We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Yummy!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zen Sai

Zen Sai
1001 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
+1 786-276-5339
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Zen Sai is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #30 of 909 Restaurants in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 10th Street
Description: Zen Sai is an Asian-fusion masterpiece. It's a unique social dining experience on South Beach with small and large sharing plates of fresh seafood and Robata grilled items. Signature items at Zen Sai include Fried Bok Choy, Black Cod with Yuzu Miso Sauce, Scallion Wrapped Ribeye, Pork Belly Sliders, Robata Grilled Octopus, Miso-Mustard Glazed Sea Bass and Spicy Rock Shrimp Tempura with Serrano Aioli and Worcestershire Sauce. Zen Sai also features an extensive wine list, fine sakes and specialty cocktails to complement menu items.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Very Yummy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

We had a few appies and it was very creative and tasty! The waitstaff was very attentive but forgot to get our last round of drinks (and the place was almost empty) guess the boys couldn't tear their eyes away from the girl eye-candy on the street...lol.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    36
    10
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“would not come back”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

all the reviews said this place was amazing. the "udon" was fettucine with bean sprouts... we split four sushi rolls and all were good but nothing special. we had the prosciutto roll which was tasty, spicy tuna, eel and shrimp tempura, all of which werent bad but nothing to rave about. we didnt order drinks. the server was nice. we sat outside on a nice night so the view was pretty but food was subpar.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“excellent restaurant in Miami Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

I was here on business last week, and I was staying at the Blue Moon in Miami Beach. It was raining so I decided to stay local. I went across the street and sat at the bar at Zen Sai. the service was excellent as was the food. The GM is a great guy, and the meals were fresh and had perfect portion sizes. I had the tempura asparagus appetizer, and the spring rolls , and both were fantastic. For the entree, I had the Cod. I strongly recommend to eat here.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“What a Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

My wife and I stayed in the iconic Essex House a few years ago. Had a nice bar then. Stopped by this week for a drink and we were pleasantly surprised to find that they have created a very nice Asian themed restaurant with great specialty cocktails, a good selection of sake, and fabulous food. We sampled the sushi and some rock shrimp at the bar. Fabulous experience. The server was informed and very friendly. We had a lot of fun.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aspen, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

I don't get the great reviews- the food here is a joke. And the service was too scripted and over-zealous. The spicy rock shrimp was just regular shrimp and it wasnt spicy. The lobster sushi was so average- its not even funny and at $20 it should taste much better than it did. The only saving grace was the black cod.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zen Sai also viewed

 
Miami Beach, FL
 

Been to Zen Sai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zen Sai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.