We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort to your Saves list
Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1545 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139‎ (Formerly The James Royal Palm) (City Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #70 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Lititz, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“South Beach Beauty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Excellent, friendly service made this South Beach Hotel stay wonderful. Welcoming efficient front desk and Bellman staff. Excellent location along beach walk. Concierge staff very helpful. Room decor inviting and comfortable. Will revisit in the future.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,062 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    970
    602
    261
    131
    98
See reviews for
430
790
83
217
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Beautiful hotel, nice big hotel room, beautiful beach and pool area. However, the restaurant and staff are inexperienced and it seems there is not good management to oversee them. GM is very nice and working very hard to ensure everything is moving forward. They might need a F&B director to oversee wait staff; they have a beautiful restaurant but there is usually no one there. Concierge staff were good but one of them misguided me and I ended up having a bad last night there. The turn down service keeps knocking on my door to check on me even when I have locked the door and did not want to get disturbed.
The hotel is very new and is getting there. I will stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for upgraded room with view in the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I was coming from a 1-week cruise of the Caribbean when I decided I wanted to stay in SoBe. I had been there this past September only to have huge disappointment at the Dream hotel. So instead, I opted to try something a bit more expensive - but it was worth every penny.

From the moment we arrived to the hotel the service was excellent. Multiple staff greeted our taxi and helped us out with our luggage. Upon walking into the front entrance, the hotel was very clean and fresh (and you could see the improvements from the recent renovation). The staff at the front desk were very polite and helped to get us checked-in in no-time.

After that we went upon with one of the guys from downstairs, who was helping with baggage, to our guestroom. Although this was the "average" room of the hotel, when walking in it was anything but. The room was bright, fresh and crisp.

Plus:
- Great Location
- Beautiful Hotel
- Amazing Pool Area
- Great Food
- Friendly Staff
- LUXRY ! ! !

Negative:
- Club at night on the weekend made it busy/noisy, especially for lower floors
- Service was slow at pool bar/restaurant, but worth the wait

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caracas, Venezuela
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

The James has a great location, close to the lincoln road, ocean drive, just in front of the beach on the collins avenue.

The building has just been refurbished, so is like a brand new hotel. The rooms have a good view and a small balcony that you can use to smoke or relax with the view, but when I say small, is because it is really small, you can not seat on it.

The bath room is ok, no bath tub, but good shower.

The bed is really comfortable, and you have a table for two, smart tv, coofe machine and a frigobar.

They have two swimming pools, a smaller one in the second floor and a bigger one in the first floor in front of the beach, altought you can not see the ocean from the bigger one, because of the threes...

The best part of the hotel for me were the beach. They have two bangalos to take your orders and make you sun beds for spending the day. Great !

The worst part is the valet parking, it costs $40, that is ok, I believe is the price in south beach, but it takes like 30min to them to get your car, and when they do not have more room for your car in the building next to the hotel they take it to another place in the surroundings.

The overall experience was very good and I recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed here for one night with little advance planning. Fabulous decor and wonderful location. Our guest room was small, but the cool decor made it so unique. We also found it very quiet which we were not expecting as the hotel is so close to nightlife. I cannot comment on the service as we were not there long enough to enjoy any of the hotel amenities. However, those we encountered (front desk and valet) were wonderful. In terms of location, we were able to stoll out the front of the hotel one block down to Lincoln Road which is full of cafes, shops and activity. Such fun. In the other direction, less than a block away, is a lovely stroll down Ocean Drive to enjoy the beach, the architecture, people, hotels and sidewalk cafes. We had a wonderful experience at the James Royal Palm.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We travel a lot and stay in some of the worlds best hotels. I would like to rank this operation right up there. Every member of staff that we have came in contact with were amazing, from door guy to the restaurant managers everyone seems so nice and happy to be at work…. Which is a big credit to the management.

We will defiantly be going back and recommending the hotel to all our friends, family and colleagues.

Great service
Great staff
Great value
Great rooms
Great beds

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We got a great deal on this hotel through the citi credit card rewards program, and were very pleasantly surprised. Beautiful property, with modern sleek furnishings. The service was incredible - from being greeted at the entrance to being provided with beach chairs, umbrellas and towels. We really felt pampered. The location was really great - situated at the end of ocean drive, and 3 blocks away from espaniola way.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#40 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 4,412 reviews
0.3 mi away
Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel
1.7 mi away
Thompson Miami Beach
Thompson Miami Beach
#3 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#11 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,418 reviews
0.5 mi away
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
#47 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,207 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Palms Hotel & Spa
The Palms Hotel & Spa
#56 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort

Address: 1545 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139‎ (Formerly The James Royal Palm)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Palm South Beach Miami boasts an enviable location on Collins Avenue, just north of the iconic Ocean Drive at 15th Street. With direct access to the beach and boardwalk, the resort is near the most appealing attractions of vibrant South Beach. The resort comprises a wealth of refined facilities, including a pampering spa and a pool encircled by cabanas. Dining venues serve authentic plates and cocktails in a relaxing ambience. Some 10,000 square feet of space is available for enchanting events. With iconic ocean or city views, guest rooms and suites house environmentally-friendly amenities and stylish areas for business and leisure. Poolside Suites are distinguished by their expansive outdoor terraces and proximity to the beach and pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Starwood, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Splendia, getaroom.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.