We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“my review is based on the restaurant only” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Victor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Victor to your Saves list
Hotel Victor
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1144 Ocean Dr., Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #72 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“my review is based on the restaurant only”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

we'd been in Miami beach just a couple of hours and went here for lunch. they've the usual pavement seating and also a courtyard back from the road. The odd thing was that they didn't have any wine - they were changing their supplier - but the cocktails were good as were the salads - we'd been desperate for some of our 5 a day as we'd been traveling. The service was excellent - and a couple of days later we bumped into our waiter who remembered us - VERY unusual! So - does what it says on the tin and a great introduction to Miami

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danni T, Manager at Hotel Victor, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank you for stopping by and taking the time to write a review. We are excited about our new addition, Sugar Factory. It gives our hotel, as well as Ocean Dive, something new and exciting not, to mention exceptional service which complements our great food and drink options. We hope you would stop by again, during your next visit to Miami Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    130
    47
    28
    32
See reviews for
53
220
19
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

The Hotel Victor in Miami is a fabulous hotel on ocean drive.... having a bite to eat, an amazing cocktail from the Sugar Factory and people watch. The hotel is very modern and contemporary. The receptionist that checked us in was very informative. We were fascinated with our King Deluxe Guestroom. We could overlook the gorgeous pool outside of our room. There is a $22/daily fee which was noted on my reservation through Book It.com! It's in fine print and you don't pay it as part of your online reservation, you pay it upon departure. But the fee includes beach towels, wi-fi, daily breakfast, bikes you can ride on the boardwalk. My one complaint is housekeeping. They really didn't clean the room. They just brought more towels and made up the bed. I look forward to staying at the Hotel Victor again! Oh, one more thing, Maurice at the pool side provided excellent service. He was very attentive and passionate about his job. He made you feel comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danni T, Manager at Hotel Victor, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank you for your detailed review, we appreciate it. Please accept my apology for the inconvenience you encountered during your visit. I have shared your comments with the appropriate department. I am glad that you enjoyed your visit overall and that you wish to return. We are looking forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

We booked the Hotel Victor mainly for its location. If you are looking for a hotel right across from the beach with access to lots of shops and restaurants, Hotel Victor is a really good choice. It is within walking distance to many places and they also provided bicycles to their guests.

The Staff was great. We actually took an early flight into Miami and arrived at about 10 am at the hotel. Checkin isn't until 4pm. They informed us our room wasn't ready but offered to stow our bags away for us and them take to room when it was ready and call us to let us know. By the time we had eating lunch, walked around a bit ,and took a stroll on the beach....which took about 3 hours, our room was ready. When got up to our room, the luggage was there as promised.

The room was nice. Very clean. We had a bungalow room with pool access. Virtually no noise heard in our room from the clubs nearby and restaurant down stairs. Great view of Lummus Park and the ocean. My only complaints were that the patio doors in the bungalow room don't lock very well and that there was not a lot of lighting in the room. Another thing was that as nice as the hotel is in the lobby and around the pool area, it feels as though they kind of slacked off on little touches in the rooms and in the hallways and such. Would also have liked it if they would've had beach chairs and umbrellas on the beach for their guest and more of a variety on their breakfast buffet.

All in all we had a nice stay and we would definitely stay there again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danni T, Manager at Hotel Victor, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Thank you for choosing our hotel and taking the time to write a review. I am glad that you enjoyed your visit with us, over all. We value your feedback, as this will help us to improve on our shortcomings. We cannot wait to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

The only good thing about this hotel it's the good location.
The other stuff is not good:
-When you arrive, the charge you 22$ per day as a "Service fee".
-There are nor chairs neither umbrellas at the beach for the hotel guests like it happens in most of the miami hotel.
-The breakfast is the worst thing i've seen ever: lack of variety, terrible service, and if you want something else than dried scrambled eggs, bacon, cereals, or toasts (there's nothing else you can choose for eat), you have to pay extra for waffles, pancakes, fried eggs, or stuuf like that. This hotel has to learn from other good breakfast bufets like the one in The Palms Hotel and Resort, with lower prices per night and incredible services.
-The room small, and poor room service. The smell of the pillows were terrible.
The price per night and the extra charges you find at your arrival don't worth it. Try to find another option.

