We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gale South Beach

Save Saved
You added Gale South Beach to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Gale South Beach
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1690 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay More = Save More!
Ranked #33 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Belgium
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great hotel and location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Just back from an 8 night stay at the Gale and can honestly say that it was perfect for our requirements. Located on Collins avenue but away from the chaos that is ocean drive, close to Lincoln road and the beach. We booked via the hotel website and got a very good rate, we requested a room with plenty of light thus managing to avoid the much maligned internal rooms. We had room 304 which was a corner room. It was spacious and stylish with a great shower and comfortable bed. The storage was limited but we managed, and could stow our cases easily enough under the bed. Minor negatives with the room were poor overhead lighting (great ambient lighting though) and harsh striplights by the bathroom mirror. The outside windows also needed a clean. One of the big selling points of this hotel is their fantastic rooftop pool, small enough to feel exclusive but big enough to accommodate plenty of guests. It offers great views of Miami and serves food and drinks. During our stay the pool was closed for a couple of days, however the hotel arranged for us to use the pool of the National Hotel, this is situated directly opposite the Gale. This was no problem for us as a change of scenery was nice and the pool at the National is pretty impressive. Resort Fee of $25 per day offered really good value for money, it included beach access at 21st street including 2 beds and 2 towels (umbrella was extra - $10) $15 discount in any of the hotel eateries and a good wireless services. We dined in Dolce almost daily for breakfast which was very good, a little bit more expensive than other breakfast places, but more refined in terms of service and presentation, plus with $15 dollar discount you ended up with a good value breakfast. We dined twice in Dolce for dinner and everything we had was delicious, their dining room is really stylish and the waiting staff were very knowledgeable. Overall, a great stay and highly recommended, will definitely return next time we come to South Beach.

Room Tip: Ask for a bright room and specify when booking if you do not want an internal room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anamaria T, Manager at Gale South Beach, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Adambe,

It has been a pleasure to have you as our Guests and we look forward to your return. Glad to hear the room you were assigned met all your requirements for the 8 nights stay. It is very rewarding to us when we see our Guests take full advantage of all the amenities and it seems you have definitely done so. Come back soon!

All the best,

Ana.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    302
    141
    45
    30
    28
See reviews for
55
157
21
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, Minnesota
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

Had an excellent experience at the Gale South Beach. Received better pricing from the hotel than what was on Hotels.com. Staff was attentive and helpful from the front desk to the concierge who helped us find our way to the beach, a nice place for late lunch and a great place for dinner. Classic black and white photos throughout the hotel looked like they could be from any family. Loved the decor! Our king room was a little small with a king bed, but the room was beautiful and elegant. The valet parking was great and texted us the morning of our check-out to see what time we would need our car. Excellent service all the way around and a beautiful hotel for a very reasonable price!! Would love to go back!

Room Tip: Call the hotel directly for the best price!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anamaria T, Manager at Gale South Beach, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear EdandFred,

We would love to welcome you back, hopefully very soon! Thank you for your kind words regarding our service especially for recognizing the Concierge Team. Their goal is to always meet the guest expectations and ensure seamless experiences. Please contact us at galeguest@meninhospitality.com to guarantee the repeat guest rates on your next trip to South Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethel Park, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

I travel to Miami about 4 times per year on business. This trip I booked with an online site for Gale Hotel. The hotel has valet which is expensive but all Sobe parking is so comparable. The bar and eating areas were good and location good. Now for downside, they charge a resort fee. I realize most properties do and it wasn't a hidden charge. The problem is on the day of my visit it wasn't a resort. The pool was closed and so was roof bar. So you check in at 4pm and out by 11am what do you get for this fee? Basically nothing a drink at best. At days end virtually impossible to use the limited beach amenities. They basically took the money with no product or service. It was irritating. If you book online with a discount site you are likely to end up in an inside room. My room was nice but had no window. The window was covered to obscure the view of AC units. The staff told me all that was "ready" but it was 3:45pm? If check in is at 4 why not a room with a window? For the reasons outlined herein I wouldn't stay here again or recommend. Shame nice property but my experience was left lacking.

Room Tip: Don't take inside rooms asking if amenities open before booking
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anamaria T, Manager at Gale South Beach, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear David G,

I am really sorry to learn that we have not met your expectations during your recent stay at the Gale Hotel. Due a landscaping project meant to enhance our pool experience, we had to close the pool down for 2 days. It is very unfortunate that happened while you were here and I would truly appreciate another opportunity to showcase you the real Gale experience. On your next trip please reach out to me directly at ats@meninhospitality.com and I will personally ensure your stay is seamless.

