We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ahhhh- what a view!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The James Royal Palm

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The James Royal Palm to your Saves list
The James Royal Palm
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1545 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139‎   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
35% off Suites
Ranked #38 of 201 Hotels in Miami Beach
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“ahhhh- what a view!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

if you want to be pampered, then you need to stay at the James hotel. the views are awesome, the staff wants to help, and the location is perfect.

we had a great time and plan to visit again.

they even helped us find a rental car so we could drive to the keys for a few days.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick H, General Manager at The James Royal Palm, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
jricephoto-

Thank you for the kind review. Happy you're leaving feeling pampered! Enjoy the Keys and see you next time!

Best-
Patrick Hatton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    650
    360
    136
    63
    39
See reviews for
233
504
52
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (249)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Very pleased with the new James Royal Palm! My husband and I have been coming to Miami for the last 10 years and have stayed several times at the Royal Palm, the Lowes, and the Ritz and I must say we were both very impressed with the New, High Quality, Excellent Service and all around face-lift of the Royal Palm! The hotel has come a long way. We experienced great customer service, with extra kudos going out to Michael-who was very attentive to my family(we traveled with our two young children) and he made sure they had all the beach toys they needed and Maximillian(Max). Very courteous and attentive. One small flaw we did experience was with the evening turn down service, but we understand that they are still working out the kinks, so hopefully this service will improve! We look forward to returning next year and my children cant wait to experience the Little James Playroom(it wasn't quite ready at the time of our visit). Oh, and the Florida Cookery morning buffet could stand to improve a wee-bit as well. The Lowes breakfast buffet has them beat-take note! Definitely worth checking out!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick H, General Manager at The James Royal Palm, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Bdubsmom-

Thank you for the nod of approval on the upgrade of our facility and team! I appreciate the review and the feedback! Sorry that Lil' James wasn't quite ready. The space, featuring orignal "reading nook" designed by the Miami Children's Museum is very cool. Will definitely check out the competition's buffet too.

Max and Michael are amazing. They'll appreciate the shout out!

Hope to see you back next year, if not sooner!

Best,

Patrick Hatton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Amazing! My friends & I went for the weekend & it could not have been better. It was everything we were looking for & more. The service was wonderful - everyone we encountered were so nice & helpful. The location was perfect & the rooms were so comfortable & the views unbelievable! A perfect getaway!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick H, General Manager at The James Royal Palm, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
hilary r

Happy to hear of your "perfect getaway!

Thanks for sharing with the TA nation and see you again soon!

Best,

Patrick Hatton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Room was big with great view of Sunrise. SPA type shower plenty of hot water Mattress tempurpedic with pillow top (Perfect). Well organized Business center. Room service right on time. Lobby and courtyard are gorgeous with wonderful architecture. Will stay here again if ever in South Beach again. Windows open all the way.

Room Tip: Room 814 had no price upgrade and good view of Sunrise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick H, General Manager at The James Royal Palm, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Greg-

Thank you for the wonderful review. Always great to hear from a TA Senior Contributor.

Hope you make it back soon!

Best,

Patrick Hatton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

What a find! The James (Royal Palms) is newly renovated in a cool art deco style. It is a good size hotel with great amenities but has the amazing feel of a boutique. The location could not be better, just 2 blocks from Lincoln Road. The staff were really nice, attentive and truly accommodating in every way. I would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I decided to try the James Royal Palm because I frequently stay at the James in New York. I found the same friendly professional staff in Miami and a great new hotel. The Royal Palm has been completely remade. They kept the terrazzo floors and deco feel and added a a twist on mid century furnishings that is brilliant. One of the best fitness centers I have found in a hotel that is private to hotel guests and a pool that seems to fit the hotel's size a well.
The rooms had plenty of space and the linens and pillows super cozy.

Room Tip: Make sure you try the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick H, General Manager at The James Royal Palm, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Bill D

Thank you for the delightful review and for your loyalty to The James brand. (Thanks for the review of Florida Cookery too!)

