We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“South Beach Beauty” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The James Royal Palm

Save Saved
You added The James Royal Palm to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The James Royal Palm
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1545 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139‎   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
$25 Daily Hotel Credit
Ranked #39 of 197 hotels in Miami Beach
Lititz, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“South Beach Beauty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Excellent, friendly service made this South Beach Hotel stay wonderful. Welcoming efficient front desk and Bellman staff. Excellent location along beach walk. Concierge staff very helpful. Room decor inviting and comfortable. Will revisit in the future.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

848 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    431
    242
    99
    47
    29
See reviews for
146
346
32
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (178)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Beautiful hotel, nice big hotel room, beautiful beach and pool area. However, the restaurant and staff are inexperienced and it seems there is not good management to oversee them. GM is very nice and working very hard to ensure everything is moving forward. They might need a F&B director to oversee wait staff; they have a beautiful restaurant but there is usually no one there. Concierge staff were good but one of them misguided me and I ended up having a bad last night there. The turn down service keeps knocking on my door to check on me even when I have locked the door and did not want to get disturbed.
The hotel is very new and is getting there. I will stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for upgraded room with view in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I was coming from a 1-week cruise of the Caribbean when I decided I wanted to stay in SoBe. I had been there this past September only to have huge disappointment at the Dream hotel. So instead, I opted to try something a bit more expensive - but it was worth every penny.

From the moment we arrived to the hotel the service was excellent. Multiple staff greeted our taxi and helped us out with our luggage. Upon walking into the front entrance, the hotel was very clean and fresh (and you could see the improvements from the recent renovation). The staff at the front desk were very polite and helped to get us checked-in in no-time.

After that we went upon with one of the guys from downstairs, who was helping with baggage, to our guestroom. Although this was the "average" room of the hotel, when walking in it was anything but. The room was bright, fresh and crisp.

Plus:
- Great Location
- Beautiful Hotel
- Amazing Pool Area
- Great Food
- Friendly Staff
- LUXRY ! ! !

Negative:
- Club at night on the weekend made it busy/noisy, especially for lower floors
- Service was slow at pool bar/restaurant, but worth the wait

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caracas, Venezuela
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

The James has a great location, close to the lincoln road, ocean drive, just in front of the beach on the collins avenue.

The building has just been refurbished, so is like a brand new hotel. The rooms have a good view and a small balcony that you can use to smoke or relax with the view, but when I say small, is because it is really small, you can not seat on it.

The bath room is ok, no bath tub, but good shower.

The bed is really comfortable, and you have a table for two, smart tv, coofe machine and a frigobar.

They have two swimming pools, a smaller one in the second floor and a bigger one in the first floor in front of the beach, altought you can not see the ocean from the bigger one, because of the threes...

The best part of the hotel for me were the beach. They have two bangalos to take your orders and make you sun beds for spending the day. Great !

The worst part is the valet parking, it costs $40, that is ok, I believe is the price in south beach, but it takes like 30min to them to get your car, and when they do not have more room for your car in the building next to the hotel they take it to another place in the surroundings.

The overall experience was very good and I recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed here for one night with little advance planning. Fabulous decor and wonderful location. Our guest room was small, but the cool decor made it so unique. We also found it very quiet which we were not expecting as the hotel is so close to nightlife. I cannot comment on the service as we were not there long enough to enjoy any of the hotel amenities. However, those we encountered (front desk and valet) were wonderful. In terms of location, we were able to stoll out the front of the hotel one block down to Lincoln Road which is full of cafes, shops and activity. Such fun. In the other direction, less than a block away, is a lovely stroll down Ocean Drive to enjoy the beach, the architecture, people, hotels and sidewalk cafes. We had a wonderful experience at the James Royal Palm.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We travel a lot and stay in some of the worlds best hotels. I would like to rank this operation right up there. Every member of staff that we have came in contact with were amazing, from door guy to the restaurant managers everyone seems so nice and happy to be at work…. Which is a big credit to the management.

We will defiantly be going back and recommending the hotel to all our friends, family and colleagues.

Great service
Great staff
Great value
Great rooms
Great beds

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

We got a great deal on this hotel through the citi credit card rewards program, and were very pleasantly surprised. Beautiful property, with modern sleek furnishings. The service was incredible - from being greeted at the entrance to being provided with beach chairs, umbrellas and towels. We really felt pampered. The location was really great - situated at the end of ocean drive, and 3 blocks away from espaniola way.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The James Royal Palm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The James Royal Palm

Address: 1545 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139‎
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 197 hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The James Royal Palm 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featured as one of Conde Nast Traveler UK & US Magazine’s “Hot Hotels of 2013” and now a AAA Four Diamond rated beachfront retreat, The James Royal Palm is The James brand’s third location and first hotel in Florida. Joining sister properties in Chicago and New York City, the ideally situated, oceanfront hotel offers a total of 393 guest rooms, including studios and suites, with the majority offering ocean views. A combination of personalized comfort, generous complimentary amenities, residentially styled, artistically-inspired details and impeccable service, create an environment ideal for both business and leisure travelers. Just steps away from the beach and world famous Ocean Drive and Collins Avenue, the oceanfront beach retreat is located within the coveted and culturally-rich area of South Beach. The James Royal Palm provides guests with a location immersed in luxury retail, endless entertainment and an unmatched shopping experience.Designed by Lauren Rottet of Rottet Studio, The James Royal Palm is as a modern tribute to the original Royal Palm Hotel’s rich history, keeping intact many signature elements of the original architect’s design. The compass rose on the terrazzo lobby floor, original green glass reception desk and porthole windows in the lobby lounge have all been preserved and restored.The James Royal Palm features two swimming pools, a plunge pool, poolside bar, The James Pool and Beach Experience, lobby lounge, coffee bar, renew the spa, a full-service spa with salt-infused treatments, lil’ james Offerings and Play Space for children, give: the shop, a retail shop offering carefully curated items, and more than 10,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor meeting and event space. Guests can enjoy two dining options including signature restaurant Florida Cookery; featuring regional Florida fare and Catch Miami; a globally influenced seafood restaurant.A daily beach retreat charge includes: The James Beach and Pool Experience with Sun Concierge, children’s play area, two beach chaise loungers and umbrella, poolside loungers, towel service, 24-hour gym, Lil’ James play space access, and local & domestic long distance calls. The James offers complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the hotel, triple-distilled water refreshed twice daily and access to bicycles. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Cheap Tickets, Tablet Hotels, Splendia, Otel, Tingo, MrandMrsSmith, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your The James Royal Palm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The James Royal Palm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.