We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WORST hotel in the world” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Surf Blue

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Ocean Surf Blue to your Saves list
Ocean Surf Blue
2.0 of 5 Lodge   |   7436 Ocean Terrace, Miami Beach, FL 33141   |  
Hotel amenities
bury
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“WORST hotel in the world”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed at this hotel in April for two nights, prior to taking a cruise out of Miami port.
This hotel is filthy and the most disgusting place ever. Blood on the bedroom carpet, venetion blind that would not open or close, so that you could not shut out the light. A room safe that did not work. This place should be demolished.
STAY HERE AT YOUR PERIL, YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED.

Room Tip: Stay in a room at another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    23
    45
    57
    150
See reviews for
58
95
20
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had a wonderful time in Miami. The hotel it's nit un good conditions but the service was amazing! The front desk lady was very warming and kind. Franches made us felt special always smilling and calling us by our names was what really catch us. We looking foward to come back enjoy the beach, her attention and hopefully a better hotel.

Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is disgusting! When we checked in they told us we would be staying in the building next door which looks abandoned. When we walked in the smell of mildew was overwhelmimg and the room we were given had stains on the sheets. We went back to the "hotel" and complained so the girl at the desk gave us another room, which was even worst than the last one, it smelled bad, the AC was leaking and spraying out water, o and lets not forget 3 dead roaches. We had to switch to 4 different rooms before we found a decent one, still it was dirty, we went to the nearby walgreens and picked up some cleaning agents and cleaned the room ourselves. Absolutely the worst place to stay, i will never go back to this mess.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rovaniemi, Finland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Greedy place, if you done advance payment for this place, it doesn't mean that you got room there. Better prepare for take another hotel or pay more. We got prepaid reservation but when we finally arrived there at time, reception said that they have cancelled our reservation and if we still want those rooms we got to paid triple price. After hours of discussion we left that place and now we are fighting for get our advance back.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015

This hotel is cheaper than most for a good reason, it's awful. On checking in, the receptionist was unwelcoming to say the least, bordering on rude. Straight away it was pointed out that the rooms have a safe and this incurred an extra charge whether we intended to use it or not. So off to the room, dirty, shabby, broken loo roll holder, broken tiles, broken table lamp, windows so dirty I could write my name on them, and the safe didn't work! Back to reception to register our displeasure, even less friendly than before but we got another room, marginally better, the safe worked but it also was equally scruffy.
Breakfast was interesting, first off there are too few tables and chairs for the guests. The "food" served for breakfast comprised individually packed cereals and muffins with tea or coffee.
Apart from being within shouting distance of the beach this hotel is not even well situated unless you want to be isolated. The hotel has no restaurant and there are very few places to eat nearby, if you have no car you need to be prepared to walk.
I have stayed in quite a few budget hotels in my time but this is the worst of the lot and is was far from the cheapest. The best hotel on this holiday was Ramada Plaza in Ft Lauderdale and it was cheaper then this dump.

Room Tip: Try the adjacent Days Inn instead
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2015

My sisters and I stayed here the day before our cruise departed Miami. The hotel was old and the rooms were mildew smelling. You feel like the hotel is right out of the movie psycho. There were bugs in my sisters bed and I doubt the sheets were even washed.
I will note we were able to check in at 6 am rather then 3pm at no charge and the beach front location is prime. We spent as much time outside because we're didn't want to be in the room. It was truly disgusting! You are better off pitching a tent and using your towel on the beach.

Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2015

Pros:
> We had good service; the ladies at the register were very nice and gave us more towels when we asked for some.
> Very close to the beach; convenient location to a lot of local restaurants and shops.
> The beds were actually pretty comfortably firm; I didn't wake up sore, and actually had good quality sleep.
> Breakfast is served from 7 - 9 AM, though the Days Inn next door serves it past that time if 9 is too early for you.

Cons:
> Walls are thin, and you can hear a lot of what's going on next door, as well as from some of the other rooms down the hallway.
> Cold shower water; didn't heat up at all while we were there.
> Could only see the building beside us out the window.

Nothing special, but nothing terrible, either. I'm not sure it was quite worth $124 a night, though!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ocean Surf Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Surf Blue

Address: 7436 Ocean Terrace, Miami Beach, FL 33141
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 64 Specialty Lodging in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean Surf Blue 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, HostelWorld, Hotwire and HostelBookers so you can book your Ocean Surf Blue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Surf Blue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.