We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks Are Deceiving” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pierre

Save Saved
You added Hotel Pierre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Pierre
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   216 43rd st, Miami Beach, FL 33140 (Oceanfront)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #179 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
New York City, New York
2 reviews
“Looks Are Deceiving”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

I wish the rooms were as nice as the lobby, hallways and people. The rooms are naked and dirty. We got stuck with a room with a broken window. Took awhile for the water to warmup. The bed was as hard as rock only two pillows outdated rough sheets with an average TV. The only good thing is that it's walking distance to the beach. Parking was additional no breakfast no pool. No bueno

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre H, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Pierre, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear you liked our lobby and hallways. We sincerely apologize for our outdated windows and showers. We thank you for sharing your opinion through this review, helping us constantly improve your experience. The hotel is relatively new, recently purchased however, the building is not.
We are currently going through several renovations in all of our rooms and most of those issues will be resolved within the next couple of months.
Regarding the windows, we were waiting for a permit from the city to change all of the windows of the hotel which we now have. That issue will be resolved and all of the street noises completely eliminated within the next two weeks.
We value your business and hope you visit us again on your next stay to experience our renovated rooms and windows.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    4
    17
    9
    23
See reviews for
6
19
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Broomall, Pennsylvania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

I stayed here one night with my boyfriend before going on a cruise. The room was perfect. It had everything we needed and was way nicer than i expected. I loved the antique feel we got from the old time original elevator. It was a bit away from the action down closer to south beach but we walked the board walk during the day and visited alot of places along the way. Ps... Its right next to the fountain blue. I plan on staying here again before my next cruise!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre H, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Pierre, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Dear Guest,
We greatly appreciate your review and are happy to hear you enjoyed the commodity of our rooms and ambiance of the Hotel. South Beach is located (5-10 minutes) away by car, no more than $10 in a taxi and about 20-30 minutes by foot.
We do hope you return soon with us before your next cruise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

For $99 i paid for a night - it's great. Customer service is AMAZING - Jose was very helpful. Parking is not included and the have only 8 spots available for $20 per day. Make sure you reserve the parking at the same time you book a hotel.

Hotel is not a Hilton and used very cheap mattress and has tiny rooms BUT for the amount of money i paid for - i was happy. 2 min to the Shalom Beach, 5 min to South Beach, hotel is located at decent Jewish area. We stayed there 5 days and came there just to sleep so we didn't really care about the size of the room etc. Next time when i visit Miami i will book a room there again.

Don't expect too much from this Hotel - you are getting what you are paying for... :)

Room Tip: Book the room as far as you can from old fashion elevator with metal sliding door - it's really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre H, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Pierre, responded to this review, May 17, 2014
Dear Guest,
We thank you for your review. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and our staff was able to help you with everything you needed. We do have 9 parking spaces in our lot, however, there is plenty of parking in the streets (free from 6pm until 8am the following day) and a public parking garage right in front which can be paid hourly. We also would like to inform you that we are currently renovating all of our rooms and hope you will be able to enjoy them soon enough during your next stay with us!
Best Regards, Hotel Pierre.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

You get what you pay for. Hotel rooms aren't the best but for the most part we were only in the room to shower and sleep. It was cozy and service downstairs is 24/7 so that was helpful. Restroom could use so remodeling as far as the toilet looking a little old, but hey everything worked fine. Our room got cleaned everyday the only thing they would forget would be new towels, but that could be easily fixed by just requesting them downstairs. All in all this is a faurly great location, beach access is literally 3 minutes away.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Pierre H, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Pierre, responded to this review, May 18, 2014
Dear Guest,
We thank you for your review. We are very pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and our staff was able to help you with everything you needed. We do have 9 parking spaces in our lot, however, there is plenty of parking in the streets (free from 6pm until 8am the following day) and a public parking garage right in front which can be paid hourly. We also would like to inform you that we are currently renovating all of our rooms and hope you will be able to enjoy them soon enough during your next stay with us!
Best Regards, Hotel Pierre.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

I went to Miami for the first week in March. Thank god for Hotel Pierre providing wonderful accommodations for a fair price. For the high season, most hotels were charging in excess of 500 a night. Even the holiday inn and Days inn were charging 250 a night.

