We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Past the thin veneer of the Spa and Lobby lies renovated dorm rooms” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Standard Miami

Save Saved
You added The Standard Miami to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Standard Miami
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40 Island Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Summer Lovin'
Ranked #51 of 200 hotels in Miami Beach
Brooklyn
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Past the thin veneer of the Spa and Lobby lies renovated dorm rooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I stayed two nights and a day at The Standard. We had high hopes, and will admit they were only half met.

The spa has nice services, albeit overpriced even by New York City standards. But we can see if you have a membership where this is decent value for money. The Hammam Room was a treat as a guest, and the sauna was in the best shape of the services. The steam room was out of commission. And for the heated marble - one can not resist to curl up on that nice warm stone to warm the chilled bones, especially from the weather-ridden NYC of the last few weeks.

The lobby was pleasant enough and looked updated to a good hospitality decor. This space doubled as a cafe. There is a back room that doubles as a private dining room for large groups - used both mornings as such while we were there, but these groups did not hurt the chilled out vibe of the well apointed lobby. Or at least aspects of the architecture that were not the original envelope, which really showed their age. Really a dichotomy between the veneer of new and the historic aspect of the original property. Regarding their notable profit center of the Food & Beverge, there are decent breakfast options, but one can tell this is one of the areas were their money is made.

The reviews about the rooms are all true. All the other members of our group were saying the same items. In a nut shell the historic nature of the facility as a retirement home on the beach was hard to loose. The rooms make me think of an Ikea crash pad - little room for anythig but a bed, no side tables of note - a need for horizontal surfaces for items meant the floor became a defactor surface for most items. If you travel with more than one overnight bag, you were out of luck for room to manuever in the room. There is no place to set up a laptop but there is seating outside in the garden with wifi - thank gosh everyone else seems to be doing the same thing, sans private conversations.

Speaking of noise, we could hear the conversations of the girls behind us when they got back from the club around 1am. Toilet flushing was a common rumbling of noise in the background.

The highlight of the room, was the historic turquoise blue toilet bowl. This reminded me of the minimum renovation nature of the property masking as sustainability, just with a cool colour.

In summary: Scene yes, luxury no.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

768 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    327
    212
    96
    72
    61
See reviews for
26
326
84
94
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

A friend recommended The Standard - she is quirky and original and I can see why she loves this place. As a local you can join the Spa or get Day tickets to use the facilities. This makes it quite different on a Saturday from a weekday when it was quite relaxed and more the kind of experience we were looking for. A hotel more for couples than singles. The Spa is excellent. The service was on the whole good although we had to wait to check in (late at 4pm). Most of the staff were helpful and friendly. Our upgraded room was a surprise - definitely compact and bijou but adequate for our needs. Not luxurious. It fits the more retro feel of the hotel but might not suit all. Other reviews echo this. The Fire Pit was excellent and there were some real highlights - early morning sunrise was gorgeous. Just me and the pool man to experience it. Got some great pics but my daytime pics on Saturday were curtailed when I was asked to not take photos (I don't have a point and press - looks more like a Pro camera). Apparently photos are not encouraged - camera phone OK...oh and someone we'd never heard of (Kanye West??) was in the restaurant.

Overall a great experience and different but parking is expensive and weekdays would be the time to visit to ensure the peace you are looking for can be achieved..

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

the standard is my go to hotel when i travel to miami, most often to escape the nyc winter for a long weekend to relax and unwind. I've done all the other hotels in miami throughout the years (w, delano, shore club, mondrian, mandarin oriential, viceroy, the list goes on) and the standard is the best hotel for what i'm looking for when i travel to miami, which is basically: (1) a great pool with good people watching; (2) an amazing spa; and (3) close proximity to the south beach strip, but not close enough to feel like i'm living in a club (been there, done that). and for a city where customer service is often lacking, i've always been more than happy with my experience at the standard. alex lindao in particular is always a pleasure.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I haven't stayed at the Standard Miami since 2011. But after seeing some bad reviews on here for the hotel, I'd like to clarify some things for people considering staying there. When I go to Miami, The Standard is my first choice of hotel. Here's why:

The Standard Miami is:

- More of an overall experience vs. a hotel
- A destination (for Miami locals and travelers) to experience the glorious spa' get zen and blissed out by the pool
- A haven for International and jetsetter types
- A Yoga retreat destination
- Decorated in a very modern, rustic, luxury summer camp for Adults, vibe
- Non judgemental, free, open casual environment
- Hot, sexy getaway for couples
- Pet friendly