Room Tip: Don't pay for the breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danni T, Manager at Hotel Victor, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and observations, it is very important to us. I would like to apologize for your experience while visiting with us. I understand that the timing of your visit was a midst the transitioning of our new restaurant, Sugar Factory. I am sorry that the services offered at that time did not meet your expectations.

We do charge a daily service fee of $22.00 per day plus tax, like all other hotels in South Beach.
The service fee includes a full buffet breakfast, along with many other amenities. We have found that most of our guests preferred a full breakfast, Wi-Fi access, I Pads, usage of our steam room, gym and beach towels, in place of a beach chair. I have shared your review with the appropriate departments, as your feedback will helps us to improve on our shortcomings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santana Parnaiba
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

I have already sent 4 emails in order to confirm my online reservation. No response at all. I was not there yet and I hope I dont have a bad experience. If they dont care about future guests, imagine their attention to those who already paid...

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Smart hotel with great vibe, helpful staff and great location. The pool area is nice but can get busy and while breakfast was included the selection wasnt huge. Would happily go back as we were on the doorstep to everything in South beach and found exploring on foot was the best way to see it all. If you're here for the beach then you couldn't get a better spot than here, in the evening they have a bar menu and table service for drinks and music - party tunes playing loud, this bit might not appeal to all but we were impressed with it and it sets the tone for what else is on offer in the area.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danni T, Manager at Hotel Victor, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. It was great having you here with us, I am glad that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you during your next visit to South Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

3d floor room, with pool view and balcony; The building seems to be in good shape, location wise...just as ordered, friendly front desk staff, and helpful porter. Rooms, great! Apparently the hotel was in a time of change, meaning change of ownership... and staff? The bar lady needed to be told by a supervisor that a guest Can order a drink and let it be billed to the room, instead of being told that it has to be paid for immediately. Big minus, if you run a hotel, part of it is how to deal with anti social behavior form guests, please new owner….., get your people involved and equipped with the right mandate and skills to deal with it!? The behavior that I was exposed to; loud partying after 2 pm, the next day the same, but then the whole charade played out next to the pool at 5 am, the ‘guests’ where behaving as if the pool was there’s and they had no one to considerate but them self’s. This brings down the whole hotel experience to a level that in my book, is to low. Maybe the new management will make the necessary changes, it would be a shame if they didn’t for such a beautifully designed accommodation.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danni T, Manager at Hotel Victor, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and observations, it is very important to us. I would like to personally apologize for your experience while visiting here with us. As you mentioned, we are a midst a transformation, one that will enhance not just the hotel's appearance, but also our guests experience. I am sorry that the timing of your visit was a busy one, in every aspect. We are very excited about the changes and our new additions. We appreciate your review and have shared this with management. We hope that you would return, in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Victor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Victor

Address: 1144 Ocean Dr., Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#53 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#57 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Victor 4.5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on South Beach’s famed Ocean Drive, Hotel Victor offers the ultimate in style and luxury to Miami’s traveling elite. Steps from beautiful Miami Beach, this iconic hotel originally opened in 1936 and was restored in 2013, by renowned designer Yabu Pushelberg. Hotel Victor’s lavish interior aesthetic artfully complements the architecture of its storied past, while providing guests’ their heart’s desire in state-of-the-art comforts. Hotel Victor’s labyrinth of facilities will tempt all to relax in true South Beach style, whether it be in the large, lofty lobby, on the two floors of sophisticated lounge space, or poolside, on the sunbathing deck. The hotel’s premium amenities include SpaV, a 6,000 square foot subterranean oasis of rejuvenation; open-air Vue Bar and Lounge, also designed by Jacques Garcia; as well as approximately 6,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor upscale meeting space. Hotel Victor is the perfect choice for any South Beach Miami leisure escape, event, or business destination. •Custom made furniture by Yabu Pushelberg•24 hour Concierge Service•On-site Spa•Year round access to 2nd floor Pool and lounge• 24 hours Business Centre• WiFi Access ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Victor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victor Hotel Miami Beach
Hyatt Miami Beach
Hotel Victor Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Victor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.