We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun on South Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Victor

Save Saved
You added Hotel Victor to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Victor
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1144 Ocean Dr., Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 200 Hotels in Miami Beach
Modesto, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fun on South Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

The hotel was a perfectly located botique hotel in South Beach. The accomodations are contemperary and very nice. The staff was very helpful and friendly. We enjoied the pool and walking on South Beach. Overall a fun experience for our first time in Miami.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danni T, Manager at Hotel Victor, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Thank you for choosing our hotel during your first visit to South Beach. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay; we would love to have you with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    79
    26
    17
    11
See reviews for
32
127
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

This is a very lovely South Beach hotel. The facilities are incredible down to the small details. The staff members we encountered were extremely friendly and helpful. The location is great. It's a bit loud during the day and evening, but quited down by midnight. Beach access is very easy. I only wish they still had their contract with the beach chair/umbrella vendors across the street.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor if you prefer less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danni T, Manager at Hotel Victor, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are glad that you enjoyed your time with us, we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

We stayed at Hotel Victor for 3 nights. Very stylish and very helpful charming staff. Our room a King Suite was not a suite and quite a small room with large open plan bathroom ( sliding opaque doors if you want privacy). Very comfortabel bed and large wardrobe. Had to ask for more hangers but they brought them straight away. Lovely pool area but could do without the piped music. Just be aware it is on Ocean Drive which is VERY noisy. Although in room fine as windows block out the noise and we faced the side of the building next door to loud gay bar!! Fun having a drink on outside terrace on the street people watching. If you want a bit more peace the upstairs terrace is great for lounging although the bar up there closes quite early. Borrowing the free bikes was a great way to explore South Beach. Beach just across the road is lovely but can get crowded at the weekends. We dumped the car and although had to go north for a party
(expensive taxi ride) we didn't need a car to stay in South Beach area. ALL the restaurants/bars on Ocean Drive have music blaring out but try restaurants on Espanola Way. Lovely Italian and bistro. Or The Tides Hotel on Ocean Drive 2 mins away which has a lovely terrace and is quiet! All in all I would certainly recommend this hotel especially as we got a great deal from Booking.com.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danni T, Manager at Hotel Victor, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Thank you for your review it was great having you here with us. I am glad that you enjoyed your visit we look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwardsville, Illinois
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Loved the location! Beach was right across the street! Although college kids were partying into the night, our hotel room was peaceful...very well insulated! The staff was courteous and very helpful as well. My only complaint is that we were not notified of when the window washers would be working, so one guy had a free show while I was dressing.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danni T, Manager at Hotel Victor, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thank you for choosing our hotel and for your review. Please accept my personal apology for your experience while here with us. This is not acceptable, we take the comfort and privacy of our guests very seriously. Your feedback was shared with the appropriate department. We hope that you will consider us again on your next visit to South Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukie, Oregon
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2014

First stay in South Beach and while there were a few glitches and areas that could be improved, but it is still very very nice. What little we saw of other hotels, Hotel Victor looked to be one of the nicest. We had to wait for our room to be ready, but they were accommodating in storing our luggage and allowing access to the pool as well as a changing room. Despite the wait, we didn't have any glasses in our room and we found a little dirt. In the shower some of the calling was moldy looking, something a quick touch up would take care of. The sliding door that lead to the pool was hard to slide. On the positive side, the room was very nice and had a shower with a rain shower head and a very deep tub. Marceles, who handled our luggage and other needs was great. Very nice and friendly. The pool was nice, surrounded by lounges and cabana style beds. Drinks were available, but our one piña colada for $23, seemed like a lot to us. There is a free breakfast of scrambled eggs, potatoes, sausage and bacon. The Internet is free with two Macs in the lobby and a printer,that wasn't working on our day there. They did give their email address to forward to for printing. It is in a great location. Close to the Versace house and Mango Tropical Cafe. Our room had a distant view of the ocean and the 2nd story pool deck as well as a lounge area provided nice views of the excitement of Ocean Drive. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danni T, Manager at Hotel Victor, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thank you for review and observations your feedback is important to us. I am glad that you enjoyed your visit with us overall and are happy that you will return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dix Hills, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Cree made a not-so-pleasant situation better. Cree is highly intelligent, personable, winsome, and genuine and Cree really cares about her customers/clients. With Cree at the helm this Hotel is destined to be one of the best!! Thank you Cree. [Because of you I believe that the Victor has vision and potential. Because of you I would stay at the Victor again.]

Marcelis does his job with excellence! He is attentive, efficient and kind. Thank you Marcelis for your assistance and hospitality!!

Room Tip: If you are traveling solo room 608 is okay. But if you are with another person avoid 608.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danni T, Manager at Hotel Victor, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thank you for your complimentary review and for your recognition of Cree and Marcelis. We are glad that we were able to make a difference during your visit with us and cannot wait to welcome you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Neddick, Maine
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

Just back from a recent visit to Miami Beach where a good friend and I had the privilege of staying at the Hotel Victor. This hotel was exceptional for several reasons:
- The location was directly across the street from the beautiful Miami beach
- Ideal walking distance to and from Lincoln Road, restaurants, shopping and nightlife
- Though on the famed Ocean Drive, known for its parade of people and cars, the sound proofing at this hotel is so well done that noise was never an issue
- Second floor, outdoor pool that felt like being in paradise (Maurice, the pool attendant, does an outstanding job ensuring that you have everything you need for a relaxing day by the pool)
- Rooms are fresh, modern and clean. Housekeeping does a great job keeping rooms and public areas consistently clean and tidy.
- Included in the room rate was a breakfast buffet that was a great start to the morning
- Lastly, the front desk staff was always welcoming and helpful with any and all requests.
Especially the Front Office manager, Cree, and Signe who went above and beyond when I decided to move to a larger room. Their follow up and follow through is what you hope for while staying at a hotel and they make sure to deliver genuine hospitality at its best.
I'd gladly select The Hotel Victor again any time I'm in South Beach and it's a pleasure to recommend it to other visitors traveling to Miami Beach as well.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danni T, Manager at Hotel Victor, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Thank you for choosing our hotel and for recognizing a few of our amazing associates. It was a pleasure having you with us, I am glad that you were able to experience all that Hotel Victor has to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to South Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Victor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Victor

Address: 1144 Ocean Dr., Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#39 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#45 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#51 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#53 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Victor 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on South Beach’s famed Ocean Drive, Hotel Victor offers the ultimate in style and luxury to Miami’s traveling elite. Steps from beautiful Miami Beach, this iconic hotel originally opened in 1936 and was restored in 2013, by renowned designer Yabu Pushelberg. Hotel Victor’s lavish interior aesthetic artfully complements the architecture of its storied past, while providing guests’ their heart’s desire in state-of-the-art comforts. Hotel Victor’s labyrinth of facilities will tempt all to relax in true South Beach style, whether it be in the large, lofty lobby, on the two floors of sophisticated lounge space, or poolside, on the sunbathing deck. The hotel’s premium amenities include SpaV, a 6,000 square foot subterranean oasis of rejuvenation; open-air Vue Bar and Lounge, also designed by Jacques Garcia; as well as approximately 6,000 square feet of indoor and outdoor upscale meeting space. Hotel Victor is the perfect choice for any South Beach Miami leisure escape, event, or business destination. •Custom made furniture by Yabu Pushelberg•24 hour Concierge Service•On-site Spa•Year round access to 2nd floor Pool and lounge• 24 hours Business Centre• WiFi Access ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookIt.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Hotel Victor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victor Hotel Miami Beach
Hyatt Miami Beach
Hotel Victor Miami

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Victor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.