We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible stay” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Surf Blue

Save Saved
You added Ocean Surf Blue to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Ocean Surf Blue
2.0 of 5 Lodge   |   7436 Ocean Terrace, Miami Beach, FL 33141   |  
Hotel amenities
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Horrible stay”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2012

No parking, no pool, no shampoo, no rinse, 2 towels in a room that fits 4, no microwave, fridge has so much ice in it that nothing fits, dirty dirty dirty, bathroom is dirty falling apart, this hotels needs to be shut down it is unsanitary oh and they charge you 100.00 deposit in case you damage something, really not much that isn't damaged already can be damaged, this is a waste of money, I was afraid to turn off the lights bugs bugs bugs, rooms stink really bad and on top of that they charge you 2.00 daily for a safe deposit box wether you use it or not, never again!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    18
    36
    49
    125
See reviews for
49
70
17
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Travelling
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

I arrived to the hotel. Went upstairs to the room. Sat on my bed. Opened my laptop, booked another hotel and immediately left. The hotel looks dirty and depressing. Something you would find in hollywood trillers, that part when the investigator comes to the dirty apartment building where the murderer lives. All the same but on the beach.

P.S. The elevator didn't work, so I had to carry my bag to the 3th floor.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel
See more room tips
Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is in a good location if you want to be right across from North Beach. The room is small and we wore flip flops because the carpet never looked clean. The bathroom is disgusting and there is no fan to remove the steam after a shower. We found cocoa butter and a bra insert under the beds. There is no cable, five hangers, and hair on the mattress pads and in the bath tub. There was no ice bucket in the room. Towels are taken and washed so you will be without towels until they are laundered. Did u mention there was no pool? The price was cheap and now, I understand why...

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2012 via mobile

The only good thing is the beach across the street. We originally booked 3 nights. Only stayed 1. We were still charged for the other 2 plus $100 deposit. Room was on the third floor and elevator wasn't working. Upon check in we were informed you have to pay to park from 8am to 6pm $10.70 per day. Room was tiny. No heat or blankets. Mind you it was 40 degrees outside. No hot water in the shower and bugs on our luggage. Will not ever stay again! Nasty

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

Probably the WORST hotel I've stayed in. No Elevator, dirty, stained bedlinen, filthy walls and floors, no toilet paper or towels, safe didn't work and after paying for it they wouldn't refund our money. Outside lock didn't work- had to go back to the desk twice to get a different key. They double booked our room so two guys ended up trying to get into our room while we were sleeping. Thank God we locked the latch!! The worst part was that they didn't believe the guys when they went back to tell them that someone was ALREADY in that room! Ended up switching to another property they owned which was only mildly better but because we booked online they wouldn't refund our money, we ended up staying. We were in Miami Beach for about five days and there wasn't a day that we didn't see people complaining or leaving the Ocean Surf to go elsewhere. When we finally had enough we decided to go next door to the Days Inn. We got lucky and got a room with a huge balcony but just before we went to sleep----the biggest COCKROACH I've seen went crawling up the wall. You get what you pay for here. If you are used to the Holiday Inn or better....DON''T stay ANYWHERE on Ocean Terrace!! You will be VERY disappointed. Not clean, not safe. The ONLY plus here is that you are accross the street from the ocean----not worth it.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else and spend a little more. You will be happy you did!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

The lady at the front desk was quite helpful, although we did switch rooms 3 times before we would even consider staying. The bedspreads were stained, there were no face cloths, we paid for the room safe with cash and it did not work. They did not refund the money either! We finally ended up in a room in the Hawaii Hotel which is run by the Ocean Surf. The room was much better, but still, the next morning someone else had a key and was trying to open the door! The front desk had screwed up and said we were in 27 instead of 26. The hotel is right across the street from the beach which is a bonus, and there are a lot of great restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

There are no face cloths, no ice, no tissues, and the elevator doesn't work. The breakfast is skimpy (what did you expect?). But you're right on the beach in an OK neighborhood.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ocean Surf Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Surf Blue

Address: 7436 Ocean Terrace, Miami Beach, FL 33141
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 59 Specialty lodging in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Ocean Surf Blue 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Otel, Hotels.com, Venere, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your Ocean Surf Blue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Surf Blue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.