All the best,

Ana.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfside, Florida
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

This is truly a great property except if you're not a clubber and it's a Thursday, Friday or Saturday night. Those nights...this place rocks electo-style. And you're invited to the party even if you're trying to sleep.

The Gale is a spectacular property. Yes, the rooms are small. The closet is cleverly hidden and the luggage stand is hidden under the bed. But we found them! Sorry Gale staff...you couldn't hide them for long! The 5th floor pool is a great place to unwind and have a drink. Unfortunately, the rooftop bar closes at 6 pm. We think it should remain open until just after sunset. Why force an early end to a spectacular day?

The Gale's recreation room doubles as a Miami Beach night club where music starts at 11 pm and ends at 4 am. If you are not a clubber and you are trying to sleep, forget it. The music reverberates throughout the hotel. My wife called at 3 AM to ask when the music stops. They told her 4 AM and it was obvious this was a question has been asked before....many times.

But other than that, our weekend stay was very nice. We're from Miami Beach and we seldom vacation in our own home town. We will recommend this hotel for our friends who still like hitting the clubs or anyone in town Sunday through Wednesday.

Room Tip: If it's a Thursday through Saturday night, get one as high up in the hotel to limit the noise fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

The stay at the Gale was during wmc and it was very good. A spatious room with a pleasant design. The hotel is small and intimate. The rooftop pool area is amzing and offers a great view. The staff is friendly and helpfull. Overall it was a good stay.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anamaria T, Manager at Gale South Beach, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear LoreLoreLoreLore,

WMC is always a fun time to be in South Beach for. Gale is in the middle of it all so you couldn't have made a better choice! It is great to hear you have enjoyed your stay and thank you for recognizing our staff. Visit us again.

All the best,

Ana.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014 via mobile

I came to south beach to celebrate my 21st birthday and I have to say staying at The Gale for 5 days was absolutely amazing. The staff is so helpful and kind, the resturant attached Dolce is delicious, the pool is beautiful, rooms are gorgeous and the location is the best part it's right in the heart of everythibg walking distance to Lincoln Road and Oceans Dr. I've stayed at many places on South beach but when I return the Gale will be my only choice now! We just left yesterday and alresdy miss the comfortable beds and delicious food. Can't wait to come back!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anamaria T, Manager at Gale South Beach, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Dear Haileyreb,

What an amazing review! It has been our pleasure to welcome you at the Gale for such a special occasion as your 21st birthday celebration. It makes us very happy that you have enjoyed your stay and feel flattered to be your hotel of choice moving forward. Visit us again soon as we miss you too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

We were invited to go down to visit our family on their last night of vacation in South Beach. All I had to do was find a room. Not easy with only 36 hours warning on a weekend! I needed to find something close to the Ritz where our family was staying. I found the Gale South Beach for a very nice price (in comparison to all similar hotels) and booked after reading reviews.
Our room was newly remodeled, fresh & sharp looking. King sized bed, 2 person shower & large wall mounted tv was perfect for my husband and I.
The lounge areas nice, coffee bar as you walk in. We found out our family had dined in the restaurant the night before and said it was awesome. All in all a very good 24 hour vacation.

Room Tip: Our room was randomly assigned to us. We were able to check in at noon and got a corner room. The wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anamaria T, Manager at Gale South Beach, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear msriverboater,

Glad you chose the Gale Hotel for your 24hours staycation in South Beach. We hope we will be your hotel of choice moving forward. Contact us at galeguest@meninhospitality.com whenever you need a last minute booking and will ensure your stay will be a great one.

All the best,

Ana.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gale South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gale South Beach

Address: 1690 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gale South Beach 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gale South beach & Regent hotel is set on the Southwest corner of 17th street and Collins Avenue, just steps from the ocean. Located in the heart of South Beach, the hotel is within walking distance of popular attractions including Lincoln Road, New World Symphony, Fillmore Theater, Miami Beach Convention Center, and Ocean Dr. The 87 room luxury boutique hotel features certified green rooms and signature suites offering luxury Italian linens, marble bath appointments, exclusive Menin Hotels GUYandGIRL bath amenities, a 55 inch high definition LED television with an expanded 90 channel HD lineup on the latest IBAHN system, iHOME docking station for the latest ipads, fully stocked mini bar, WiFi Internet access, room service, state-of-the-art fitness center, access to the K17 Beach Club, and nightly turn down service. Gale South Beach offers a collection of food and beverage venues including Dolce Italian Cafe & Bar, the Regent Cocktail Club, a rooftop bar and Rec Room. Leisure activities include Beach Cruisers, Saturday Morning Beach Yoga and rooftop pool deck with city and ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Gale South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gale South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.