We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Boutique hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gale South Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Gale South Beach to your Saves list
Gale South Beach
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1690 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Upgrade to Kaskades Suite
Ranked #39 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful Boutique hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

The hotel was to a very very high standard at a very reasonable price. The rooms were excellent and the service of the staff was incredible. Very attentive. The hotel itself has a roof top pool, which was beautiful, and over looks the city. The hotel is finished to a very high standard and has some very quirky decorations! it was not too an expensive place to stay with a very reasonable rate. We stayed in the Famous Delano hotel, right opposite for a few days as well, but found this hotel to be superior in a lot more areas. We had food in the hotel restaurant and Bar on a few occasions and the food was incredible, as good as the main hotels such as SLS and Deleano Hotel. A must stay if visiting Miami. Very happy customer, Jamie Cameron

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anamaria T, Manager at Gale South Beach, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Jamiecameron,

It’s been a great pleasure having you as our Guest. Reviews like yours make me very happy and proud of our fantastic team here at the Gale Hotel. Our rooftop pool is indeed the hottest spot offering amazing city views along with the beautiful Atlantic Ocean horizon. Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review. We are looking forward to welcoming you back as a repeat Guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    456
    217
    69
    46
    37
See reviews for
99
258
35
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

I stayed at The Gale for a long weekend last month.

Upon entering the hotel's reception, the decor immediately catches your eye. Although our room was small, it was very modern with all the amenities you would expect from a 4 *.

The staff were helpful and quick to respond to any questions we had. One evening the hotel staff unexpectedly turned up at our door with a glass a prosecco and chocolates - a very nice touch.

The hotel is in walking distance to south beach and a decent spread of restaurants. The reason I rate the hotel very good instead of excellent is because I was given an incorrect quote for my taxi fare to the airport by one of the staff; which meant I had to pay the driver $30 more upon reaching the airport - thankfully i had the cash or i'd have been stuck!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anamaria T, Manager at Gale South Beach, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Legair1,

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused by the incorrect quote for your taxi fare. I will personally make sure to communicate with everybody on the team to get informed on the updated taxi fares. On the other hand, I would like to thank you for your review and your recognition of our unique décor and helpful staff. I am glad you got to enjoy our newest amenity over the weekend evenings, the Gale champagne cart. We hope you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

We just spent three nights in South Beach for work. We chose the Gale as we knew it had recently had a major renovation. The hotel was great, we loved the decor, the rooms were very comfortable and new. Even though it is a Deco building the whole thing is brand new but has a feel of the past. You could expect to see one of the 50's Brat pack walking the halls. The staff was attentive and friendly. You always got a smile and a greeting walking by the front desk.

I did not get to enjoy the rooftop pool or dining while there but the bar in the back had a very attractive crowd every night when we walked through after our day at work.

We would stay again and recommend to anyone visiting South Beach.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anamaria T, Manager at Gale South Beach, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear leebryanid,

I am very glad to hear you got the chance to relax a little bit while at the Gale despite travelling for work. Due to our location close to the convention center and local businesses we are striving to provide all the amenities needed for leisure as well as work related trips. Thank you for recognizing our Front Desk Team, they are definitely our shining stars and I will make sure to share this review with them. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit. Thank you for your high praise and recommendation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beverley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

Room was petite but very well designed, very comfortable with a great bathroom. The service was great, particularly the concierge, who even arranged to re-site the room safe for us to make it easier to use!
Really enjoyed the visit, would recommend the hotel to anyone!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anamaria T, Manager at Gale South Beach, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Mick B,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review on your recent stay at the Gale Hotel. We are indeed following the Art Deco design and even though our rooms are on the smaller end they are all very well equipped and comfortable. Since you enjoyed your visit so much I suggest you start planning your next one. Contact us galeguest@meninhotels.com to finalize all arrangements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

Overall a good hotel. I have seen it marketed as a five star hotel, well, 4 stars would be more fair. However we paid in line with a regular 4 star hotel, so not complaining.

