We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, relaxed and stylish spot.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Standard Miami

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Standard Miami to your Saves list
The Standard Miami
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40 Island Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Intox + Detox
Ranked #47 of 203 Hotels in Miami Beach
New York, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great, relaxed and stylish spot.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

I've stayed at the Standard many times over the past serval years. It never fails to delight me, from the fun and comfortable rooms, to the fantastic poolside, to the friendly and helpful service. A stand out in the later department, who has always helped me manage my stay with a smile, even when I was stressed by cancelled flights and delayed luggage.

I highly recommend this place, and th LA properties as well.

Room Tip: I prefer the second floor, garden side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

859 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    393
    228
    100
    75
    63
See reviews for
30
360
92
105
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Loved the spa, yoga, and pool - all very relaxing and low key. Food was delicous. Staff was helpful, friendly, and gratitious. Room was ok - the toilet didn't flush correctly all the time. Fire-pit, hammock, and bay provided the de-stressing needed - and especially the Hamam and all the lovely supporting amenities.

Room Tip: The rooms near the pool and garden are the best however waterfront is better. There are rooms on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Spagna
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

one of my favourite hotel. The best location in south beach, is not the typical hotel in Miami, is old stile, the rooms are perfect! I was in the one room with my personal garden and bath outside... amazing!! The swimming pool grate!!! The staff Greate!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

This is one of our favorite hotels in the world. My husband and I travel a whole lot and The Standard has this laid back styles while at the same time being SO cool. After visiting it a couple of times, we now know the staff and they could not be more helpful. Alex Lindao who works at the door is just an adorable guy. Just ask for him when you go there. He makes things happen, all with a smile. We are fans! And for the ladies, the scrubbing which costs only $14 at the spa is to die for.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Nice place away from the strip
Great bar overlooking the bay
Chilled out staff remind me of my stay in Fiji
So laid back and pretty cool too
Staff friendly and obviously cool
and helpful concierge knows his stuff
Ill be back to chill out soon

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

My good massage was 1) not worth the $$$ nor 2) worth the poor customer service me and my partner received throughout the facility; from the spa to the pool to the staff.
The spa was in my opinion, rather gross and dirty. I have been to many spas in the US and this was the most unsanitary. When one pays $$$ for a spa day one expects a certain level of luxury and relaxation, neither of which we received. I do not recommend this hotel or spa and am waiting for the manager to respond to my 3 page letter. Im sure you could find just as good massage on groupon.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ISMiami, General Manager at The Standard Miami, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Prlsle,
I am truly disappointed to learn about your recent experience when visiting us. I would like to learn more so we may address all your concerns about your perspective of the Spa and our services. Please email aperez@standardhotel.com so we may come up with a solution together.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, FL
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I can't afford an out of town vacation, so my friends and I like to spend the day at The Standard to get away from it all :) Sometimes we do a yoga class or get a mani/pedi and have lunch outside by the water. The Standard isn't just for tourists! If you go you MUST HAVE one of the new Pop Nature popsicles on the menu. I had a tequila lime watermelon pop -- totally unexpectedly delicious! My friend had pineapple with fresh ginger. Yummy!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Standard Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Standard Miami

Address: 40 Island Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#22 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#31 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#39 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#56 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Standard Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on tiny Belle Isle in Biscayne Bay, The Standard, Miami is an indoor and outdoor hydrotherapy playground that fosters stress-free socializing in a tropical, contemporary setting. With a minimalist design, the holistic hydrotherapy spa hotel provides a stylish yet intimate ambience just blocks from the glitz of South Beach's nightlife and celebrity crowd. Owned by hotelier Andre Balazs, the hotel, winner of Conde Nast Traveler's Readers' Favorite Spa Hotel award, features a one-acre garden with do-it-yourself hydrotherapy-based scrubs, plunges, open-air mud baths, and stunning amenities that include a 103° F Roman Waterfall Hot Tub, a 50° F Arctic Plunge, and a 12-foot Falling Water Column. The 12,500-square-foot spa boasts one of the largest hammams in North America, in addition to an exceptional treatment menu of bodywork, massage, facials, and complementary health alternatives. More than 40 fitness classes are available weekly (including eight types of yoga), and the hotel's restaurants offer healthful Mediterranean coastal cuisine and al fresco dining. The modest guest capacity (a mere 100 rooms) complements the hotel's communal setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Standard Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Standard Miami Hotel Miami Beach
Standard Miami Beach
Standard Miami Hotel Beach
Standard Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Standard Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.