We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Stay! Love the The James Brand<3” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort to your Saves list
Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1545 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139‎ (Formerly The James Royal Palm) (City Center)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #69 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Stay! Love the The James Brand<3”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

My husband and I travel a lot and decided to try the James Brand in Miami; completely fell in love. We stayed in an apartment suite (1101) it was spectacular, the views were stunning and most importantly the staff was amazing and attentive to everything!

We loved it and plan on returning again!

Room Tip: Book the apartment suite it is spacious and very comfortable for couples and/or a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick H, General Manager at Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Alexandra3030-

Thank you for your amazing review of the James Royal Palm. I am glad that you and your husband enjoyed the hotel! While not on the ocean, I believe the views of downtown, the cruise ship docks and down ocean drive from the balcony of our 01 rooms is the best in the building.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best,

Patrick Hatton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,045 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    962
    596
    259
    130
    98
See reviews for
426
784
81
215
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (388)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I used to come to SoBe for around 6 years twice a year and stay at this hotel. It definitely was needed renovations, but I was expecting found the same staff. Bartenders and servers used to be excellent (Phil, Ana Maria, Radost, Fabiana, Orlando, Fernando, Yesniel, etc). I found in my last stay awful service. Bartenders no idea what were doing, no nice at all. I feel bad to say that I'm not coming anymore here. I'm sad! I miss my all Royal Palm! Don't waste your money!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We've stayed at many beachfront hotels in the SoBe area and we seriously LOVED the vibe of The James Royal Palm: gorgeous modern-art deco decor with a very inviting feel (not easy to pull off)...super friendly staff, gorgeous remodel from top to bottom, clean & quiet rooms with no detail left out, fabulous pool and beach areas with great service. And did I mention location, wow you are close to EVERYTHING! We stayed 4 nights and this will definitely be our go-to hotel in SoBe from now on!!!

Didn't hit the spa this time so can't say, but I'm sure it's great and look forward to it next time!

A truly wonderful experience!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
90 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We booked a 'King Guestroom' and ended up in a disastrous room.

The room was actually really tiny, you couldn't even properly open two suitcases, and on 5th floor in the East Tower gave a lacklustre view of the entrance parkway instead of promised "City/Bayview". But what made it really disastrous was that when we returned home at 1.30am, our room was a *ç%&ing discotheque with the bass of the club downstairs booming through the walls.

But I have to say - and that's why I still award four points - that they really tried to make up for it. We received an upgrade - and that was what made the stay enjoyable. So I would strongly advise to go for nothing below "Deluxe". Not sure what category we were assigned in the end, but it was bigger, had a table with a little bench, was in the other building, and had partial ocean view.

Room maintenance twice a day, free wifi without any password nonsense, iPod docking station, huge TV, very attentive reception and pool bar/restaurant service, and the excellent beach club with super obliging service and the little box with water and fruit make it way beyond average. And an extra point for check-out at 2pm. Outstanding!

The crowd is mixed with quite a surprising share of families, however has a slight tendency to being boorish, but I guess that's natural in Miami Beach.

Service was extremely courteous. They advised us to park literally around the corner in the public parking ($16) instead of using their valet garage ($49), made us feel very welcome, and as mentioned really went the extra mile to make our stay enjoyable after the initial room disaster. They told me in the meantime that they'll work on the soundproofing, but for the moment I would advise to stay way off lower floors on the East Tower and the 'King Guestrooms' in general.

Could work on the room service as twice items ordered didn't arrive even after 30 minutes so that I eventually rather went down to the reception to pick it up. But maybe they just had a bad day. Not having a sufficient supply of newspaper is actually not acceptable for a hotel of this standard and price.

Ratings below apply to the Deluxe Room with partial ocean view.

Room Tip: Stay clear of lower floors on the East Tower as you'll be kept awake by the noise from the night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick H, General Manager at Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
gsh_1975,

Thank you for the detailed review of your experience with us. I am sorry to hear about the trouble with your initial room and in room dining misses.

I appreciate you calling our a few of our brand standards including comp wifi, 2 pm check out and twice daily maid service.

I am glad to hear that the team worked hard to overcome these issues and still earn a 4 Star rating from you. We are working on better sound proofing for the rooms over our late night lounge including bringing in sound engineers to analyze the settings.

