We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The James Royal Palm

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The James Royal Palm to your Saves list
The James Royal Palm
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1545 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139‎   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$200 daily hotel credit
Ranked #34 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
San Francisco
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Good Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Overall we had a very pleasant stay at this hotel for 3 nights. Paid $50.00 per night at the time of checking to upgrade to full ocean view from partial and it is ok. Only half the wall facing the ocean is window so there is more to be desired but nice views nevertheless. Very clean and staff were very friendly

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick H, General Manager at The James Royal Palm, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
SFShawn

Thank you for your kind review about The James Royal Palm. I appreciate the positive feedback re: housekeeping and our friendly team. While we too which the hotel was originally built with windows the full width of the room, I hope you were able to enjoy a little time on the Ocean front balcony in your room.

Hope to see you again soon.

Patrick Hatton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    782
    415
    144
    69
    42
See reviews for
268
572
60
164
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paducah, KY
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
106 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
216 helpful votes 216 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Had a wonderful one-night stay at the James Royal Palm. Service is definitely 5 star! Melody at the Front Desk went out of her way to check us in early and gave us a choice of several different rooms. She even showed them all to us! Ended up with a great oceanview room on the 14th floor. All this and I got the room on Hotwire! The location was wonderful.
Even saw Owen Wilson in the exercise room and walking around the property. The bell staff were great as well. We didn't want for anything.
Only one little hiccup and that was early the next morning. Had the "Do Not Disturb" sign on our door but a member of housekeeping knocked asking if we called for more towels. We did not. Also, across the hall was a family who left their two little boys in the room by themselves as they went out clubbing. They were crying saying, Don't go, Mommy." The next morning, the same little boys decided to race up and down the 14th-floor hallway with their dad. All were yelling and screaming. Was going to call down to the front desk but by the time I decided to, they left. A big plus at the James Royal Palm is the checkout time is 2 p.m.
Would love to return and stay longer.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick H, General Manager at The James Royal Palm, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
jdvmd-

Wonderful review from the TA Top Contributor!

So happy to hear that Melody took good care of you! She's the best.

Look forward to welcoming you back for a much longer stay!

Best,

Patrick Hatton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful
Location great
Rooms so nice
1745 is a corner top suite
Direct ocean view
Very clean and boutique like
Some families with kids
Quieter than most south beach hotels which is a nice change
Was 2-3 blocks away from Lincoln rd and the SLS

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick H, General Manager at The James Royal Palm, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Rupesh D-

Excellent review! Thank you.

See you again soon.

Patrick Hatton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

I've been staying at this hotel since 2008 ( this was my 9th time) and while I've always been satisfied, this time I was in heaven. Through all the renovations I remained a loyal customer, partly because you can't beat the location but more so because the staff is awesome. I love all the upgrades, they really make you feel like you're at a 5 star resort. The new look is clean and sophisticated, there are more than enough food options and the wait time was more than reasonable, even room service was quick ( they said 30 min. but I received my food in 15). Beach service was great, bathroom amenities were top of the line. From the moment you enter this hotel expect nothing but the best, because that's what you'll get. While I could go on and on about all the upgrades and the wonderful new look, I would be selling this place short if I didn't mention the one thing they didn't change - THE STAFF. These people are truly the best, they're happy to help and it shows. One in particular, LaKeshia Reyes, if you're lucky enough to have her handle your stay consider your self "TAKEN CARE OF" from start to finish, she'll make sure you're more than pleased. If you're a new comer to South Beach, this is the perfect place to stay, it's walking distance to EVERYTHING and you can't beat the views. If you're a regular like me- then you already know- THE JAMES ROYAL PALM is the place to be.

Room Tip: Even numbers in the ShoreCrest Tower have the best city views- odd numbers are full/partial ocean vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick H, General Manager at The James Royal Palm, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
M Hayes MD/Wash DC-

Thank you for your loyalty and wonderful review. Great to hear that LaKeshia took care of you was well as she takes care of all of our guests. She truly treats everyone as if they are the only guest in the resort!

Can't wait to welcome you back for your 10th, 11th, 12th, 13th........stay(s)

Best,

Patrick Hatton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

My room would be called a mini suite in Europe. Kitchenette area, lounge area with 42" hd tv, bedroom area, another tv, bathroom with a walk in shower that was the size of our third bedroom. It was spotlessly clean and was kept that way.

Everything conceivable was supplied and it all worked beautifully including very fast internet connection. The bed was very comfortable and the air con silent. The hotel has been refurbed to a high standard and the staff are well trained.

Two gripes - a $19 per day 'retreat fee', when I queried this I was told it was for use of the external facilities including a guaranteed beach lounger. When I pointed out that I hadn't done any 'retreating' I was informed that this is not an option extra. This charge should, therefore,be added to the room rate otherwise it is plain deceitful. Secondly once you leave your room the
musak is unavoidable. It is so loud that reading anywhere except in your room, including the outdoor areas, is impossible.

Just thought of a third! Breafast coffee in polystyrene mugs.

