We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small and nice, but pricey food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Standard Miami

Save Saved
You added The Standard Miami to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Standard Miami
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40 Island Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Intox + Detox
Ranked #40 of 201 hotels in Miami Beach
UK
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Small and nice, but pricey food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

This place is a nice get away from the tourist rush of south beach and only a sort 10 minute walk to the main shopping area. They have a nice pool and hot tub, with a lovely eating area. The food though is quite limited, pretty much the same for lunch and dinner and a little pricey. The service is also very slow

The spa is nice and has a good set up apart form the lockers being a floor down so there is a bit of up and down in the lift to get you started

The rooms are ok, the bath outside is a nice idea but you are separated by flimsy white curtains with gaps so you have to be in your swim wear and not care about flashing your bits! But it makes for a nice change to bath outside

Room Tip: Get a room with an outside bath, unless you are a little prudish!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

808 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    360
    219
    96
    73
    60
See reviews for
27
338
88
101
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I did not stay at the Standard Hotel; I used the spa. I looked carefully at the spa website before scheduling an appointment, and the spa looked wonderful; their website designer did a great job. The spa treatment I received was excellent. Unfortunately, the spa did not live up to the photos on the website. The spa dressing rooms were undergoing painting which I was not told about when making the reservation. The spa facilities were clearly used for something else at one time. In the bathroom there was no place to put anything down. There was one coat of paint on loud wallpaper. The shower had a large black bug in it, and as I was dressing after the shower a male attendant asked another spa customer to please hand him all the dirty towels in the ladies dressing room! They were clearly short-handed. If you like 60's decor then this is your spa. I also was not comfortable with the co-ed spa hamam. This spa is clearly a "scene" for couples who like to be seen. I was looking forward to taking a spa bath; the tubs are located out in the open with no privacy. Tops for women are optional. Great if you're in your 20's...not so great beyond that. I will not be returning.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Having to work very hard and then rejuvinate in downtime so was the perfect place. In turns romantic, spiritual, fun, healthy AND party time. And the styling is absolutely sublime. Thanks to Grace for looking after us, all the tremendous service at the pool and for taking care of all our needs. THE place to stay in Miami.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

A girlfriend and I (early 20's) booked our stay at the Standard because we had heard amazing things about the spa and photos of the pool online had us sold! We absolutely loved the chilled out laid back environment The Standard Miami had to offer. It felt like we had died and gone to heaven for 5 days. Yes, the rooms are small and simply decorated, but the bed was super comfortable and with the gorgeous, lush grounds and spa just steps away, we really only used the bedroom for sleeping. We started every morning sampling the delicious breakfast menu poolside and lounged and sunbathed for most of the afternoon. The pool staff were super friendly and attentive and very personable. After lazing around all day we would wander into the spa and just melt away on the heated marble in the hammam and in the steam room and sauna. Fresh towels were always available and the coed/casual environment was a nice change from the stuffier spas we have back home. We both had the the KISS treatment (massage + turkish bath) and thoroughly enjoyed this experience. My therapist in particular was excellent, maintaining the pressure I required and checking in to ensure that my comfort, music, temperature were to my liking. It was really hard to peel my body off the marble at the end of the treatment, my body just buzzed with pure bliss. In the evenings, on our way out to check the nightlife South Beach had to offer, the staff in the lobby gave very thoughtful recommendations and even went out of their way to hook us up with promoters working at the venues we were planning on visiting! We were blown away and really appreciated the personal attention we received. We are so happy with our experience at The Standard and can't wait to plan our trip back next year, we miss spending all day in our white Standard robes already!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latrobe, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

A friend arranged own birthday party at this lively, low-keyed venue. That sounds like an oxymoron yet it is true. The music at the pool bar was very jazzy/samba type music. There was much activity without it being obnoxious. The view at sunset is 'to die for' while eating mezze type snacks and drinking a large list of brews and letting the breeze play with you. One enchanting area, a firepit with 'hooded' chaise chairs, is delightful.
Drinks pricey. Food delicious.

Room Tip: Did not stay overnight so have no impression of accomodations. Although from walking the grounds, th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgeport, Connecticut
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Place is really something. From the retro decor, the staff, the pool, the often topless bathers (my fiancé included), the food, the booze, the rooms, and that glorious spa. How we already miss the warmed tiles and steam showers of the Haman. Rent the bikes and get the Soul Temple. Breathe, people. It's worth every penny.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed two nights and a day at The Standard. We had high hopes, and will admit they were only half met.

The spa has nice services, albeit overpriced even by New York City standards. But we can see if you have a membership where this is decent value for money. The Hammam Room was a treat as a guest, and the sauna was in the best shape of the services. The steam room was out of commission. And for the heated marble - one can not resist to curl up on that nice warm stone to warm the chilled bones, especially from the weather-ridden NYC of the last few weeks.

The lobby was pleasant enough and looked updated to a good hospitality decor. This space doubled as a cafe. There is a back room that doubles as a private dining room for large groups - used both mornings as such while we were there, but these groups did not hurt the chilled out vibe of the well apointed lobby. Or at least aspects of the architecture that were not the original envelope, which really showed their age. Really a dichotomy between the veneer of new and the historic aspect of the original property. Regarding their notable profit center of the Food & Beverge, there are decent breakfast options, but one can tell this is one of the areas were their money is made.

The reviews about the rooms are all true. All the other members of our group were saying the same items. In a nut shell the historic nature of the facility as a retirement home on the beach was hard to loose. The rooms make me think of an Ikea crash pad - little room for anythig but a bed, no side tables of note - a need for horizontal surfaces for items meant the floor became a defactor surface for most items. If you travel with more than one overnight bag, you were out of luck for room to manuever in the room. There is no place to set up a laptop but there is seating outside in the garden with wifi - thank gosh everyone else seems to be doing the same thing, sans private conversations.

Speaking of noise, we could hear the conversations of the girls behind us when they got back from the club around 1am. Toilet flushing was a common rumbling of noise in the background.

The highlight of the room, was the historic turquoise blue toilet bowl. This reminded me of the minimum renovation nature of the property masking as sustainability, just with a cool colour.

In summary: Scene yes, luxury no.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Standard Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Standard Miami

Address: 40 Island Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#19 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#25 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#40 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Standard Miami 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on tiny Belle Isle in Biscayne Bay, The Standard, Miami is an indoor and outdoor hydrotherapy playground that fosters stress-free socializing in a tropical, contemporary setting. With a minimalist design, the holistic hydrotherapy spa hotel provides a stylish yet intimate ambience just blocks from the glitz of South Beach's nightlife and celebrity crowd. Owned by hotelier Andre Balazs, the hotel, winner of Conde Nast Traveler's Readers' Favorite Spa Hotel award, features a one-acre garden with do-it-yourself hydrotherapy-based scrubs, plunges, open-air mud baths, and stunning amenities that include a 103° F Roman Waterfall Hot Tub, a 50° F Arctic Plunge, and a 12-foot Falling Water Column. The 12,500-square-foot spa boasts one of the largest hammams in North America, in addition to an exceptional treatment menu of bodywork, massage, facials, and complementary health alternatives. More than 40 fitness classes are available weekly (including eight types of yoga), and the hotel's restaurants offer healthful Mediterranean coastal cuisine and al fresco dining. The modest guest capacity (a mere 100 rooms) complements the hotel's communal setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , Booking.com, Splendia, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, MrandMrsSmith, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Travelocity, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your The Standard Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Standard Miami Hotel Miami Beach
Standard Miami Beach
Standard Miami Hotel Beach
Standard Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Standard Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.