We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Gracious James Royal Palm Treats You Like Royalty” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort to your Saves list
Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1545 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139‎ (Formerly The James Royal Palm) (City Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #63 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
NYC
Level Contributor
56 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“The Gracious James Royal Palm Treats You Like Royalty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

The James hosted a professional summit, and so I spent two days locked in meetings staring longingly at the ocean during breaks. No swims, no workouts, no spa treatments or late night drinks for working stiffs. But the staff and hotel experience more than made up for it. The staff was extremely attentive and accommodating. One valet thought to bring me a glass of water while I waited for a taxi. Buffet breakfasts and lunch on the patios gave us a chance to feel the sun on our faces and smell salt air. The original art was a nice touch in this arts-mad city.

My room had a view of the sea and the neon lights of the Art Deco district below came alive at night. The room itself was quiet and beautifully appointed with contemporary artworks, a warm palette, and a deliciously comfy bed. The bathroom was elegant and roomy with a window in the shower. I noticed a step stool tucked under the sink which is a sweet idea for shorter guests and children who would have to reach to turn the fawcetts.

I was so disappointed not to get outside to experience more of the area, but did have two fine meals within walking distance. Okay, I did run out to the beach one morning for 15 minutes and put my feet in the water. I also found seashells as keepsakes.

I'd love to return with some friends and explore with the James as our delightful home base.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick H, General Manager at Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
NYCBookMark-

A beautiful review! Thank you for your thoughtful feedback and we can't wait to you you and your friends back. We would be honored to be your home base!

Best,

Patrick Hatton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,900 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    922
    549
    234
    117
    78
See reviews for
375
746
73
207
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

It's a great hotel as long as you are within the hotel , the minute you are outside of the hotel, things got from bad to worse.. It was a very hot day on the beach so we were trying to flag down our waitress to get something to drink .. From 10:45am we kept getting the same answer "will be right with u" !! Till its way past 2:30pm we just gavd up and went inside the hotel to get it ourselves ..(btw, just a note: that only applied to the female servers on the beach..unfortunately we had a female serving our aisle !!!)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick H, General Manager at Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
jsclrph-

Thank you for your kind words about your experience within the hotel. I apologize for your experience on the beach. I am shocked as our Beach Assistants carry the highest scores on our Customer Service metrix. Obvioulsy, we slipped up on the say you spent with us and I am sorry. Will certainly review with the team.

I am hopeful that you will stay with us again and look forward to next review raving about our beach team.

Patrick Hatton
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

if you want to be pampered, then you need to stay at the James hotel. the views are awesome, the staff wants to help, and the location is perfect.

we had a great time and plan to visit again.

they even helped us find a rental car so we could drive to the keys for a few days.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick H, General Manager at Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
jricephoto-

Thank you for the kind review. Happy you're leaving feeling pampered! Enjoy the Keys and see you next time!

Best-
Patrick Hatton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Very pleased with the new James Royal Palm! My husband and I have been coming to Miami for the last 10 years and have stayed several times at the Royal Palm, the Lowes, and the Ritz and I must say we were both very impressed with the New, High Quality, Excellent Service and all around face-lift of the Royal Palm! The hotel has come a long way. We experienced great customer service, with extra kudos going out to Michael-who was very attentive to my family(we traveled with our two young children) and he made sure they had all the beach toys they needed and Maximillian(Max). Very courteous and attentive. One small flaw we did experience was with the evening turn down service, but we understand that they are still working out the kinks, so hopefully this service will improve! We look forward to returning next year and my children cant wait to experience the Little James Playroom(it wasn't quite ready at the time of our visit). Oh, and the Florida Cookery morning buffet could stand to improve a wee-bit as well. The Lowes breakfast buffet has them beat-take note! Definitely worth checking out!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick H, General Manager at Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Bdubsmom-

Thank you for the nod of approval on the upgrade of our facility and team! I appreciate the review and the feedback! Sorry that Lil' James wasn't quite ready. The space, featuring orignal "reading nook" designed by the Miami Children's Museum is very cool. Will definitely check out the competition's buffet too.

Max and Michael are amazing. They'll appreciate the shout out!

Hope to see you back next year, if not sooner!

Best,

Patrick Hatton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Amazing! My friends & I went for the weekend & it could not have been better. It was everything we were looking for & more. The service was wonderful - everyone we encountered were so nice & helpful. The location was perfect & the rooms were so comfortable & the views unbelievable! A perfect getaway!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick H, General Manager at Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
hilary r

Happy to hear of your "perfect getaway!

Thanks for sharing with the TA nation and see you again soon!

Best,

Patrick Hatton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Room was big with great view of Sunrise. SPA type shower plenty of hot water Mattress tempurpedic with pillow top (Perfect). Well organized Business center. Room service right on time. Lobby and courtyard are gorgeous with wonderful architecture. Will stay here again if ever in South Beach again. Windows open all the way.

Room Tip: Room 814 had no price upgrade and good view of Sunrise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick H, General Manager at Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Greg-

Thank you for the wonderful review. Always great to hear from a TA Senior Contributor.

Hope you make it back soon!

Best,

Patrick Hatton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

What a find! The James (Royal Palms) is newly renovated in a cool art deco style. It is a good size hotel with great amenities but has the amazing feel of a boutique. The location could not be better, just 2 blocks from Lincoln Road. The staff were really nice, attentive and truly accommodating in every way. I would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort

Address: 1545 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139‎ (Formerly The James Royal Palm)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Palm South Beach Miami boasts an enviable location on Collins Avenue, just north of the iconic Ocean Drive at 15th Street. With direct access to the beach and boardwalk, the resort is near the most appealing attractions of vibrant South Beach. The resort comprises a wealth of refined facilities, including a pampering spa and a pool encircled by cabanas. Dining venues serve authentic plates and cocktails in a relaxing ambience. Some 10,000 square feet of space is available for enchanting events. With iconic ocean or city views, guest rooms and suites house environmentally-friendly amenities and stylish areas for business and leisure. Poolside Suites are distinguished by their expansive outdoor terraces and proximity to the beach and pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Groupon, Otel, Booking.com, Starwood, Travelocity, Venere, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Odigeo, EasyToBook, Agoda, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.