierge was fabulous! he managed to get us a last minute booking at Catch (definitely worth a visit) after a disastrous evening at Bianca restaurant in the Delano. The location is excellent, for Linocoln road, Ocean drive and right on the beach. We loved our stay here and will definitely be back. We also used the spa for a massage and a pedicure, service was perfect. Would highly recommend!

Room Tip: Go for a full ocean view room on a high floor. It's peaceful and the views are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick H, General Manager at The James Royal Palm, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Maria R

Thank you for the terrific review! I am glad that you enjoyed your room, breakfast, location and Jaems Beach Box! Great to hear about your spa experience as well. Hope you got the opportunity to enjoy our renew spa terrace over looking the ocean from it's 4th floor perch!

Thank you for highly recommending us!

Patrick Hatton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    678
    377
    138
    66
    40
See reviews for
241
523
56
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Here are some comments I sent to the hotel upon request via their own survey:

1. We booked through Expedia...and our reservation did not indicate what room type we were to expect. I sent 3 emails to the JRP to enquire about our room type, as well to find out if we could take advantage of the UPFAST promo advertised on your website (free room upgrade + 2 breakfasts per day). No response to 3 emails; Upon check-in, front-desk personnel had no idea about the website promotions; were informed that the web promo did not apply to us because we booked through Expedia and not directly with the hotel.

2. The per day fee for beach rentals was not made clear at check-in; we were not informed that this fee would be applied regardless of whether we used them or not.

3. Rooms made up after 5:30PM - Really?

4. Windows in the room did not open; air conditioning was not working properly; Ice machine on our floor and at least 2 other floors were not working; Rooms were not sound-proofed!

5. On checkout, I asked for a printout of my bill and was astonished to see 2 days of valet parking added to my bill. We did not have a car :)

6. Concierge arranged for a cab which did not accept credit cards...had to find an ATM machine at airport!

7. Value for the money just wasn't there...I get that we can expect to pay a premium @ SOBE...but I have stayed at premium hotels (i.e. Paris, Manhattan, Boston, etc.) for half the price and double the luxury. Not too happy about my stay at JRP!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick H, General Manager at The James Royal Palm, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
toronto1959

I am terribly sorry about your pre-arrival and stay experience. I will reach out to you offline to learn more about who you attempted to contact. No reply is embarrasing and unacceptable.

Clearly communicating the inclusions of the retreat fee is critical as we have bundled so many services the other hotels in SoBe charge for including not only beach chairs and umbrella, but complimentary triple distilled water, local calls, business center w/ iMacs, turndown service, reading materials including newspapers and books and our brand standard complimentary WiFi throughout the resort.

Unfortunately, most cabs in South Beach do not take credit cards. Is it a big issue that the hotel community is working with the convention bureau and city to resolve. However, we should have inquired when you requested the cab to prevent the unfortunate position we put you in at the airport.

Thank you for the specific feedback. I appreciate the opportunity to learn from your experience and apologize again.

Best
Patrick Hatton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stockholm, sweden
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

The James really is in the heart of things - with shopping, restaurants and bars in one direction and the ocean on the other. Service was friendly and efficient from front desk to restaurants to the beach. My only negative comment would be the interconnecting room which literally felt as though I was traveling with the ladies next door - I heard every word!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick H, General Manager at The James Royal Palm, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
smowbray

Thank you for the kind words about our service and location. I am sorry to hear about the noise issue. We are in the process of testing a different door sweeper on the connecting doors to reduce the transfer of noise based on feedback such as yours. if successful, we will correct all rooms in April.

Thank you.