Appreciate the shout out about the staff. James Chicago and James NY set the bar high on the friendliness scale, so we are working hard to insure the James guests have the same friendly, genuine experience no matter where they land!

See you again soon!

Patrick Hatton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
136 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
473 helpful votes 473 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Mixed - nice pool, nice beach, doormen seem genuinely eager to serve, as do housekeppers.
Service in the Florida restaurant is appalling. We have the US$77 with required tip buffet breakfast for two (cheap offerings, do not expect anything grand - limited fruit, a couple of pastries, get your own coffee, get your own juice, runny scrambled eggs) and the sole service we got was "what is your room #" and we were handed the check to sign. No "good morning", no clearing of dirty plates. We had a spa appointment at 9 am and the spa opened at 9 am exactly, not five minutes earlier as would normally be the case so that you can ease into the massage. The room we have is too funky for words. The odd glass bubble hanging lamp is low hanging and you hit your head. To open the closet door, you have to roll up the area rug as the door cannot be opened with the rug in place. OK bathroom, mini bar clearly meant for a drunk. Free Internet is good.

My view is when I go to a hotel, I want a hotel, I want service, the staff are not my friends. This hotel is run by drop outs from some beachside hotel management school.

Restaurant is popular as is club so expect a crowd in front of the hotel as late as 6 am.

Never on business for this place.

Room Tip: stay away from the music - there are three buildings. The lynnais building is like a motel but seem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick H, General Manager at The James Royal Palm, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Happy_on_the_road-

Thank you for your detailed feedback. I will reach out to you offline to get some additional information in order to follow up with the right people and in the right room.

We have already made significant upgrades to the Breakfast Buffet based on customer feedback such as yours and will continue to listen and adjust.

In regard to our pantry offerings, we do offer 375ml bottles as well as airline bottles in effort to accommodate both short and long term guests.

I am sorry to hear about your service experience in the restaurant and rushed start for your spa experience.

Thank you again for the feedback.

Best,

Patrick Hatton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The James Royal Palm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The James Royal Palm

Address: 1545 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139‎
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 201 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The James Royal Palm 4.5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featured as one of Conde Nast Traveler UK & US Magazine's "Hot Hotels of 2013" and now a AAA Four Diamond rated beachfront retreat, The James Royal Palm is The James brand's third location and first hotel in Florida. Joining sister properties in Chicago and New York City, the ideally situated, oceanfront hotel offers a total of 393 guest rooms, including studios and suites, with the majority offering ocean views. A combination of personalized comfort, generous complimentary amenities, residentially styled, artistically-inspired details and impeccable service, create an environment ideal for both business and leisure travelers. Just steps away from the beach and world famous Ocean Drive and Collins Avenue, the oceanfront beach retreat is located within the coveted and culturally-rich area of South Beach. The James Royal Palm provides guests with a location immersed in luxury retail, endless entertainment and an unmatched shopping experience.Designed by Lauren Rottet of Rottet Studio, The James Royal Palm is as a modern tribute to the original Royal Palm Hotel's rich history, keeping intact many signature elements of the original architect's design. The compass rose on the terrazzo lobby floor, original green glass reception desk and porthole windows in the lobby lounge have all been preserved and restored.The James Royal Palm features two swimming pools, a plunge pool, poolside bar, The James Pool and Beach Experience, lobby lounge, coffee bar, renew the spa, a full-service spa with salt-infused treatments, lil' james Offerings and Play Space for children, give: the shop, a retail shop offering carefully curated items, and more than 10,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor meeting and event space. Guests can enjoy dining options including signature restaurant Florida Cookery; featuring regional Florida fare. A daily beach retreat charge includes: The James Beach and Pool Experience with Sun Concierge, children's play area, two beach chaise loungers and umbrella, poolside loungers, towel service, 24-hour gym, Lil' James play space access, and local & domestic long distance calls. The James offers complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the hotel, triple-distilled water refreshed twice daily and access to bicycles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Otel, MrandMrsSmith, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The James Royal Palm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The James Royal Palm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.