We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms with a view of beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The James Royal Palm

Save Saved
You added The James Royal Palm to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The James Royal Palm
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1545 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139‎   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to $75 Daily Credit
Ranked #43 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Streatham Common Lido
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Rooms with a view of beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

was there on a business conference. Rooms are large enough and ok. though I would say that I am more used to European and Asian posh rooms. So the finishing was of a slightly lower quality. Not all rooms have a sea view though so check first. If you have one with a small balcony, great. The restaurant is rather famous and the food was different, which is nice for a change.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a view and high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,032 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    514
    307
    117
    58
    36
See reviews for
187
421
38
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We visited the James Royal Palm for 8 nights at the beginning of February. We travelled as a family with 2 girls aged 9 and 2. The Hotel Facilities are generally good, if not overly priced. We didn't even bother with the Restaurant food or breakfast as we had been pre-warned about the costs on Review Sites. Staff were generally very helpful and friendly, apart from a few of the sour-faced girls serving on the beach, who only seemed interested in the high-tipping boozers (I used to be one 10 years ago), who were hanging round the beach area some days. Great tough on the beach with the Water and Fruit Packs.Great beach and Pool area. I was lucky that the Resort Fees were included in my package - I would have been annoyed as some days towels / beach chairs towels were not always available. On the beach Eric was fantastic though - Great friendly service whenever he was there and look after the girls very well.

We had asked for a quiet room as we have read about the paper thin walls. We were ok most nights apart from 2. One night we endured a group of giggly girl clubbers in our room (next door) telling us about how drunk they were and how annoying the blokes in the club where, and the second night we had to listen to next door's TV and phonecalls.

We also asked for the MiniBar to be emptied as a) it was extortionate, as with most hotels, but b) We wanted it for the babies milk and groceries to be told there was a charge of $20 - Ridiculous - I told them I would empty it for free and they managed to half empty it a few days later!!!

Another few problems were the noisy airconditioning - I'll add a video later - and the cleanliness of the room (ie room cleaning) - We started off by leaving $4-5 tips each day but then stopped as the chamber maids didn't appear to clean toilets (uriney smell) or shower very much (stains after use) - Very disappointing for a 4/5 Star Hotel and tea / coffe cups weren't cleaned up or refilled in a timely manner.

Finally we had the fire alarm call - Very distressing to be woken up at 1130PM to Fire Alarm and then earcurdling PA System which didn't stop for almost 45 mins...Only an apology was given after we complained the next evening. We did however get a late check-out at 5pm on our departure date which was perfect. One other thing, double check your bill as mysterious items randomly appear.

All in all 7.5/10 - Could have been so much better if a little more attention is given to simple customer service tasks. Great location though and having said all the above we would probably stay again if things look to have improved a bit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Stayed here for business for four nights last week. Had a tremendous experience with all service interactions: front desk (c/i and c/o), the pool staff was great (food is pricey but it was worth it), and the valet was awesome! They had cold bottles of water waiting for me in my car every morning! Keep it up! I look forward to staying here again, but not for business this time so I can actually enjoy the beach and pool for more than an hour!

Room Tip: Only some of the rooms have balconies, if you don't get one with a balcony you may have a very l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick H, General Manager at The James Royal Palm, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Shawnathan88

Thank you for the great review regarding your recent business trip to South Beach! Glad you enjoyed the extra touch by our Valet team!

Look forward to welcoming you back to enjoy the beach and pool for more than an hour! The Micheladas (beer cocktails) are a must!

Best,

Patrick Hatton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Great location on boardwalk/beach adjacent, a few blocks from Lincoln Road and Espanola Way, spacious room in Lanai building (code for exterior corridors). Price was fair for high season Miami Beach. Check out is civilized at 2pm. Staff: pleasant and well intended, but for most part not well trained, disorganized and no sense of urgency.

Room pluses: spacious, with comfy bed, separate sitting area, a small table/work space, lots of places to put luggage, stuff, electric outlets easy to access for computer, phone charging and such. two flat screen TVs, sub-arctic air conditioning capacity. Big bonus: this is one of the few US hotels I have stayed in thas an electric kettle/tea tray in the room so I didn't have to schlep out in the morning or wait for lukewarm coffee from room service.

