We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chic & Cozy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Standard Miami

Save Saved
You added The Standard Miami to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Standard Miami
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40 Island Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Intox + Detox
Ranked #44 of 201 hotels in Miami Beach
Santiago, Chile
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Chic & Cozy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

What an experience! since you leave the cab and they open you the front door, it's sure you will have the best experience ever in hotel stay! People on front desk are very nice, and the feeling you're arriving for the best days of your life start with their smile. Rooms are very cozy and with a beach look decor, nice shower and closet, filled with great drinks and snacks, beds are very comfortable and give you a great sleeping experience.
Outdoors, wow, you will be amazed by the gardens, the relax area, day or night, and when you elk to the pool area and the Grill Bar, you will be amazed again by the views of the city and ocean.
Service, well, the best I'd been in the last years in a hotel. There's always nice people to assist you and they are really cool, modern and good looking too. Make you feel good!
Foods are excellent, from breakfast options menu or lunch and dinning, very healthy options are available too, you will love.
Make sure you send time on their gym and spa facilities, just great!
and please, spend time around the pool and bar! you will feel good with great people around and the service their offer, a must GO!

Room Tip: If you want quite rooms ask for the ones on the right side of hotel, they are away from walking path...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

811 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    361
    219
    96
    73
    62
See reviews for
27
340
88
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Celebration, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

Service is second to none. After several visits over past 8 years, it continues to hold the highest 'standard'!!
The Spa, the hot tub, plunge pool, infinity pool - all lead to the ultimate weekend of relaxation.
It is not cheap, but it is worth every penny blowing the "Typical" south beach hotel - clean out of the water!!!
Serenity Now!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

As a guest of the hotel and while sending client, I cannot properly articulate with adjectives to describe the experience while relaxing by the pool of The Standard Hotel of Miami Beach. Although each member of the pool team is excellent, I wanted to take a moment and recognize Yessie.

Her spirit of kindness and genuine sense of caring for each member or guest of the hotel is outstanding. I have observed her as she takes time to ensure that each person around the pool is having a great experience. She actively listens and proactively makes changes for them to ensure that their needs are being taken care of.

Although the temperature of the sun is extremely hot, it never has an affect on her great smile and positive energy.

Thank you to all the team members of the pool that ensure that each guest is having an incredible experience. The management of the hotel truly has a positive influence on their team members.

Room Tip: I have personally stayed at the hotel and placed my clients at the hotel. It allows myself and my c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The only good place with ocean front dining good service and goo food in Miami. So much water and so few places to enjoy with water view. Highly recommended. People watching without comparison. Expensive but worth every penny

Room Tip: I'm referring to the spa restaurant swimming pool no the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

This might be one of my favorite places to stay in the country, and is definitely the only place I'd consider staying in Miami. Five Stars IMHO yes, although WITH SOME MAJOR CAVEATS:

As I mentioned in the 'headline' the main reason I like it so much is it's really like a big spa that has some rooms you can stay in. (The hotel itself is fairly small.) The SPA is exceptionally well run, the HOTEL is not. Since the hotel is so small, they sell spa memberships to people who live in the area. So if you go on a week-end, a lot of the people in the spa and outside at the pool will be locals partying, which is another thing I like a lot: I always meet interesting people here. Spa services are pricey, but completely in line with the area. (Actually, if you're staying somewhere else, another nice thing here is if you book any spa service, you can use the pool, etc. for the day, not just the sauna, which would be the case in most other hotel/spas.) And the quality of spa treatments is good. The sauna and steam room are exceptional. As is the pool, which pipes music in when you're underwater. I also like the outdoor mud treatments (including a naked dip into Biscayne Bay afterwards!)

Now for the negatives: check-in is a rather late 4 PM. Even then, every time I've stayed, my room hasn't been ready at that time. It is irritating to arrive at or after the check-in time and be told: "You're in queue for a room." The only saving grace is the spa has good facilities so you can leave all your stuff in a locker and just go straight to the pool. And this last time the front desk person said she'd call me when the room was ready, which seemed like an improvement in the system, only 3, 4 hours later nobody had called me. (Actually, this ended up costing the hotel $, which I'm sure they don't want: since I didn't have a room #, I couldn't do room charge for drinks at the pool, so was limited to the cash I had on hand, which wasn't much...) Finally, as the sun went down, I called the front desk and they said "Oh yeah, your room is ready." So, great. So I figure I'll pick up the keys, and my bags will be in the room (as they would be in any good hotel.) But no. I get the keys, go to the room, then have to go back to the front to fetch my bags. Similarly, I booked a package through the hotel which included a bottle of wine. The wine should've been in the room when I got to the room. No. No wine appeared until I called and asked for it. And a couple of other things I've mentioned before: 1) the rooms do not have enough power: just 2 open electrical outlets, not enough in this day-and-age. (They could remove the TV for all I care, just give me a place to plug in!) 2) They give you nice robes, but no place to hang them: there are no hooks of any kind in the bathroom. Weird. 3) Why don't they service breakfast in the waterside restaurant?

Staff is uniformly friendly, although not always completely helpful.

With that said: I am still giving it 5 stars, which tells you a lot about my overall experience!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Just back from my 4th trip to The Standard in Miami and it gets better every time. The pool is awesome - shade and sun options and lots of friendly servers running around offering water, food, and drinks. The underwater music is a perfect example of how this property offers great surprises. The entire staff is friendly, responsive, and happy to help. The food on property is terrific. It's understated but delivers on quality 100%. Look for Alex at check-in - especially helpful and attentive!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

My family and I had a marvelous time at the Standard Miami. Wonderful retro interiors, very friendly staff, awesome spa facilities, and some excellent dining too - must recommend the resort's Lido Grill Restaurant for some exquisite seafood dishes. And the view of the sunset by the pool is priceless! Just a perfect place to be in Miami!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Standard Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Standard Miami

Address: 40 Island Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#22 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#29 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#40 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#44 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Standard Miami 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on tiny Belle Isle in Biscayne Bay, The Standard, Miami is an indoor and outdoor hydrotherapy playground that fosters stress-free socializing in a tropical, contemporary setting. With a minimalist design, the holistic hydrotherapy spa hotel provides a stylish yet intimate ambience just blocks from the glitz of South Beach's nightlife and celebrity crowd. Owned by hotelier Andre Balazs, the hotel, winner of Conde Nast Traveler's Readers' Favorite Spa Hotel award, features a one-acre garden with do-it-yourself hydrotherapy-based scrubs, plunges, open-air mud baths, and stunning amenities that include a 103° F Roman Waterfall Hot Tub, a 50° F Arctic Plunge, and a 12-foot Falling Water Column. The 12,500-square-foot spa boasts one of the largest hammams in North America, in addition to an exceptional treatment menu of bodywork, massage, facials, and complementary health alternatives. More than 40 fitness classes are available weekly (including eight types of yoga), and the hotel's restaurants offer healthful Mediterranean coastal cuisine and al fresco dining. The modest guest capacity (a mere 100 rooms) complements the hotel's communal setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Booking.com, Splendia, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, MrandMrsSmith, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Travelocity, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your The Standard Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Standard Miami Hotel Miami Beach
Standard Miami Beach
Standard Miami Hotel Beach
Standard Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Standard Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.