We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks Hotel Pierre!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Pierre

Save Saved
You added Hotel Pierre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Pierre
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   216 43rd st, Miami Beach, FL 33140 (Oceanfront)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #178 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Thanks Hotel Pierre!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

I went to Miami for the first week in March. Thank god for Hotel Pierre providing wonderful accommodations for a fair price. For the high season, most hotels were charging in excess of 500 a night. Even the holiday inn and Days inn were charging 250 a night.

The room was spartan but very clean and quiet . Of course i used some common sense and requested a room on the 2nd floor and not facing the main road,( Indian Creek road). i also chose the wooden veneer flooring which was very breathable and clean. The hallways had pics of Bob Marley, James dean and other rock stars which i thought added some personality to the place. It was perfect for me. The Days in and holiday inn have pools and larger greeting areas but for 250 a night , I'd rather say in the Pierre for 120 and go to the beach or the fountain blue for their pool. The location is right across the street from the beach and a 5 minute cab or bus to downtown Miami . Stephanie and LeLE ( i think that's her name ) were very accommodating, helpful and polite.

I was concerned about the bad reviews but i can say i will definitely be coming back again. I think the reason for the bad reviews is some of the people that are reviewing this Inn thought they were staying in the fountain blue, Delano or Loews. Also, i think many of the people that gave poor reviews are into hanging out in the room and watching cable TV. When i'm in Miami i personally like to spend my time outside my room. Of course i'd rather stay in those nicer hotels but until i can afford 600 a night, the Pierre will do just fine!

Room Tip: The rooms on Indian creek road may be noisier then others. I personally prefer 2nd floor and above...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre H, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Pierre, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Thank You for taking the time to review Hotel Pierre. Our number one goal here is to provide the best stay for a great price. Based on your review, we are happy to hear we were able to deliver! Hotel Pierre is conveniently located close to the beautiful beach and 10 minutes away from famous South Beach. Our Art inspired designs are definitely one of a kind. We will be sure to tell our staff about the job well done! Although we appreciate your 4 star review, here at Hotel Pierre we always strive to be the best! Be sure to come back and visit to experience our new upgrades and amenities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    4
    17
    9
    23
See reviews for
6
19
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Booked for the boat show as it was across the road - so awesome location. Arrived very late - after midnight- and should have known what was to come when I passed a hooker leaving the place as I walked in with another offering her services in the reception area!
The room was unbelievably bad- the hotels main air cond unit was right outside the window and was deafeningly noisy.to add insult to injury, the air cond was blowing warm instead of cool!!! So , turned on the ceiling fan- but it was so noisy you couldn't leave it on. Sheets were so cheap they felt like recycled plastic bags!
By this time it was 2 am so decided we really had no choice but to stay the night- couldn't get out of there fast enough next morning.
They may have better rooms , but this was without doubt, the worst hotel experience ever for me- be warned!!!

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre H, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Pierre, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
We would like to thank you for taking the time to review Hotel Pierre. It is with deep regret to hear about your unfortunate experience. We handle each review with high importance and will resolve all issues presented. Housekeeping and security management has been notified of these issues and has modified our procedures to ensure a safer and cleaner environment. We understand your frustration and hope you can accept our deepest apology.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

This hotel was unacceptable on all fronts. It was dirty, the website promoted airport shuttle service which the hotel actually didn't offer, and it's situated on a main boulevard, so the shutter style windows allow in traffic noise all night. Throughout my travels I've stayed in everything from South American hostels to 5 star resorts. No contest, Hotel Pierre was the worst hotel I have ever stayed at. Hotel prices were affordable by Miami standards, so this is why we stayed here. However, looking back, the price we payed did not compensate for the discomfort of our experience.

The real driver of this complaint is the questionable way of doing business at Hotel Pierre. When we checked in, the front desk made a copy of my credit card and state id. It was my mistake to not question this right then and there. Months after settling our bill upon checking out of the hotel, an erroneous charge from the hotel showed up on my bank account! The charge was over $100 and literally posted 3 months after our stay. I immediately called the hotel, and the Marketing Manager told me she would investigate the issue. Within an hour, she emailed me, confirmed the charge was false, and immediately filed for me to be refunded. Now, I really appreciate the issue was handled so quickly and the refund did go through almost immediately, but why did this happen in the first place? When I've called back to reconnect with the Marketing Manager to have some of my questions answered, no one can tell me where she is. Its just really sketchy that this happened and it was handled in an odd way that makes me question Hotel Pierre's way of doing business even more.

