We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For short stay only” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pierre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Pierre to your Saves list
Hotel Pierre
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   216 43rd st, Miami Beach, FL 33140 (Oceanfront)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #185 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“For short stay only”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

I would recommend this hotel to young people coming or value-savyy travelers coming for 2/3 days max. This hotel is not adapted to people with young children or older people looking for good comfort.

Pros : LOCATION! The beach is 1 minute walk from the hotel. A Subway and a supermarket are less than 5 minutes walk. Bus stop (150) is near by. The lobby looks exactly like the pictures on their website. Rooms are clean.

Cons: Windows don't shut (so you would hear some noise). Quite old hotel. Small bedroom with really tiny bathroom. No hair dryer in the room. Poor Customer service : when we arrived there were no towels in the room we had to ask for, the internet was not working in the lobby, there was some problem with the room we booked so the cleaning lady disturbed us in the morning because she thought we were checking out.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre H, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Pierre, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Dear Guest,
We thank you for your review. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed our location by the beach and proximity to bus stops and food shops. All issues brought to our attention are taken extremely seriously and it is unfortunate that we were not able to provide you with the best the best possible customer service during your stay. We are currently training the new personnel and we will be sure to share your comments with our management team so that corrections are made immediately.
We value your business and hope you visit us again on your next vacation to experience our improvements
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    8
    22
    12
    38
See reviews for
9
32
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Matthews, NC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

The hotel is in an excellent place with the beach a two minute walk away. Sadly, the bathroom and the noise during the night make the stay uncomfortable. The bathroom is difficult to get into and the doors/facilities were not clean. The windows are shutters and you cannot block out the night time noise of the road directly outside. If you have a car I recommend reserving a spot as street parking can be difficult.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre H, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Pierre, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Dear Guest,
We are happy to hear you enjoyed our proximity to the beach and deeply sorry your stay was uncomfortable due to the street noises. Unfortunately, we were waiting for a permit from the city to change all of the windows of the hotel which we now have. By next month that issue will be resolved and all of the street noises completely eliminated.
We value your business and hope you visit us again on your next stay to experience our renovated rooms and windows.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta, ga
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014

If you have a car, parking is extra and first come, first serve. Also, it is a parking slot not lot on Collins. I have a truck so it was easy to back up over the curb. I believe she said only 9 parking slots for the entire hotel.
As for the room, it is interesting. IKEA like furniture. It's modern but the bathroom is slightly dated. It's an old building and has character. The purpose of our stay was one night after our cruise. We had two rooms 2nd and 3rd floor. The room 212 was so loud from the outside street we exchanged rooms because I'm a light sleeper. The room 308 was much quieter. We noticed that the windows in 212 were older windows but 308 were newer. If they could update the windows in 212, which is right on the corner of Collins which is very busy, to keep out the noise that might help. Overall, to me it's clean. My husband on the other hand seems to be disappointed but that's his overall feeling (disappointment) with Miami.
The elevator is old and pretty cool - open the door and slide the gate. Seen this in movies. Husband scratched his arm on the 3rd floor elevator door. Careful as it's sharp, looks like bolt that sharpened. I could only give an average because of the parking slot accommodation. I would also suggest cleaning/painting the air vents in the rooms.
As for customer service, my request were unique and personal so I can't impose my feelings around that. Their check in is 3pm and no budging on it. My husband had a back spasm and could hardly walk. I had him in the lobby asking they give him the key when the room became available. Other people were accommodated and we had been there an hour prior to check-in, waiting so we should have been taking care of first not the people that walked in after us. I don't hold this against their rating because the request was unique.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre H, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Pierre, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear you enjoyed our very unique decoration. We are deeply sorry to hear your stay was uncomfortable due to the street noises. Unfortunately, we were waiting for a permit from the city to change all of the windows of the hotel which we now have. By next month that issue will be resolved and all of the street noises completely eliminated. In regards to the elevator, that will also be renovated and changed right after the windows within the next following months.
We value your business and hope you visit us again on your next stay to experience our renovated rooms and windows.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