The room was spartan but very clean and quiet . Of course i used some common sense and requested a room on the 2nd floor and not facing the main road,( Indian Creek road). i also chose the wooden veneer flooring which was very breathable and clean. The hallways had pics of Bob Marley, James dean and other rock stars which i thought added some personality to the place. It was perfect for me. The Days in and holiday inn have pools and larger greeting areas but for 250 a night , I'd rather say in the Pierre for 120 and go to the beach or the fountain blue for their pool. The location is right across the street from the beach and a 5 minute cab or bus to downtown Miami . Stephanie and LeLE ( i think that's her name ) were very accommodating, helpful and polite.

I was concerned about the bad reviews but i can say i will definitely be coming back again. I think the reason for the bad reviews is some of the people that are reviewing this Inn thought they were staying in the fountain blue, Delano or Loews. Also, i think many of the people that gave poor reviews are into hanging out in the room and watching cable TV. When i'm in Miami i personally like to spend my time outside my room. Of course i'd rather stay in those nicer hotels but until i can afford 600 a night, the Pierre will do just fine!

Room Tip: The rooms on Indian creek road may be noisier then others. I personally prefer 2nd floor and above...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre H, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Pierre, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Thank You for taking the time to review Hotel Pierre. Our number one goal here is to provide the best stay for a great price. Based on your review, we are happy to hear we were able to deliver! Hotel Pierre is conveniently located close to the beautiful beach and 10 minutes away from famous South Beach. Our Art inspired designs are definitely one of a kind. We will be sure to tell our staff about the job well done! Although we appreciate your 4 star review, here at Hotel Pierre we always strive to be the best! Be sure to come back and visit to experience our new upgrades and amenities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Booked for the boat show as it was across the road - so awesome location. Arrived very late - after midnight- and should have known what was to come when I passed a hooker leaving the place as I walked in with another offering her services in the reception area!
The room was unbelievably bad- the hotels main air cond unit was right outside the window and was deafeningly noisy.to add insult to injury, the air cond was blowing warm instead of cool!!! So , turned on the ceiling fan- but it was so noisy you couldn't leave it on. Sheets were so cheap they felt like recycled plastic bags!
By this time it was 2 am so decided we really had no choice but to stay the night- couldn't get out of there fast enough next morning.
They may have better rooms , but this was without doubt, the worst hotel experience ever for me- be warned!!!

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre H, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Pierre, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
We would like to thank you for taking the time to review Hotel Pierre. It is with deep regret to hear about your unfortunate experience. We handle each review with high importance and will resolve all issues presented. Housekeeping and security management has been notified of these issues and has modified our procedures to ensure a safer and cleaner environment. We understand your frustration and hope you can accept our deepest apology.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

This hotel was unacceptable on all fronts. It was dirty, the website promoted airport shuttle service which the hotel actually didn't offer, and it's situated on a main boulevard, so the shutter style windows allow in traffic noise all night. Throughout my travels I've stayed in everything from South American hostels to 5 star resorts. No contest, Hotel Pierre was the worst hotel I have ever stayed at. Hotel prices were affordable by Miami standards, so this is why we stayed here. However, looking back, the price we payed did not compensate for the discomfort of our experience.

The real driver of this complaint is the questionable way of doing business at Hotel Pierre. When we checked in, the front desk made a copy of my credit card and state id. It was my mistake to not question this right then and there. Months after settling our bill upon checking out of the hotel, an erroneous charge from the hotel showed up on my bank account! The charge was over $100 and literally posted 3 months after our stay. I immediately called the hotel, and the Marketing Manager told me she would investigate the issue. Within an hour, she emailed me, confirmed the charge was false, and immediately filed for me to be refunded. Now, I really appreciate the issue was handled so quickly and the refund did go through almost immediately, but why did this happen in the first place? When I've called back to reconnect with the Marketing Manager to have some of my questions answered, no one can tell me where she is. Its just really sketchy that this happened and it was handled in an odd way that makes me question Hotel Pierre's way of doing business even more.

Summary of this review- AVOID THIS HOTEL. It isn't worth any perceived savings on room rates.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre H, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Pierre, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Hotel Pierre. We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay here. Our number one goal here is to provide the best stay for a great price and unfortunately, we did not meet up to standards for your visit. We will address all suggestions presented and ensure a greater experience. We are pleased to inform you, we have adjusted our policies to better provide our customers information. Please accept our sincerest apology and hope you consider us again for your next visit to Miami Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Pierre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pierre

Address: 216 43rd st, Miami Beach, FL 33140
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > Oceanfront
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #179 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Hotel Pierre 1.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Pierre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Pierre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.