A very good hotel that with a bit of tweaking could be a great hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick H, General Manager at The James Royal Palm, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
CorLimey-

Appreciate the great feedback regarding your stay. Perhaps we could have done a better job explaining our daily retreat fee. While this does indeed include lounge chairs and umbrellas on the or by the pool (including James welcome basket w/ fruit and water), it also includes a host of complimentary services including turndown service, use of our business lounge including 3 iMacs, a selection of newspapers, local calls and 24/7 gym. All this on top of our standard brand offerings including complimentary WiFi (ave daily cost of $14.95 in South Beach) and complimentary triple distilled water replaced twice daily in your room.

While you were unable to enjoy the beach, I hope you enjoyed the other complimentary inclusions and didn't feel nickeled and dimed during your stay.

Will check on music levels. We intend for it to be in the background, not the star of the show.

Look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best-
Patrick Hatton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

The James hosted a professional summit, and so I spent two days locked in meetings staring longingly at the ocean during breaks. No swims, no workouts, no spa treatments or late night drinks for working stiffs. But the staff and hotel experience more than made up for it. The staff was extremely attentive and accommodating. One valet thought to bring me a glass of water while I waited for a taxi. Buffet breakfasts and lunch on the patios gave us a chance to feel the sun on our faces and smell salt air. The original art was a nice touch in this arts-mad city.

My room had a view of the sea and the neon lights of the Art Deco district below came alive at night. The room itself was quiet and beautifully appointed with contemporary artworks, a warm palette, and a deliciously comfy bed. The bathroom was elegant and roomy with a window in the shower. I noticed a step stool tucked under the sink which is a sweet idea for shorter guests and children who would have to reach to turn the fawcetts.

I was so disappointed not to get outside to experience more of the area, but did have two fine meals within walking distance. Okay, I did run out to the beach one morning for 15 minutes and put my feet in the water. I also found seashells as keepsakes.

I'd love to return with some friends and explore with the James as our delightful home base.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick H, General Manager at The James Royal Palm, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
NYCBookMark-

A beautiful review! Thank you for your thoughtful feedback and we can't wait to you you and your friends back. We would be honored to be your home base!

Best,

Patrick Hatton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

It's a great hotel as long as you are within the hotel , the minute you are outside of the hotel, things got from bad to worse.. It was a very hot day on the beach so we were trying to flag down our waitress to get something to drink .. From 10:45am we kept getting the same answer "will be right with u" !! Till its way past 2:30pm we just gavd up and went inside the hotel to get it ourselves ..(btw, just a note: that only applied to the female servers on the beach..unfortunately we had a female serving our aisle !!!)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick H, General Manager at The James Royal Palm, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
jsclrph-

Thank you for your kind words about your experience within the hotel. I apologize for your experience on the beach. I am shocked as our Beach Assistants carry the highest scores on our Customer Service metrix. Obvioulsy, we slipped up on the say you spent with us and I am sorry. Will certainly review with the team.

I am hopeful that you will stay with us again and look forward to next review raving about our beach team.

Patrick Hatton
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The James Royal Palm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The James Royal Palm

Address: 1545 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139‎
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The James Royal Palm 4.5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featured as one of Conde Nast Traveler UK & US Magazine's "Hot Hotels of 2013" and now a AAA Four Diamond rated beachfront retreat, The James Royal Palm is The James brand's third location and first hotel in Florida. Joining sister properties in Chicago and New York City, the ideally situated, oceanfront hotel offers a total of 393 guest rooms, including studios and suites, with the majority offering ocean views. A combination of personalized comfort, generous complimentary amenities, residentially styled, artistically-inspired details and impeccable service, create an environment ideal for both business and leisure travelers. Just steps away from the beach and world famous Ocean Drive and Collins Avenue, the oceanfront beach retreat is located within the coveted and culturally-rich area of South Beach. The James Royal Palm provides guests with a location immersed in luxury retail, endless entertainment and an unmatched shopping experience.Designed by Lauren Rottet of Rottet Studio, The James Royal Palm is as a modern tribute to the original Royal Palm Hotel's rich history, keeping intact many signature elements of the original architect's design. The compass rose on the terrazzo lobby floor, original green glass reception desk and porthole windows in the lobby lounge have all been preserved and restored.The James Royal Palm features two swimming pools, a plunge pool, poolside bar, The James Pool and Beach Experience, lobby lounge, coffee bar, renew the spa, a full-service spa with salt-infused treatments, lil' james Offerings and Play Space for children, give: the shop, a retail shop offering carefully curated items, and more than 10,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor meeting and event space. Guests can enjoy dining options including signature restaurant Florida Cookery; featuring regional Florida fare. A daily beach retreat charge includes: The James Beach and Pool Experience with Sun Concierge, children's play area, two beach chaise loungers and umbrella, poolside loungers, towel service, 24-hour gym, Lil' James play space access, and local & domestic long distance calls. The James offers complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the hotel, triple-distilled water refreshed twice daily and access to bicycles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Venere, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The James Royal Palm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The James Royal Palm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.