Summary of this review- AVOID THIS HOTEL. It isn't worth any perceived savings on room rates.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre H, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Pierre, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Hotel Pierre. We apologize for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay here. Our number one goal here is to provide the best stay for a great price and unfortunately, we did not meet up to standards for your visit. We will address all suggestions presented and ensure a greater experience. We are pleased to inform you, we have adjusted our policies to better provide our customers information. Please accept our sincerest apology and hope you consider us again for your next visit to Miami Beach
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kyabram, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

This is the worst place I have ever stayed. Front of house girl rude. Staff openly putting down their fellow co workers whilst guests were in the lobby.Bed linen was stained. I am in Miami for another five nights and very relieved I did not rebook at this hotel. Close proximity to beach is the only good thing I could say - not even any restaurants/eateries close by. Lincoln Road a brisk 20 minute walk.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre H, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Pierre, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
We would like to thank you for taking the time to review Hotel Pierre. We value your business and take every suggestion with great importance. While we are happy to hear you enjoyed the location of the Hotel, as we are located right across the street from the beach and 15 minutes away from South Beach, we regret that you were not given a positive experience. We will be sure to address our staff about the ill mannered scenario and connect with housekeeping to resolve the presented issues. Please accept our sincerest apology. We hope you come back to experience our new improvement on your next stay !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We booked this hotel via Hotwire. Got it for a very good price. Location was great for yacht show and about a 30 minute walk to Lincoln rd. Shops and restaurants. One block to beach and boardwalk. Parking lot was full when we arrived, but we parked in the parking garage across the street for $30/ night. Smaller hotel. Two men working at the front desk were very helpful. Always there to answer questions, even printed a map from online for us. The rooms as clean, comfortable bed. Fridge and tv included. The only downside is that it was VERY NOISY especially when sleeping at night. The windows are shutter style and do not block out the noise well. We slept with earplugs. Otherwise, decent place to lay your head after a long day walking around miami beach.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the streets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre H, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Pierre, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Hotel Pierre. We appreciate every suggestion on how we can improve our guest experiences. We are happy to see you enjoyed our location during the Boat Show. Perfectly stationed along 43rd st, there were many attractions in the area so we can see why you experienced a very noisy stay, We apologize for this inconvenience and will share this with management to work towards an effective solution. We will be sure to tell our staff a job well done and hope you stay with us again! Thank you for your business and courtesy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We have just recently just stayed at this hotel for 8 nights our experience was ok, the employees are very friendly and are willing to help as much as they can. The only bad thing was every morning at 8:00 AM, the guys working were extremely loud, so it was like an alarm clock the other noise was from the street and other hotels near by that are being renovated. There is a shuttle service if you ask at the front desk or you can call your self. The room did have roaches but when we complained (being from upstate NY we don't have them unless your dirty.) the next day the exterminators truck was out front. The hotel itself is a work in progress, they are working on it and it looks just like the pics on here. The rooms are a good size, and are for the most part clean. A good place if your only sleeping there... Over all our experience besides the bugs was good....

Room Tip: The lower rooms are where you have the most noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre H, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Pierre, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Hello from Hotel Pierre. We would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about our Hotel. Please know we handle each review with great importance as your suggestions help us improve! Although we are happy to hear your overall stay was good, we continue to strive for better. We understand situations happen and our staff is great for fast solutions. We will be sure to address the pest issue with management and hope you accept our apologize for the inconvenience you experienced. We hope you stay with us again to see our improvements on your next stay to Miami Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noblesville, Indiana
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Where do I start? During our check-in process, the desk clerk kept helping other people, rather than having them wait their turn. He actually made a photocopy of my credit card and license (which we got back the next day). The room had two outlets, one behind the bed and the other behind the fridge and TV. No outlets in the bathroom so we had to drag the bed away from the wall to recharge phones, ipads, etc. The bathroom door hit the sink when you opened it, so to get into the bathroom, it was easier to put one foot in the tub and one on the floor to be able to close the door to get to the toilet. The tub didn't have a stopper and there was black mold in the grout behind the shower curtain. You get two bath towels, but no wash cloths or hand towels. But that's okay because there are no towel bars anywhere. No A/C so we tried to open the windows but they wouldn't stay up so we put a trash can in the window to hold it open. The room had a ceiling fan and to turn it on, you have to stand on the bed to reach the chain (and I'm 6'4" tall). We killed a roach and decided to leave it for housekeeping to remove (I hope). And if you check out their own web page it states that there's a shuttle that departs every half-hour to the airport. That's a lie...

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre H, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Pierre, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Hello,

It is with deep regret that we read your feedback about your stay with us. Any issues brought to our attention are taken extremely seriously and it is unfortunate that we were not given the opportunity to resolve any of your concerns during your stay. We will be sure to share your comments with our management team so that corrections will be made. We Value your business and hope you visit on you next vacation to experience our improvements

Best,
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Pierre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pierre

Address: 216 43rd st, Miami Beach, FL 33140
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > Oceanfront
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #178 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Hotel Pierre 1.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel Pierre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Pierre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.