Thank you again for your detailed feedback.

Best,

Patrick Hatton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

stayed here for one night just after new year with my family before we flew home from miami airport.

what a fantastic hotel, amazing location, right on the beach!!!!! amazing staff willing to help at all times!

the rooms arn't big enough for a family of four as we was very squashed but would be amazing for a couple! everything is white, fresh and clean and kept to a very high standard!

hotel facilities are amazing, lovely pool, gym and spa and it is in a excellent location, just step outside and your on a strip of bars, restaurants and shops!

if im ever back in miami i would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick H, General Manager at Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
LLOUDON-

Thank you for the Simply Amazing review of The James Royal Palm!

I appreciate you sharing your experience with our team and the facilities. We hope you come back to Miami soon!

Best,

Patrick Hatton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

My husband and I just got back from 4 nights in Miami Beach at the James RP. Let me start by saying, we strongly disagree with any of the negative reviews about this hotel. Truly, we enjoyed every part of this hotel. The architecture and decor are in keeping with the history of the original hotel with the Miami Beach feel while remaining modern yet environmentally thoughtful. The rooms are bright and well appointed using high end bedding and furnishings. Our panoramic view included the ocean, the Loew's tower, and the city. Our room was always spotlessly clean with fresh distilled water everyday served in a large glass bottle - no plastic here! The lobby is so inviting and hip with interesting artwork everywhere. The pools, restaurant, and bars were great serving delicious food and drinks.....one of the best burgers ever!. The beach service of the hotel on the best part of South Beach was extremely attentive each day bring us complimentary fruit and water. The level of service was excellent in all areas. The vibe of the hotel employees was laid back but very helpful, friendly, and welcoming. Everyone was lovely especially Peter the concierge, who went out of his way to get us great dinner reservations and gave us "in the know" advise on places to go and see. The spa offered excellent massage service with a calming atmsophere especially with the large relaxation deck looking over the swaying palm trees to the beautiful blue ocean. What a place.....an authentic MB experience. We will always return to The James Royal Palms....loved it!

Room Tip: High floor are quiter and have abetter view of ocean and city
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick H, General Manager at Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
3ddesigns-

Wow! Thank you for the great review of your experience at The James RP! I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate you sharing the details of your stay with the Tripadvisor nation. I look forward to sharing your review with the team, especially Peter at the concierge desk.

Look forward to welcoming back soon!

Patrick Hatton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Bayern, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Was with two girlsfriends of mine for 10 days at THE JAMES and it was just great! Everything was perfekt! We had a very nice room with an unbelievable view ... The beach club is the best for me in this area! The staff is super cool, friendly and taugh! The food and the drinks are delicious! You don t need more for the perfekt vacation ...

Room Tip: Take a room with ocean view ... ;-) We loved it !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patrick H, General Manager at Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Melanie S-

No.....Thank YOU! I am glad you loved it and appreciate you calling out our Beach service. We spent a lot of time and energy creating our programming on the Beach and Pool and I'm thrilled to hear that you approve!

See you again soon!

Patrick Hatton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#40 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 4,388 reviews
0.3 mi away
Surfcomber Miami South Beach, a Kimpton Hotel
1.7 mi away
Thompson Miami Beach
Thompson Miami Beach
#3 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#11 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,414 reviews
0.5 mi away
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
#48 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,192 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Palms Hotel & Spa
The Palms Hotel & Spa
#56 of 205 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort

Address: 1545 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139‎ (Formerly The James Royal Palm)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #69 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Palm South Beach Miami boasts an enviable location on Collins Avenue, just north of the iconic Ocean Drive at 15th Street. With direct access to the beach and boardwalk, the resort is near the most appealing attractions of vibrant South Beach. The resort comprises a wealth of refined facilities, including a pampering spa and a pool encircled by cabanas. Dining venues serve authentic plates and cocktails in a relaxing ambience. Some 10,000 square feet of space is available for enchanting events. With iconic ocean or city views, guest rooms and suites house environmentally-friendly amenities and stylish areas for business and leisure. Poolside Suites are distinguished by their expansive outdoor terraces and proximity to the beach and pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Starwood, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Splendia, Otel, getaroom.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.