We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great property; really friendly service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Standard Miami

Save Saved
You added The Standard Miami to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Standard Miami
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40 Island Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Extra Playtime
Ranked #45 of 201 Hotels in Miami Beach
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great property; really friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Just back from my 4th trip to The Standard in Miami and it gets better every time. The pool is awesome - shade and sun options and lots of friendly servers running around offering water, food, and drinks. The underwater music is a perfect example of how this property offers great surprises. The entire staff is friendly, responsive, and happy to help. The food on property is terrific. It's understated but delivers on quality 100%. Look for Alex at check-in - especially helpful and attentive!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    224
    98
    74
    62
See reviews for
28
343
89
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

My family and I had a marvelous time at the Standard Miami. Wonderful retro interiors, very friendly staff, awesome spa facilities, and some excellent dining too - must recommend the resort's Lido Grill Restaurant for some exquisite seafood dishes. And the view of the sunset by the pool is priceless! Just a perfect place to be in Miami!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

The Standard was an amazing place to spend the day with my family.
I enjoyed an entire day in their spa facilities, followed by a delicious dinner at their restaurant.
The spa has a very relaxing "Hammam" area which was made of heated marble.
The restaurant had a great variety of healthier made, but still extremely delicious seafood that made me feel great after eating.
If you want a place to be able to relax on vacation, without feeling guilty, definitely check out The Standard!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

The hotel has a rather quirky retro feel and is for adults only. It's located in a pleasant residential area. There are a number of good restaurants about 5 minutes walk away on Purdy Avenue. The hotel gardens and pool area are a real plus, particularly as there are a number of comfy shady spots. We ate dinner one night in the hotel's Lido Restaurant and had a great meal there overlooking the water. I went to the Spa every day which is magnificent. Had a great pedicure from Patricia. Our room was not huge and had limited storage space but it did have large walk-in shower (no bath). Without exception all the hotel staff were excellent and were all extremely pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: Rooms on the ground floor have a terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

I want to preface this with the fact that I am from Miami and now live in Boca Raton. My husband sent my best friend and me to The Standard as a Mother’s Day gift. I have lived on Miami Beach and worked at a few bars in South Beach years ago. I know that Miami is known for its lack of customer service. In fact, I often joke that we take great pride in our rudeness. I am a sucker for good service. I used to hang out at The Standard when they had bingo nights and for private parties back in the day.

So when I went for an overnight stay I wasn’t really expecting much. Just a nice night away from the kids and to have a day at the (adult only) pool and spa. From the valet to the concierge, to the random people patrolling the grounds, everyone was welcoming and friendly. This is how hospitality is supposed to be. Pleasant without kissing butt, welcoming without overwhelming…

The spa is amazing. I’ve been to many, and nothing can really compare to the spa at Caesars Palace in Vegas, but this is the closest I have found in the States. It was clean, tranquil and relaxing.

The pool staff was pleasant without being pushy; I hate feeling like I have to spend money to get the waiter to give me better service (this is common in South Beach).

Alex, THANK YOU so much for your generous hospitality. You and The Standard staff are a doing a great job, please keep it up!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Just stayed for 4 days and had a fantastic time. The pool is large and sits on the bay. The pool service, bar and restaurant are great. The minute you arrive go see the Concierge who is in the know about restaurants, things to do, etc. in Miami. Worked out at the gym a few times, because of business meetings, didn't have time to visit the spa, but will be back try it out. Can't say enough about the friendly staff. A great place to relax and unwind. Easy walk to Lincoln road.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

What a great experience.
I booked my stay to thaw out from the worst Chicago winter on record.

I got to the hotel early to take advantage of the amazing spa. I first had a massage with Alex; it probably was the best massage in my life! Very customized and it was just what the doctored ordered. I hung around in the Hammam, sauna and steam room. All were very clean, relaxing and are open 8am-10pm. The only thing that threw me for a loop was the fact that it was co-ed. It wasn't a major issue but took a minute to adjust to. I had more (a lot more:/) services, officially checked in and headed to the pool. The front desk staff was wonderful.

The room was great, super clean and all the amenities you'd expect. I had a private patio off my room that was very quaint and a wonderful surprise.

The pool area is awesome. I loved the hot tub with the waterfall (I recommend standing under the falls and let the water hit your shoulders-so relaxing. From the water fall hop in the Arctic plunge (great for a detox). If that's not your style, the general pool is great. It's an infinity pool that is right on the bay/dock. The service staff at the pool is nice.

For dinner, I dined at the hotel restaurant, it was ok but I was there for the spa not the food. Room Service's breakfast was my favorite meal during my stay.

I really can't say enough great things. This was my first time in Miami and I literally stayed on the hotel property the entire time. It was perfectly relaxing and in a great location.

Room Tip: Garden level will get you the private patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Standard Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Standard Miami

Address: 40 Island Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#23 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#30 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#40 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Standard Miami 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on tiny Belle Isle in Biscayne Bay, The Standard, Miami is an indoor and outdoor hydrotherapy playground that fosters stress-free socializing in a tropical, contemporary setting. With a minimalist design, the holistic hydrotherapy spa hotel provides a stylish yet intimate ambience just blocks from the glitz of South Beach's nightlife and celebrity crowd. Owned by hotelier Andre Balazs, the hotel, winner of Conde Nast Traveler's Readers' Favorite Spa Hotel award, features a one-acre garden with do-it-yourself hydrotherapy-based scrubs, plunges, open-air mud baths, and stunning amenities that include a 103° F Roman Waterfall Hot Tub, a 50° F Arctic Plunge, and a 12-foot Falling Water Column. The 12,500-square-foot spa boasts one of the largest hammams in North America, in addition to an exceptional treatment menu of bodywork, massage, facials, and complementary health alternatives. More than 40 fitness classes are available weekly (including eight types of yoga), and the hotel's restaurants offer healthful Mediterranean coastal cuisine and al fresco dining. The modest guest capacity (a mere 100 rooms) complements the hotel's communal setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Tablet Hotels, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Booking.com, Splendia, Priceline, Tingo, MrandMrsSmith, Odigeo, Travelocity, Otel, Venere, HotelsClick and Jetsetter so you can book your The Standard Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Standard Miami Hotel Miami Beach
Standard Miami Beach
Standard Miami Hotel Beach
Standard Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Standard Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.