What's not so hot: the AC fan rattled all night. I reported it to hotel desk with request for engineering to fix it but it was never touched/fixed during my stay. A reminder/complaint upon check out was met with a shrug/I'll make a note of it. lighting not so hot if you are there to work. On an overcast day, with blinds open, stil dim inside. Baffling: in the tropics the beds have a big heavy duvet on them...good for testing out and running the sub-arctic AC I suppose.

Noise: a symphony of noise starting at 7am: garbage trucks on one side of hotel, construction noise from room refurbishing at 7:30am, plus a 24/7 Euro disco muzak in pool, outdoor restaurants even when there is nobody using the areas. The blinds/shutters do not black out the room so if you come in late like the people down the aisle did at 5am when the bars shut down and want to sleep in, bring an eye mask and earplugs. In the Lanai tower everyone who stumbles in late can be heard quite clearly by most of the rooms across all 3 floors.

Few rooms have bathtubs so if important you may want to stay elsewhere. Other reason: the shampoo/conditioner are bolted to the wall in the shower at standing height. So if you want to use the tub there is no way to access the shampoo except to get up, or use a coffee mug to hold the stuff. Not well thought out.

Hotel restaurant: Florida Cookery - interesting menu, pretty reasonable prices for beachfront property but service is really ditzy/disorganized. It took 25 minutes to get an order of poached eggs and bacon. Three requests for salt & pepper, hot sauce and jelly for the toast netted: two sets of salt & pepper shakers, one order of ketchup, 3 bottles of hot sauce and two kinds of jelly brought by 3 separate people. If you want the full menu, sit upstairs vs at ground level patio cafe where the menu is limited.

There are several bars at the hotel. The main bar inside hotel was out of my preferred rum so I went across the courtyard to the rum bar/cigar lounge. Since there were no cigars/slow night I got a free rum tutorial from bartender who makes really interesting cocktails. Falernum was a new liqueur ingredient to me so bartender poured out a sample/solo to try - cloves ginger and citrus...funky but adds an X factor to tropical cocktails.

Check out: attempt to get stored luggage took three trys. The first two times they brought the wrong luggage and so I went into the storage room to point it out. Really sloppy.

Room Tip: high floor helps to minimize noise issues/24/7 Euro disco muzak, etc. In Lanai tower, the higher t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick H, General Manager at The James Royal Palm, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
hihglandbride-

Thank you for the detailed review of your stay at The James Royal Palm. While I appreciate the high marks, I am disappointed in the little things we easily could have corrected such as the AC fan issue and luggage confusion.

Great observation on the placement of amenities in the bathtubs! Will have to look at solution there.

Hope you enjoyed your rum tutorial. We carefully selected Craft bartenders with a passion for interesting and flavorful cocktails and personal service.

Thank you again. The details you provided are priceless.

Best,
Patrick Hatton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thornton, Colorado, United States
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

I stayed four nights at The James during the South Beach Wine and Food Festival. Beautiful, minimalist styling. Very courteous and helpful front staff. Very comfortable beds. There were a few, very small issues that aren't even worth mentioning. The location is perfect! Right on the beach, and the beach amenities are wonderful! You must eat at the hotel restaurant, Florida Cookery. Absolutely fabulous!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick H, General Manager at The James Royal Palm, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Patty C-

Thank you for the fabulous review! Glad you enjoyed the staff, decor, beds, location, beach amenioties and Florida Cookery!

Hope to see you again soon!

Patrick Hatton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Just checked out of room 1633 after staying for 3 nights for the wine and food festival. I met up with 3 girlfriends in South Beach for a long weekend to enjoy the festival. We chose this hotel due to its location.
Pros: location
Cons: service was terrible- couldn't get the bare bone basic of housekeeping down!, rooms were also tiny and poorly designed/constructed

While the hotel itself is stylish - I'm not certain what happened when it came to developing the guest rooms. Someone who has never stayed in a hotel before with tile floor decided it would look great and went for it! Poor decision and one that management needs to fix immediately - you can hear everything your neighbor is doing....from a normal tone conversation to the television....word for word. Management - really no excuse to let this continue, you can easily test this yourself and implement fixes. I was even surprised when I was leaving and at the elevator bank to still be able to hear my friends talking(we were 2 doors down from the elevator).