Patrick Hatton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford CT
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Lovely property with gracious, welcoming staff. Beautifully done, including pool area, restaurant, lounges. Nice open feeling. Interesting furnishings and really comfortable bedding.. The negative is the noise from the hallway and rooms above or adjacent: I think the floor tiling is partially responsible. Pile up those extra pillows against the door(s) as sound proofing, I did!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is perfectly situated close enough to the action yet far enough from the typical spring break crowd. The ocean and beach are directly behind the hotel. The pool and hotel grounds are secure and guarded. The rooms had an interesting concept-different and refreshing.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
steamboat springs co
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Nothing worked! The rooms were great, the pool bar and pool and music super but the service was beyond horrible . What didnt work!? Pretty much everything, We checked in at 3 and got our room at 5:45. There was no hot water for 2 days despite complaining. The wireless wouldnt work in our room. The Sat TV kept going out. It took 1 hr 15 min to get breakfast and then it was cold and overcooked. The poolside service was incredibly slow. The 2nd day we went back to our room at 5 pm and it was not made up. It was the weekend and management was on vactaion. No one oculd help or make a decision. After that we just gave up and checked out next day. $450 a night for endless frustrations.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick H, General Manager at The James Royal Palm, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
cherri b

On behalf of the team, please accept my apologies for your experience with us earlier this month. There is simply no excuse for not resolving the issues you endured with greater efficiency and empathy. I assure you that we have multiple managers on duty every shift and nobody is on vacation this month. I am embarrased that any of our team would have used this as an excuse not to make the decision to listen, empathize and resolve the issues.

I appreciate your feedback as it will be used as a tool to improve how we respond to and resolve issues with our guests.

My apologies again,

Patrick Hatton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We decided to stay on in Miami Beach for 4 days following a Caribbean Cruise. The James Royal Palm Hotel turned out be an excellent choice. The ocean view room we had on the 11th floor was spacious, well appointed and had an excellent view overlooking the pool area and beach. The room had a very powerful shower and air conditioning system. The location of the hotel was fantastic being within a couple of minutes walk of Lincoln Mall and numerous restaurants which we used for most meals. The rear exit directly onto the beach was very convenient. Complimentary sun beds, parasols and towels were provided on the beach and by the pool. This included waiter service for bar food and drinks. The hotel staff were always extremely polite and helpful. I would definitely use this hotel if we stay in Miami again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The James Royal Palm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The James Royal Palm

Address: 1545 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139‎
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 202 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The James Royal Palm 4.5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featured as one of Conde Nast Traveler UK & US Magazine's "Hot Hotels of 2013" and now a AAA Four Diamond rated beachfront retreat, The James Royal Palm is The James brand's third location and first hotel in Florida. Joining sister properties in Chicago and New York City, the ideally situated, oceanfront hotel offers a total of 393 guest rooms, including studios and suites, with the majority offering ocean views. A combination of personalized comfort, generous complimentary amenities, residentially styled, artistically-inspired details and impeccable service, create an environment ideal for both business and leisure travelers. Just steps away from the beach and world famous Ocean Drive and Collins Avenue, the oceanfront beach retreat is located within the coveted and culturally-rich area of South Beach. The James Royal Palm provides guests with a location immersed in luxury retail, endless entertainment and an unmatched shopping experience.Designed by Lauren Rottet of Rottet Studio, The James Royal Palm is as a modern tribute to the original Royal Palm Hotel's rich history, keeping intact many signature elements of the original architect's design. The compass rose on the terrazzo lobby floor, original green glass reception desk and porthole windows in the lobby lounge have all been preserved and restored.The James Royal Palm features two swimming pools, a plunge pool, poolside bar, The James Pool and Beach Experience, lobby lounge, coffee bar, renew the spa, a full-service spa with salt-infused treatments, lil' james Offerings and Play Space for children, give: the shop, a retail shop offering carefully curated items, and more than 10,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor meeting and event space. Guests can enjoy dining options including signature restaurant Florida Cookery; featuring regional Florida fare. A daily beach retreat charge includes: The James Beach and Pool Experience with Sun Concierge, children's play area, two beach chaise loungers and umbrella, poolside loungers, towel service, 24-hour gym, Lil' James play space access, and local & domestic long distance calls. The James offers complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the hotel, triple-distilled water refreshed twice daily and access to bicycles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Otel, MrandMrsSmith, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The James Royal Palm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The James Royal Palm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.