We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely atmosphere and great food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Standard Miami

Save Saved
You added The Standard Miami to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Standard Miami
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40 Island Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Summer Lovin'
Ranked #50 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
UK
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Lovely atmosphere and great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for one night on our way from London to South America. Overall, the room was fine (comfy bed and nice sheets) but the knockout bit was the restaurant, which overlooks the bay. The food was as good as the view (we had some wonderful seafood). Then, before we checked out, we went for a swim in the lovely (big) pool which also overlooks the bay. A good place to stay!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

777 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    333
    214
    97
    72
    61
See reviews for
26
327
84
96
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We love The Standard South Beach- a unique, charming property with a very local feel and a beautiful view of the bay. The pool and outdoor restaurant are gorgeous. The service can be inconsistent, but the staff are all very nice, social, and welcoming. The rooms are quite small, but there's so much to do there that it didn't really bother us. On sunny days, there are wonderful outdoor spaces to lounge about, and on rainy days, the hammam, the spa, the gym, and the fitness classes kept us entertained. They don't allow kids, but dogs are welcome in all outdoor spaces on the property (including by the pool). Great place for a a fun weekend getaway.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

I have lived in South Florida for 12 years and now am a snow bird residing in Cape Cod 1/2 the year. The Standard Spa has always been my favorite hotel to stay at. It is truly a magical place. The service is always exceptional, Shante is absolutely delightful and always recognizes my voice when I call, Alex is THE best bell hop/host I have ever had, always making me feel as if we are long time friends, Sabastion is the BEST masseuse I have ever had and I have had lots of massages.

My favorite thing to do is to spend the entire day at the pool and spa with friends and family. I am known as the "spa princess" in my circle. Always bringing treats to make it an extra special experience.

I am so thankful that the spa/hotel has only gotten better and better as the years go by and I treasure every time I am blessed to spend time there. Thank you everyone at The Standard Spa Miami Beach for creating such a sanctuary for everyone to enjoy. I hope 2013 brings you a tremendous amount of success and happiness.

Room Tip: I always pack a lot of goodies so I like to have a room close to the pool so I don't have to go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 7 nights in November for our 10 year and it was great. Staff were really helpful, and the quality of the spa was tremendous. We researched lots of Miami hotels and picked this one because we got breakfast in with a deal on Travel republic. Miami is expensive and this saved us alot of money, and I think this hotel is really great value for money. The facilities are top class, free access to the spa, and I think the location is perfect. Its just off the main miami beach island but you are 2 minutes from Lincoln Road and about 15 minutes from the beach. We like being a little bit further from the main part, but within walking distance.
We have never relaxed so much on a holiday, and I liked the fact that wherever you were in this hotel you were never too far away from a comfy seat or sofa ! The menus are designed to be healthy which suited us to be honest, but you could also have burgers etc. Pool was awesome. We stayed in the most basic room and it was still more than comfortable to be honest. Would definately stay here again and recommed this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Just came back from a quick, two-night stay (my first time staying at a Standard Hotel). Been to Miami before, so since this was such a shot trip I never left the property. The spa amenities were amazing. Amazing Hammam and pool. Enjoyed two spa treatments, as well - which were both well worth the money. Had a nice, smaller sized "wet" room with outdoor bath that I enjoyed one night. (Leave your modesty at home though - a few gauzy canvas curtains surround your patio/bath.) Only gripes would be that the service at the outdoor restaurant could have been better. I was a solo traveller and often found myself "accidentally" forgotten (be it to take my order, provide me with the check, refill my wine etc.) Also, I found the food quality to be spotty (and pricey - but that was to be expected.) Three meals I had were amazing (fish dishes and burratina) - others were bland and completely under-seasoned (don't bother getting the chicken.) Despite these small things, I'd definitely be back. The grounds are beautiful and the spa amenities were to die for. Perfect for a mini relaxing escape.

