We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true gem....it's where you want to be!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gale South Beach

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Gale South Beach to your Saves list
Gale South Beach
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1690 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (City Center)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Upgrade to Kaskades Suite
Ranked #39 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A true gem....it's where you want to be!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

I just got home from a great weekend in South Beach and I couldn't wait to get on the computer and give my review of a brand new swanky hotel called The Gale on 16th and Collins Avenue. This brand new hotel doesn't miss a beat....the room are elegantly simple and quite inviting with all of the modern bells and whistles. The rain shower was pretty amazing too! The hotel is loaded with pictures of old Miami Beach....it's pretty cool to see the history of the city as the backdrop for the hotels new design. The design in warm and inviting and the vibe is definitely cool!! Check out the rooftop Infiniti pool with a view of the ocean. The restaurant is great...and the hotel bars have a pretty good scene late at night. They even have a great coffee bar. The staff is friendly and they are eager to please. The only complaint I had was that the closet space was small......I wasn't moving in so I got over it fast! This is my new favorite south beach hotel!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anamaria T, Manager at Gale South Beach, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear HolBre,

Thank you for your kind words regarding our brand new hotel and countless amenities that Gale South Beach & Regent Hotel has to offer. The hotel design is striving to create a signature South Beach class and chic Italian notes. Our rooftop pool has definitely been a hit among all our Guests as the 360 degrees view of the city and the ocean is absolutely breathtaking. We look forward to a return visit to this “true gem” and in the meantime, remain at your service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    462
    219
    70
    49
    37
See reviews for
100
263
35
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Having a soft opening during the chaotic week of Art Basel, the Gale managed to keep it together and host our group with a fantastic hotel experience. The staff was lovely and helpful, and the rooms were small but chic and immaculate. It's not in full swing just yet (fyi Amy Sacco's basement club is), but I can't wait to see what's in store for this sure-fire hotspot come mid-Jan, when the hotel officially opens.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anamaria T, Manager at Gale South Beach, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear goldgirl87,

It’s been an honor to host your group during the week of Art Basel and we are looking forward to having you back at the hotel! You are absolutely correct; the Rec Room is in full swing and has definitely been the hottest spot throughout the entire week of events. Thank you for taking the time to recognize our staff as we take great pride in providing the highest level of customer service. I encourage you to visit secret-rates.com when you decide to return so you can book your next stay at a great rate.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Wow. I stayed here last second just by walking by the place. Didn't expect much, not on beach, but looked cool and retro from outside. Walked in and was blow away how cool the place was. Bellman, mike was his name, cool uniform and super sweet. Girl at front desk gave me and my friends a great rate during Basel and especially last second! When we walked into the room we were stunned at how pretty the place was, big tv, marble bathrooms and the most comfortable beds and sheets I have ever stayed on! I slept the best in 3 months. I left today and will return in January to miami and will 100 percent book again here!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anamaria T, Manager at Gale South Beach, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear SGalena,

Glad your walk by brought you to our beautiful hotel and we were able to accommodate you during such a busy time as Art Basel. We are thrilled to hear we have exceeded your expectations in terms of design and service. I will be sure to pass the recognition on to Mike. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I were rejected from a sister hotel of Gale hotel (SHELBORNE hotel) for a room we had paid. We pre-paid a room for over $300, but yes we're transferred to this hotel. Arrived at this hotel, we're given a small with small window facing an awful back of the building (see photo I posted). No proper customer service that really alleviate our anger after being transferred from another hotel under the same management. Worst we're given a room with a rate of $240 (shown on credit card machine), even though we paid $340. NO refund or any credit given back to us.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anamaria T, Manager at Gale South Beach, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear Noble L.,

I would like to extend my sincerest apologies for all the inconveniences you have experienced during your stay in Miami Beach. It is our goal to deliver a relaxing atmosphere and create memorable experiences for our Guests. As a valued Guest of the Gale South Beach & Regent Hotel, we would like to have the chance to win you back. I invite you to email me directly at ats@meninhotels.com so we can coordinate your next stay in one of our Signature Terrazos Suites so that you can receive a true Gale experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Not often are you able to be the first to review a hotel - but here we are - staying at the brand new Gale Hotel having a great time.

The hotel is simply beautifullly decorated and designed - but more importantly - the staff is 200 % focused on giving the best service.

The hotel is today 3 days old and one would expect some start up problems in a hotel with a fully new staff. Not here - the staff is most professional and is able to make a great atmosphere in the hotel

There is a fashionable pool on the roof with 360 view of Miami Beach a first class restaurant at first floor and a nightclub in the basement.

This is a place I would like to go back to - and will !!!

Room Tip: I would go for a room above first floor as first floor is close to the bar - but not much problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anamaria T, Manager at Gale South Beach, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear tangisoslo,

Wow! – what a generous first review. Thank you for your high praise of the Gale South Beach & Regent Hotel. We are delighted you have enjoyed our unique décor and we appreciate your compliments regarding our friendly and attentive staff. The entire team is looking forward to having you back for another first class experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I have stayed at other Menin properties, including the one in Chicago an at the Shelborne in South Beach. This hotel just opened this week and at the Last minute I needed a room for Art Basel. What a surprise, even though my room was a little small, it was absolutely beautiful and very well appointed. The staff was so friendly and accommodating, they made me feel I was at home.
Even though they are not directly on the ocean they arrange for us to get free beach chairs across the street. The pool on the roof was breathtaking.
This will be the place I will only stay on my next visit to South Beach and very reasonable, I only paid $325 for a great room during Art Basel.
Special thanks to Ana at the front desk to attending personally to all my needs.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anamaria T, Manager at Gale South Beach, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Dear BobbiR,

Your loyalty towards all Menin Hotels properties is incredible and we were honored to have you as one of the first official Guests at the Gale South Beach & Regent Hotel. We are happy to hear that our luxurious boutique style has met your expectations in terms of room amenities, pool and beach access. Our personalized service is a priority among all staff members and I am flattered of you mentioning my name in this wonderful review. I hope you have the opportunity to visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gale South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gale South Beach

Address: 1690 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gale South Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gale South beach & Regent hotel is set on the Southwest corner of 17th street and Collins Avenue, just steps from the ocean. Located in the heart of South Beach, the hotel is within walking distance of popular attractions including Lincoln Road, New World Symphony, Fillmore Theater, Miami Beach Convention Center, and Ocean Dr. The 87 room luxury boutique hotel features certified green rooms and signature suites offering luxury Italian linens, marble bath appointments, exclusive Menin Hotels GUYandGIRL bath amenities, a 55 inch high definition LED television with an expanded 90 channel HD lineup on the latest IBAHN system, iHOME docking station for the latest ipads, fully stocked mini bar, WiFi Internet access, room service, state-of-the-art fitness center, access to the K17 Beach Club, and nightly turn down service. Gale South Beach offers a collection of food and beverage venues including Dolce Italian Cafe & Bar, the Regent Cocktail Club, a rooftop bar and Rec Room. Leisure activities include Beach Cruisers, Saturday Morning Beach Yoga and rooftop pool deck with city and ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Gale South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gale South Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.