We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Work and play perfection.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Standard Miami

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Standard Miami to your Saves list
The Standard Miami
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40 Island Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Intox + Detox
Ranked #46 of 204 Hotels in Miami Beach
London
1 review
“Work and play perfection.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Having to work very hard and then rejuvinate in downtime so was the perfect place. In turns romantic, spiritual, fun, healthy AND party time. And the styling is absolutely sublime. Thanks to Grace for looking after us, all the tremendous service at the pool and for taking care of all our needs. THE place to stay in Miami.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

853 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    228
    99
    74
    63
See reviews for
30
355
92
105
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

A girlfriend and I (early 20's) booked our stay at the Standard because we had heard amazing things about the spa and photos of the pool online had us sold! We absolutely loved the chilled out laid back environment The Standard Miami had to offer. It felt like we had died and gone to heaven for 5 days. Yes, the rooms are small and simply decorated, but the bed was super comfortable and with the gorgeous, lush grounds and spa just steps away, we really only used the bedroom for sleeping. We started every morning sampling the delicious breakfast menu poolside and lounged and sunbathed for most of the afternoon. The pool staff were super friendly and attentive and very personable. After lazing around all day we would wander into the spa and just melt away on the heated marble in the hammam and in the steam room and sauna. Fresh towels were always available and the coed/casual environment was a nice change from the stuffier spas we have back home. We both had the the KISS treatment (massage + turkish bath) and thoroughly enjoyed this experience. My therapist in particular was excellent, maintaining the pressure I required and checking in to ensure that my comfort, music, temperature were to my liking. It was really hard to peel my body off the marble at the end of the treatment, my body just buzzed with pure bliss. In the evenings, on our way out to check the nightlife South Beach had to offer, the staff in the lobby gave very thoughtful recommendations and even went out of their way to hook us up with promoters working at the venues we were planning on visiting! We were blown away and really appreciated the personal attention we received. We are so happy with our experience at The Standard and can't wait to plan our trip back next year, we miss spending all day in our white Standard robes already!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latrobe, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

A friend arranged own birthday party at this lively, low-keyed venue. That sounds like an oxymoron yet it is true. The music at the pool bar was very jazzy/samba type music. There was much activity without it being obnoxious. The view at sunset is 'to die for' while eating mezze type snacks and drinking a large list of brews and letting the breeze play with you. One enchanting area, a firepit with 'hooded' chaise chairs, is delightful.
Drinks pricey. Food delicious.

Room Tip: Did not stay overnight so have no impression of accomodations. Although from walking the grounds, th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgeport, Connecticut
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Place is really something. From the retro decor, the staff, the pool, the often topless bathers (my fiancé included), the food, the booze, the rooms, and that glorious spa. How we already miss the warmed tiles and steam showers of the Haman. Rent the bikes and get the Soul Temple. Breathe, people. It's worth every penny.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed two nights and a day at The Standard. We had high hopes, and will admit they were only half met.

The spa has nice services, albeit overpriced even by New York City standards. But we can see if you have a membership where this is decent value for money. The Hammam Room was a treat as a guest, and the sauna was in the best shape of the services. The steam room was out of commission. And for the heated marble - one can not resist to curl up on that nice warm stone to warm the chilled bones, especially from the weather-ridden NYC of the last few weeks.

The lobby was pleasant enough and looked updated to a good hospitality decor. This space doubled as a cafe. There is a back room that doubles as a private dining room for large groups - used both mornings as such while we were there, but these groups did not hurt the chilled out vibe of the well apointed lobby. Or at least aspects of the architecture that were not the original envelope, which really showed their age. Really a dichotomy between the veneer of new and the historic aspect of the original property. Regarding their notable profit center of the Food & Beverge, there are decent breakfast options, but one can tell this is one of the areas were their money is made.

The reviews about the rooms are all true. All the other members of our group were saying the same items. In a nut shell the historic nature of the facility as a retirement home on the beach was hard to loose. The rooms make me think of an Ikea crash pad - little room for anythig but a bed, no side tables of note - a need for horizontal surfaces for items meant the floor became a defactor surface for most items. If you travel with more than one overnight bag, you were out of luck for room to manuever in the room. There is no place to set up a laptop but there is seating outside in the garden with wifi - thank gosh everyone else seems to be doing the same thing, sans private conversations.

Speaking of noise, we could hear the conversations of the girls behind us when they got back from the club around 1am. Toilet flushing was a common rumbling of noise in the background.

The highlight of the room, was the historic turquoise blue toilet bowl. This reminded me of the minimum renovation nature of the property masking as sustainability, just with a cool colour.

In summary: Scene yes, luxury no.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

A friend recommended The Standard - she is quirky and original and I can see why she loves this place. As a local you can join the Spa or get Day tickets to use the facilities. This makes it quite different on a Saturday from a weekday when it was quite relaxed and more the kind of experience we were looking for. A hotel more for couples than singles. The Spa is excellent. The service was on the whole good although we had to wait to check in (late at 4pm). Most of the staff were helpful and friendly. Our upgraded room was a surprise - definitely compact and bijou but adequate for our needs. Not luxurious. It fits the more retro feel of the hotel but might not suit all. Other reviews echo this. The Fire Pit was excellent and there were some real highlights - early morning sunrise was gorgeous. Just me and the pool man to experience it. Got some great pics but my daytime pics on Saturday were curtailed when I was asked to not take photos (I don't have a point and press - looks more like a Pro camera). Apparently photos are not encouraged - camera phone OK...oh and someone we'd never heard of (Kanye West??) was in the restaurant.

Overall a great experience and different but parking is expensive and weekdays would be the time to visit to ensure the peace you are looking for can be achieved..

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

the standard is my go to hotel when i travel to miami, most often to escape the nyc winter for a long weekend to relax and unwind. I've done all the other hotels in miami throughout the years (w, delano, shore club, mondrian, mandarin oriential, viceroy, the list goes on) and the standard is the best hotel for what i'm looking for when i travel to miami, which is basically: (1) a great pool with good people watching; (2) an amazing spa; and (3) close proximity to the south beach strip, but not close enough to feel like i'm living in a club (been there, done that). and for a city where customer service is often lacking, i've always been more than happy with my experience at the standard. alex lindao in particular is always a pleasure.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Standard Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Standard Miami

Address: 40 Island Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#30 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#39 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#56 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Standard Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on tiny Belle Isle in Biscayne Bay, The Standard, Miami is an indoor and outdoor hydrotherapy playground that fosters stress-free socializing in a tropical, contemporary setting. With a minimalist design, the holistic hydrotherapy spa hotel provides a stylish yet intimate ambience just blocks from the glitz of South Beach's nightlife and celebrity crowd. Owned by hotelier Andre Balazs, the hotel, winner of Conde Nast Traveler's Readers' Favorite Spa Hotel award, features a one-acre garden with do-it-yourself hydrotherapy-based scrubs, plunges, open-air mud baths, and stunning amenities that include a 103° F Roman Waterfall Hot Tub, a 50° F Arctic Plunge, and a 12-foot Falling Water Column. The 12,500-square-foot spa boasts one of the largest hammams in North America, in addition to an exceptional treatment menu of bodywork, massage, facials, and complementary health alternatives. More than 40 fitness classes are available weekly (including eight types of yoga), and the hotel's restaurants offer healthful Mediterranean coastal cuisine and al fresco dining. The modest guest capacity (a mere 100 rooms) complements the hotel's communal setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Expedia, Splendia, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, Otel, Travelocity, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Standard Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Standard Miami Hotel Miami Beach
Standard Miami Beach
Standard Miami Hotel Beach
Standard Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Standard Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.