Service - housekeeping service was unacceptable. On Saturday our room still had not been cleaned by 3:30 so I called "guest services" ....nobody even answered! I ended up having to go downstairs to the front desk and request a room cleaning immediately. Hard to believe but the next day it got worse....as we were getting ready to leave for an event, the maid knocked on the door - I told her we would be gone by 11:30 ....could she come back then....imagine my surprise when I came back at 2pm and the room was still a disaster! I called guest services - this time somebody answered and I told them our room needed to be cleaned immediately. We left the room and I came back at 5pm to start getting ready for dinner reservations .....the room hadn't been touched! I called guest services AGAIN and explained this was the second call for the day and fresh towels were needed immediately. 30 minutes later my friends were coming up from the beach and we all decided to simply meet at the front desk as phone calls for immediate service were being ignored. We were told by a manager that towels were coming and to stop by before our dinner for a complimentary drink (not certain how this would be possible as we were going to be ridiculously late for our dinner reservation), but ultimately solved the problem by finding a housekeeper on our floor and having them get us towels. Later that night after dinner we asked that the complimentary drinks be brought to our room - even that was a hassle! I haven't seen the bill yet so not certain if they were even complimentary or not.

Stylish hotel, but when combined with poor service and loud and small rooms....not worth the price ....this hotel is struggling to get the bare bone basics right! I'll have to check out Loews next door the next time I am in town - was at a brunch there and the service was impeccable.

Room Tip: If you do stay here - be certain to get a room that does not have the ability to be an adjoining roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick H, General Manager at The James Royal Palm, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
CoalMine_Canary-

Thank you for your detailed account of your experience at The James Royal Palm. I am terribly sorry that we failed to deliver the basics, much less that extras that are the cornerstone of our brand.

We will reach out to you offline to get more details so we can learn more and take immediate action to better serve our guests.

Best,
Patrick Hatton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

So is The James expensive? Yes but all of south beach is. If you base it on that premise, then the James is well worth the price. It's in great location, the service is great, loved hanging by the heated pool and the rooms, while not large, were good for a couple of night's stay. All in all I would return.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick H, General Manager at The James Royal Palm, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
MsNy-

Thank you for the great review of the James Royal Palm! I'm glad that you enjoyed your breif stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best,

Patrick Hatton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The James Royal Palm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The James Royal Palm

Address: 1545 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139‎
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The James Royal Palm 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featured as one of Conde Nast Traveler UK & US Magazine's "Hot Hotels of 2013" and now a AAA Four Diamond rated beachfront retreat, The James Royal Palm is The James brand's third location and first hotel in Florida. Joining sister properties in Chicago and New York City, the ideally situated, oceanfront hotel offers a total of 393 guest rooms, including studios and suites, with the majority offering ocean views. A combination of personalized comfort, generous complimentary amenities, residentially styled, artistically-inspired details and impeccable service, create an environment ideal for both business and leisure travelers. Just steps away from the beach and world famous Ocean Drive and Collins Avenue, the oceanfront beach retreat is located within the coveted and culturally-rich area of South Beach. The James Royal Palm provides guests with a location immersed in luxury retail, endless entertainment and an unmatched shopping experience.Designed by Lauren Rottet of Rottet Studio, The James Royal Palm is as a modern tribute to the original Royal Palm Hotel's rich history, keeping intact many signature elements of the original architect's design. The compass rose on the terrazzo lobby floor, original green glass reception desk and porthole windows in the lobby lounge have all been preserved and restored.The James Royal Palm features two swimming pools, a plunge pool, poolside bar, The James Pool and Beach Experience, lobby lounge, coffee bar, renew the spa, a full-service spa with salt-infused treatments, lil' james Offerings and Play Space for children, give: the shop, a retail shop offering carefully curated items, and more than 10,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor meeting and event space. Guests can enjoy dining options including signature restaurant Florida Cookery; featuring regional Florida fare. A daily beach retreat charge includes: The James Beach and Pool Experience with Sun Concierge, children's play area, two beach chaise loungers and umbrella, poolside loungers, towel service, 24-hour gym, Lil' James play space access, and local & domestic long distance calls. The James offers complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the hotel, triple-distilled water refreshed twice daily and access to bicycles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Otel, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The James Royal Palm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The James Royal Palm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.