We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food at Zen Sai” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zen Sai

Zen Sai
Essex Hotel, 1001 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Zen Sai is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #48 of 840 Restaurants in Miami Beach
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 10th Street
Description: Zen Sai is an Asian-Infusion masterpiece featuring renowned Chef Mike Hiraga. It's a unique social dining experience on South Beach with small and large sharing plates of fresh seafood and Robata grilled items. Signature items at Zen Sai include Fried Bok Choy, Black Cod with Yuzu Miso Sauce, Scallion Wrapped Ribeye, Pork Belly Sliders, Robata Grilled Octopus, Miso-Mustard Glazed Sea Bass and Spicy Rock Shrimp Tempura with Serrano Aioli and Worcestershire Sauce. Zen Sai also features an extensive wine list, fine sakes and specialty sake cocktails to complement menu items
Miami
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Great food at Zen Sai”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

The food at Zen Sai was outstanding. The fried bok choy was crisp and not greasy at all. The Garbanzo Spring Rolls with curry sauce were also crispy but the star of that dish is the delicious sauce. The Sea Bass with Black Bean Sauce just melted in your mouth. The King Crab roll was very flavorful. Service was attentive. It's located in The Essex Hotel in the middle of the action on South Beach. It's mostly outdoor sitting but there's some tables inside and a small bar. Would definitely recommend.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    67
    20
    6
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Great restaurant with excellent food and service - a rarity in South Beach!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

I had read a few reviews on trip advisor before deciding to make a reservation at zen sai. Even with high expectations, zen sai's wonderful customer service and passion for food exceeded them. Definitely don't skip a cocktail - the cucumber basil martini was a treat! Another must-have would be the chicken pad thai and bread pudding! You will not be disappointed with this relaxing atmosphere and great service!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Surpassed expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We were staying at the Clevelander and this Japanese restaurant is part of the company. It's located behind the Clevelander as part of the Essex House hotel. As a result we received a 30% off discount card for the restaurant when we checked in.

That paradoxically made me a bit wary of the place - discount, part of the hotel; perhaps i'm odd - but my girlfriend really wanted to go and the reviews were good. So pleased we went!

We had a great cocktail each and shared a bottle of wine.

As for the food, it's not authentic Japanese but Japanese fusion. You order several dishes, tapas style. The food was delicious.

Our server, Andrew, was friendly and enthusiastic, making us feel very welcome.

When the bill/check came, we couldn't believe how could value it was. With the 30% discount applied it was obviously even better.

Whether you are staying at The Clevelander or Essex House (and thus get the discount) or not, you should definitely visit. A great dining experience.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga
Top Contributor
217 reviews 217 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“great place to have trendy food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

this is perfect Japaneese fusion restaurant. offers great selection of trendy fussion food. delicious and well presented. only as wine list could be a little bit more extended...

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“GREAT FIND!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

A block away from Ocean Drive and yet you feel as if you have entered an oasis. Classy, refreshing and fun this restaurant offers foodies tastes that will delight your palate.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zen Sai also viewed

 

Been to Zen Sai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zen Sai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;