The Standard Miami is NOT:

- The right place if you just "need a room"
- For travelers who would rather be in the middle of the South Beach madness
- For people expecting a Pool party vibe a la the W or the Delano - it's more of a European, South of France vibe
- The right place if you are not interested in a spa experience. The perfect day at the Standard Miami is spending it in your robe, alternating from the pool to the spa. Even if you don't get treatments, you can still enjoy the Hamaam room, sauna, etc
- For you if you typically prefer lush, ornate luxurious hotel rooms. The Standard is more utilitarian, understated, simple modern luxury
- For kids

Hope this helps!!

Room Tip: Row of rooms with terraces are the best. Quieter, and feel more like you have your own little cabin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I stayed at The Standard Miami with three colleagues for a trade show. Slightly less than a 1 mile walk to the convention center or a short cab ride. This turned out to be an excellent place to stay. How can you beat a pool and spa after a long day standing. Rooms are clean, pool is fantastic, spa is so relaxing, and the food and drinks were excellent. Left some items at the hotel and they promptly found and shipped back to me.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

If you want to chill out at a cool bayside bar, relax by the pool all day, spend a day at a luxurious spa, hang out on the lawn, enjoy delicious food and sample some grown up luxury... This is the perfect spot.
Not pretentious, not very South Beach either. More Euro than USA. Just sublime.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

It's when something goes wrong that the strength of a brand shines through, and certain members of he staff at the Standard New York and Miami really proved that to me this summer. When there was a malfunction with the alarm system at the Standard New York (keeping us up part of the night), the hotel contacted me the next day to offer a free room. When I used it at the Standard Miami, I was upgraded to a better room and, thanks to the kindest and courtesy of the staff, enjoyed one of the relaxing stays I've had in a long history of travel.

I booked a night at the Standard New York on July 4. I got engaged earlier in the day and requested a room with a view of the Hudson River fireworks. Although the person who booked my room was careful to tell me that nothing could be guaranteed, we wound up with a perfect view of the fireworks and I could not have been happier.

Unfortunately, the hotel's alarm malfunctioned later that night, keeping us awake for a few hours. The next day, before I could even reach out to the hotel, they contacted me! Michael at the Standard New York could not have been more apologetic or courteous, and we both agreed that a second chance was only fair.

I have to confess, I now feel lucky we were woken up. When I had a long layover in Miami last month, Michael put me directly in touch with the management of the standard Miami. They set us up with a room right away. When we arrived, Jose was at reception. He not only put as at ease, he upgraded our room, helped us with our bags himself, and generally put us in a great mindset to enjoy our time there. By the time we left, we knew that if we ever lived in Miami, we would be joining the spa.

I am not sure whether Jose knew what had happened in New York. Either way, the efforts of both Michael and Jose have ensured that whenever we have a chance, we will be staying at a Standard again, be it in New York, Miami, or anywhere in the world.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Standard Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Standard Miami

Address: 40 Island Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#24 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#32 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#46 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Standard Miami 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on tiny Belle Isle in Biscayne Bay, The Standard, Miami is an indoor and outdoor hydrotherapy playground that fosters stress-free socializing in a tropical, contemporary setting. With a minimalist design, the holistic hydrotherapy spa hotel provides a stylish yet intimate ambience just blocks from the glitz of South Beach's nightlife and celebrity crowd. Owned by hotelier Andre Balazs, the hotel, winner of Conde Nast Traveler's Readers' Favorite Spa Hotel award, features a one-acre garden with do-it-yourself hydrotherapy-based scrubs, plunges, open-air mud baths, and stunning amenities that include a 103° F Roman Waterfall Hot Tub, a 50° F Arctic Plunge, and a 12-foot Falling Water Column. The 12,500-square-foot spa boasts one of the largest hammams in North America, in addition to an exceptional treatment menu of bodywork, massage, facials, and complementary health alternatives. More than 40 fitness classes are available weekly (including eight types of yoga), and the hotel's restaurants offer healthful Mediterranean coastal cuisine and al fresco dining. The modest guest capacity (a mere 100 rooms) complements the hotel's communal setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Splendia, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, MrandMrsSmith, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Jetsetter and Otel so you can book your The Standard Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Standard Miami Hotel Miami Beach
Standard Miami Beach
Standard Miami Hotel Beach
Standard Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Standard Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.