We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay, perfect” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gale South Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Gale South Beach to your Saves list
Gale South Beach
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1690 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Trip Advisor Only Rate
Ranked #31 of 202 Hotels in Miami Beach
Zagreb, Croatia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great place to stay, perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Lovely boutique hotel with excellent service. I was little bit sceptic reading the reviews that the room is small and no place for wardrobe, but it was really opposite. Room was beautiful with so comfortable big bed, table, mini bar and superb bathroom. The wardrobe is small but enough.
The location is great and the service is great
Will definitely be back if travelling to Miami.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    402
    183
    61
    34
    32
See reviews for
82
216
29
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

When a door is opened for you and you are greeted with a genuine "welcome sir" you know that you have stumbled onto a hidden gem right in the heart of Miami. Couldn't fault the Gale at all. The room and the comfort of it was simply amazing. Reception through to room service was amazing. It was great to hear staff having a laugh with you and seeing a genuine smile at all times (housekeeping). The pool deck and pool bar...great way to chillout under a Miami summer..Oh and those G&T's by the barman perfect!!...No outside noise what so ever from within our room. Seamless transition from the first hello to the last see you next time....try it for yourself you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: this is simple...just book at the Gale....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Stayed at the Gale South Beach on 21st Aug with family. Lovely small boutique hotel just steps away from the beach. Hotel and the rooms were welcoming and very modern and roof top pool exquisite. Food and drinks are expensive, but so are the restaurants. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Everyone at the Gale is fabulous. Rooms are very modern and the bed was the most comfortable I've slept in years. Is within walking distance to everything, shopping, clubs, the beach. Jose at the Front Desk was very courteous and attentive at all times.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brescia, Italy
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Very nice hotel in the center of Miami night life.
Beautifull style with a retro taste but with all the modernity a tecnology you need.
The room was amazing spacious and comfortable, just beware of the open view shower if you are not intimate with your room mate/s
Make sure you understand the billing conditions before complaining and enjoy a touch of luxury for half the price.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I went for a weekend trip with my girls and chose The Gale Hotel becuase of the ratings and the rates. I was not dissapointed! The rooms are a tad small, but we were partying and at the beach and pool parties all weekend, we weren't bothered by it at all. The hotel is very clean, and I LOVE the decor! The staff was amazing! Very accommodating, helpful and friendly. Can't want to stay here again on my next trip to Miami.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anamaria T, Manager at Gale South Beach, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for taking time to give us the amazing feedback! I'm very happy to hear that all aspects of your stay were spot on and you had such an amazing girls trip. We work continuously with our staff to make sure we deliver on all of our guest expectations and needs, fortunately we have an amazing staff and this inherently is second nature to them which makes our jobs that much better. Thank you again for the great review and we hope to see you much sooner than later!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

Just had a three night stay here, perfect fit for a more low key trip to South Beach. The service we experienced while here was above and beyond...major thanks to Raphael the concierge as well as Clyde who served us at Dolce (the lovely restaurant here). A few items of note:

The good...
- location can't be beat (unless it was truly on the beach)
- extremely clean, beautifully decorated hotel
- again, fantastic staff!
- loved the chill vibe of the pool...definitely not a spot for people who want to party but rather want to relax
- the Regent Cocktail Club and the Dolce Italian Restaurant were both fabulous dining/drinking venues. Both exceeded my expectations. We were treated to an incredible live concert at the cocktail lounge by Brendan O'hare, a local musician who is truly talented and entertaining.

The not so good...
- Verizon customers will have a hard time getting service here
- not sure about all rooms but our room with two full beds was teeny tiny. Didn't matter much because we were out and stayed in and even just two people in there almost seemed crowded
- not a lot of privacy in thebathroom area of each room
- an additional $158 charge magically appeared on our final bill. We noticed it and it was removed but it was an added "gratuity" on there by accident.
- the K-17 beach access is a good 5-7 minute walk from the hotel. No alcohol served.

I would definitely stay here again but recommend it for folks looking for a more casual, intimate atmosphere. Not a good place for folks with kids or people looking to blow it out/party. But it was perfect for a quick and fun getaway with my sister. Thanks to the staff at the Gale for everything.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anamaria T, Manager at Gale South Beach, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
The overview that you've provided is extremely helpful for those may not know what to expect during a first stay at Gale South Beach. Our location is really allows one to see all that South Beach has to offer just by walking out of the hotel and making a left or right, no need for a car when staying here. The cleanliness and décor of the rooms allows for our guest to feel as they are our first guest with the modern yet art deco vibe Miami has come to be known for. As for our amenities, our rooftop pool allows our gueststo relax and recharge the batteries for yet another night out in South Beach. Regent Bar was voted “Best New Bar in the World by Tales of the Cocktail so I can’t say I am surprised it exceeded your expectations, yet Iam thrilled that it did. As far as some of your “not so good” points we take our guest feedback very seriously. You mentioned your Verizon signal, and last just last week we have added cell phone repeaters throughout the property and this is no longer an issue. Furthermore, we do select rooms that have full private bathrooms, please contact myself directly at ats@meninhotels.com and I will handle your request.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gale South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gale South Beach

Address: 1690 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 202 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gale South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gale South beach & Regent hotel is set on the Southwest corner of 17th street and Collins Avenue, just steps from the ocean. Located in the heart of South Beach, the hotel is within walking distance of popular attractions including Lincoln Road, New World Symphony, Fillmore Theater, Miami Beach Convention Center, and Ocean Dr. The 87 room luxury boutique hotel features certified green rooms and signature suites offering luxury Italian linens, marble bath appointments, exclusive Menin Hotels GUYandGIRL bath amenities, a 55 inch high definition LED television with an expanded 90 channel HD lineup on the latest IBAHN system, iHOME docking station for the latest ipads, fully stocked mini bar, WiFi Internet access, room service, state-of-the-art fitness center, access to the K17 Beach Club, and nightly turn down service. Gale South Beach offers a collection of food and beverage venues including Dolce Italian Cafe & Bar, the Regent Cocktail Club, a rooftop bar and Rec Room. Leisure activities include Beach Cruisers, Saturday Morning Beach Yoga and rooftop pool deck with city and ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Gale South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gale South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.