I wish the rooms were as nice as the lobby, hallways and people. The rooms are naked and dirty. We got stuck with a room with a broken window. Took awhile for the water to warmup. The bed was as hard as rock only two pillows outdated rough sheets with an average TV. The only good thing is that it's walking distance to the beach. Parking was additional no breakfast no pool. No bueno

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre H, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Pierre, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear you liked our lobby and hallways. We sincerely apologize for our outdated windows and showers. We thank you for sharing your opinion through this review, helping us constantly improve your experience. The hotel is relatively new, recently purchased however, the building is not.
We are currently going through several renovations in all of our rooms and most of those issues will be resolved within the next couple of months.
Regarding the windows, we were waiting for a permit from the city to change all of the windows of the hotel which we now have. That issue will be resolved and all of the street noises completely eliminated within the next two weeks.
We value your business and hope you visit us again on your next stay to experience our renovated rooms and windows.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broomall, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

I stayed here one night with my boyfriend before going on a cruise. The room was perfect. It had everything we needed and was way nicer than i expected. I loved the antique feel we got from the old time original elevator. It was a bit away from the action down closer to south beach but we walked the board walk during the day and visited alot of places along the way. Ps... Its right next to the fountain blue. I plan on staying here again before my next cruise!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre H, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Pierre, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Dear Guest,
We greatly appreciate your review and are happy to hear you enjoyed the commodity of our rooms and ambiance of the Hotel. South Beach is located (5-10 minutes) away by car, no more than $10 in a taxi and about 20-30 minutes by foot.
We do hope you return soon with us before your next cruise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

For $99 i paid for a night - it's great. Customer service is AMAZING - Jose was very helpful. Parking is not included and the have only 8 spots available for $20 per day. Make sure you reserve the parking at the same time you book a hotel.

Hotel is not a Hilton and used very cheap mattress and has tiny rooms BUT for the amount of money i paid for - i was happy. 2 min to the Shalom Beach, 5 min to South Beach, hotel is located at decent Jewish area. We stayed there 5 days and came there just to sleep so we didn't really care about the size of the room etc. Next time when i visit Miami i will book a room there again.

Don't expect too much from this Hotel - you are getting what you are paying for... :)

Room Tip: Book the room as far as you can from old fashion elevator with metal sliding door - it's really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre H, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Pierre, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Dear Guest,
We thank you for your review. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and our staff was able to help you with everything you needed. We do have 9 parking spaces in our lot, however, there is plenty of parking in the streets (free from 6pm until 8am the following day) and a public parking garage right in front which can be paid hourly. We also would like to inform you that we are currently renovating all of our rooms and hope you will be able to enjoy them soon enough during your next stay with us!
Best Regards, Hotel Pierre.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

You get what you pay for. Hotel rooms aren't the best but for the most part we were only in the room to shower and sleep. It was cozy and service downstairs is 24/7 so that was helpful. Restroom could use so remodeling as far as the toilet looking a little old, but hey everything worked fine. Our room got cleaned everyday the only thing they would forget would be new towels, but that could be easily fixed by just requesting them downstairs. All in all this is a faurly great location, beach access is literally 3 minutes away.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Pierre H, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Pierre, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Dear Guest,
We thank you for your review. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and our staff was able to help you with everything you needed. We do have 9 parking spaces in our lot, however, there is plenty of parking in the streets (free from 6pm until 8am the following day) and a public parking garage right in front which can be paid hourly. We also would like to inform you that we are currently renovating all of our rooms and hope you will be able to enjoy them soon enough during your next stay with us!
Best Regards, Hotel Pierre.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Pierre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pierre

Address: 216 43rd st, Miami Beach, FL 33140
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > Oceanfront
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #185 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Hotel Pierre 1.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Pierre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Pierre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.