Room Tip: Consider getting a room with an outdoor bath. Very relaxing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

the best happy hour at the pool bar, especially in the summer, when the sun is setting on the bay. and it's until 8pm, an hour later than other locations. the bar staff are great, as are all the servers. just bring enough cigarettes if you smoke because they charge $14/ pack otherwise.
unfortunately only doing happy hour on fridays now, because it's "season."
otherwise, the hotel is awesome and attracts the cool crowd who wants to be off the beach.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubliner
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Stayed here for one night, rooms are TINY and badly layed out, no bedside tables... its beautifully decorated... More of a showroom/ design fantasy (read self indulgent) than a working hotel.

Here's just a few reasons u should never stay here

We had Smashed glass on the bathroom floor in our room.

Staff woke us up several times during the night wheeling round trollies

outdoor tub has no privacy

Seemed to be a huge amount of staff just standing round socialising rather than looking after guests...roughly 80% of the people at the hotel seemed to be staff?!? managers holding staff meetings in main areas, which I thought was really rude to the guests and showed exactly the attitude they have to paying guests. You are made to feel like an inconvenience.

When we asked to do a mud treatment the staff member asked us in a bemused tone "why y'all doing this so late?... She seemed completely surprised that we wanted to do a treatment in the late afternoon.. And let us know that we'd obviously done the 'wrong thing' ... Again typical of this hotel, your just expected to know whats the norm... If any of the staff could have been torn away from thier own socialising they might have actually suggested that times of day are appropriate for which activities.

This seems to be more of a local club than a hotel.

In bad weather , it rained heavily during our visit ( not the hotels fault of course) this place is a disaster, got soaked going back to our room, staff didn't even have umbrellas for guests.

Ordered drinks at the hotel bar that night ... The waiter had to go to the pool bar in the rain to get drinks as the bar in the lobby was closed?? And came back soaked.. This place is a complete faulty towers.

The standard is seriously over priced for what was essentially an over designed hostel. We weren't even invited to look at the spa no doubt that would have been too much hassle for everyone, this place is buried firmly in its own indulgent fantasy.

On complaining politely on our way out we were just told 'sorry to hear that' and had the full bill shoved at us... No discount.

Two good things:
breakfast
Beautiful design, amazing furniture

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ISMiami, General Manager at The Standard Miami, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear digifunk,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your recent stay. I am happy to hear you liked our design and breakfast during your time with us. I would like to apologize for the noise from the carts and employees that made your stay anything less than relaxing. I assure you this is not common on our property and are addressing all your concerns internally. We hope you will give us another chance in the near future. I assure you, your next visit will be markedly improved.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Standard Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Standard Miami

Address: 40 Island Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#24 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#32 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#44 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#50 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Standard Miami 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on tiny Belle Isle in Biscayne Bay, The Standard, Miami is an indoor and outdoor hydrotherapy playground that fosters stress-free socializing in a tropical, contemporary setting. With a minimalist design, the holistic hydrotherapy spa hotel provides a stylish yet intimate ambience just blocks from the glitz of South Beach's nightlife and celebrity crowd. Owned by hotelier Andre Balazs, the hotel, winner of Conde Nast Traveler's Readers' Favorite Spa Hotel award, features a one-acre garden with do-it-yourself hydrotherapy-based scrubs, plunges, open-air mud baths, and stunning amenities that include a 103° F Roman Waterfall Hot Tub, a 50° F Arctic Plunge, and a 12-foot Falling Water Column. The 12,500-square-foot spa boasts one of the largest hammams in North America, in addition to an exceptional treatment menu of bodywork, massage, facials, and complementary health alternatives. More than 40 fitness classes are available weekly (including eight types of yoga), and the hotel's restaurants offer healthful Mediterranean coastal cuisine and al fresco dining. The modest guest capacity (a mere 100 rooms) complements the hotel's communal setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Splendia, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, MrandMrsSmith, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Otel, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your The Standard Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Standard Miami Hotel Miami Beach
Standard Miami Beach
Standard Miami Hotel Beach
Standard Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Standard Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.