Rooms are really nice (looking) for a short stay, but not "functional" at all. Almost no space at all to hang or store your clothes or other items, no chairs or tables, and even so it felt a little cramped. Ok, it is nice to have a cool and good locking place to stay, but I prefer not only surface. For example, we had a quite large hallway in our room, but it was completely empty, no hangers or anything on the walls, a little bit too much waste of space in my opinion (N.B: we stayed in a twin bed room, have not seen the other rooms.)

Really nice roof top pool area.

Good location on upper parts of South Beach.

Some noise from the night club.

Good/ok restaurant, but quite expensive (we only had breakfast and lunch).

Wifi worked fine in the whole hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anamaria T, Manager at Gale South Beach, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear BortaBra1,

It is always great receiving feedback from our Guests as this is the only way to find ways of improving ourselves. Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts based on your recent stay and rest assured your comments are taken very seriously and will be shared with the entire team. Being a true Art Deco hotel, we are trying our best to make our rooms as functional as possible and we are offering different room types that can match all Guest requests. We hope for another opportunity to serve you again in the near future aiming for a 5 star experience the next time around.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

The Gale was an absolutely amazing experience. 4 of us stayed there over MLK weekend for a bachelorette. We loved the service, from start to finish - Gabriela Vasquez in reservations is the epitome of professionalism - a beautiful lady, inside and out. We also appreciated the tips from Gili in the concierge department. We had a great time in South Beach, and considering that the bachelorette was a Miami resident, it is a high bar to beat! I would absolutely recommend the Gale to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anamaria T, Manager at Gale South Beach, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Dear Maryann L,

Congratulations to your friend! We feel honored to have welcomed you at our hotel for such a special occasion. Thank you for recognizing Gabriela in your review. She has recently joined our Team and we couldn’t be happier with her performance. I will definitely share this review with Gili as well who has recently been voted concierge of the month by the South Florida Concierge Association. We are all looking forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

What an amazing hotel with a staff to match. Had an incredible time. Well done in all aspects. The room, the food, the service were all impeccable. The concierge and front desk staff went above and beyond to make my stay memorable. The bar in back was a blast and you cannot beat the quality food at Dolce for Dinner (some of the best Italian I've ever had) or pizza for lunch. -Mike Weiss

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anamaria T, Manager at Gale South Beach, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Dear Mikedanger,

Thank you for your generous comments regarding your recent stay. We take pride in ensuring our guests’ experience is seamless and are truly happy to have achieved this with you. I will make sure to share this wonderful review with our Concierge and Front Desk team. Come visit us again soon and we will be glad to assist you in creating more memorable moments. I would also like to tell you we just added a couple of more pizzas on our menu which I am sure you will love as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gale South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gale South Beach

Address: 1690 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gale South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gale South beach & Regent hotel is set on the Southwest corner of 17th street and Collins Avenue, just steps from the ocean. Located in the heart of South Beach, the hotel is within walking distance of popular attractions including Lincoln Road, New World Symphony, Fillmore Theater, Miami Beach Convention Center, and Ocean Dr. The 87 room luxury boutique hotel features certified green rooms and signature suites offering luxury Italian linens, marble bath appointments, exclusive Menin Hotels GUYandGIRL bath amenities, a 55 inch high definition LED television with an expanded 90 channel HD lineup on the latest IBAHN system, iHOME docking station for the latest ipads, fully stocked mini bar, WiFi Internet access, room service, state-of-the-art fitness center, access to the K17 Beach Club, and nightly turn down service. Gale South Beach offers a collection of food and beverage venues including Dolce Italian Cafe & Bar, the Regent Cocktail Club, a rooftop bar and Rec Room. Leisure activities include Beach Cruisers, Saturday Morning Beach Yoga and rooftop pool deck with city and ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Gale South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gale South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.