We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Gale South Beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gale South Beach

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Gale South Beach to your Saves list
Gale South Beach
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1690 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Upgrade to Kaskades Suite
Ranked #38 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Thornton, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Gale South Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Just returned from South Beach and stayed at a great hotel, The Gale. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. Great staff and the rooms are great...small but you don't hang in the room anyway. The rooftop pool is fantastic with a super hostess/pool attendant. The only downfall was we were there on Memorial Day weekend or Urban Beach Week, so the hotel had closed the club for the weekend and the other bars in the hotel stopped serving at 10pm. I don't blame the hotel given the reputation the weekend has (which we didn't know about until after we arrived). We had heard so much about the hotel and all it has to offer, so we were disappointed that we didn't get the opportunity to experience it. Given the amenities that we unfortunately shut down, we didn't find it such a great value. However, should we return, I am sure the experience would be more than worth it.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    456
    217
    69
    46
    37
See reviews for
99
258
35
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

My husband and I was so impressed with the fantastic service and blown away with the rooms - modern showers etc.

We came off our cruise boat around 9am and arrived at the hotel around 10am which was too early to check in - the Manager and the staff were fantastic as we left our bags with them as check in was at 2pm and the hotel was full so we couldn't check in earlier but they said they would push all stops to get us in earlier. We then went for a walk around Miami beach - we came back around noon to then grab our swimming togs to hung by the pool - we were the only ones there and the service by the pool was great too. The Manager then came up to the pool and told us that our room was ready at 1.30pm. This is one hotel which had it all - service - friendly staff - location and of course the rooms, etc were fantastic - keep up the great work!!!

Room Tip: We were very lucky and just so happened we had an end room looking from the front of the hotel from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nassau, New Providence Island
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Gale for a night during a brief visit to South Beach and we were very pleased with the choice. The location is steps away from Lincoln Road- loaded with a ton of shops and restaurants. The room was admittedly small but I read that in other reviews and was fine with that. The rooftop pool was lovely and the bartender at the bar was great! We will definitely visit again :)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

Loved the decor and the super friendly staff. Small room but very comfortable....would be nice to have coffee available in rooms. Staff made great restaurant suggestions.
Danny was incredibly helpful with our luggage and loading our car. Great attitude and helpful suggestions for our stay. The pool was beautiful, would be nice if it stayed open later.

Stayed May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

We spent two nights in the Gale South Beach Hotel. To be honest we were a bit underwhelmed. Our room was very small which would have been fine if we had only been staying a couple of nights and had small suitcases but we had been travelling for three weeks and there was hardly any room to open our cases. Furthermore, there was no hanging space, only a couple of hooks and an under bed drawer. The rooms really need upgraded. Our bathroom sink was full of cracks and chips and the tiles looked dirty. On a positive note the bed was very comfy and sheets were clean. We received fresh towels on a daily basis. The service from the front desk was good and the food that we tried was ok. I think if we visit Miami again we would definitely try somewhere else as this is definitely not a 4.5 star hotel, probably a 3 in my opinion.

Room Tip: We were overlooking a building site so maybe ask for a room facing Collins St.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anamaria T, Manager at Gale South Beach, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Dear CoasterJunkie2014,

It saddens me deeply to hear we did not meet your expectations. As a boutique hotel we offer different room types depending on the needs of each of our Guests. I hope you will give us another chance in the future as we would love the opportunity to provide you with a more comfortable stay. Please feel free to reach out to me directly at ats@meninhospitality.com and I will be more than happy to assist you with all the arrangemets for the trip.

All the best,

Ana.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Loved this place and the staff was amazing! The rooms, although small (which was explained to us beforehand) were very clean but I do wish there was more storage. The restaurant downstairs (The Dolce) was excellent and our waiter Dominico (Mimo) was exceptional! Informative of the dishes and never steered us wrong on what he suggested. Very personable as well. We also enjoyed the service we received from Carmilo (Milo) who was our bartender and waiter on separate occasions. A lot of fun and once again excellent service. This was a family vacation and we were celebrating three birthdays and Mothers Day at the same time. None of this we could have done without the help of Gili our wonderful concierge!! Not only did she make arrangements for extras to be delivered to each room before we even got there to help celebrate, but she went above and beyond while we were there! I wish I could name everyone that made our stay so enjoyable but there was not one staff member that did not make us all feel special! Every one was wonderful! The location of the hotel was perfect, the staff was amazing and the rooms were very clean...definitely coming back as soon as we can!! Highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anamaria T, Manager at Gale South Beach, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear Kacie S,

Thank you for taking the time to submit this great review. I will certainly be sharing this with Dominico, Carmilo and Gili. It is always a great pleasure to read that our staff members had individual and meaningful impact on our guest's stay.
We're so glad to hear that your stay was a memorable one and we would love to have you back soon.

All the best,

Ana.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2014

We spent 2 nights at the hotel , the location was excellent within walking distance to everything ; the room was very small ; the bar was excellent ; very friendly staff and very helpful ; the swimming pool is on the roof , it's small but with pretty views from the top ; extremely expensive drinks at the pool bar.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anamaria T, Manager at Gale South Beach, responded to this review, May 20, 2014
Dear ABitSpoiled,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at the Gale. We are happy to hear you felt welcomed by our staff and we apologize the size of our rooms did not meet your expectations. We do offer different room categories depeding on the Guest's needs and preferences. Please send us an email to galeguest@meninhospitality.com should you plan on returning to South Beach. We will make sure to recommend and confirm comfortable accomodations for you.

All the best,

Ana.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Gale South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gale South Beach

Address: 1690 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gale South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gale South beach & Regent hotel is set on the Southwest corner of 17th street and Collins Avenue, just steps from the ocean. Located in the heart of South Beach, the hotel is within walking distance of popular attractions including Lincoln Road, New World Symphony, Fillmore Theater, Miami Beach Convention Center, and Ocean Dr. The 87 room luxury boutique hotel features certified green rooms and signature suites offering luxury Italian linens, marble bath appointments, exclusive Menin Hotels GUYandGIRL bath amenities, a 55 inch high definition LED television with an expanded 90 channel HD lineup on the latest IBAHN system, iHOME docking station for the latest ipads, fully stocked mini bar, WiFi Internet access, room service, state-of-the-art fitness center, access to the K17 Beach Club, and nightly turn down service. Gale South Beach offers a collection of food and beverage venues including Dolce Italian Cafe & Bar, the Regent Cocktail Club, a rooftop bar and Rec Room. Leisure activities include Beach Cruisers, Saturday Morning Beach Yoga and rooftop pool deck with city and ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Gale South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gale South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.