We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Standard Miami

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Standard Miami to your Saves list
The Standard Miami
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   40 Island Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Hydrotherapy Heaven
Ranked #41 of 205 Hotels in Miami Beach
New York City, New York
1 review
“Where to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

The Standard is just cool. Off the beaten path, facing the wonderful view of downtown Miami over the bay, this place is both relaxing and hip. From the perfect pool atmosphere to yoga and spa treatment, you get it all plus friendly service. The Standard doesn't disappoint and is low-key enough to keep you relaxed in South Beach!

Room Tip: try to get a lush-large with patio near the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

875 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    402
    233
    101
    76
    63
See reviews for
29
370
93
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

Other than a 'cute' or 'eccentric' personality (fantastic ping-pong table in the lobby!), this place was terrible. Although we checked in well after the standard check-in time, our room was dirty. The bed was made but there was dirt/grime on the bathroom floor and surfaces were dusty/dirty. The housekeeping service came immediately to remedy the situation however they missed many spots so we found ourselves not placing any of our toiletries on any shelves in the bathroom as they were still dirty (the kind of dirt/grease that is obvious with a simple finger swipe).

The bed was comfortable, but the rooms are minimal and the walls thin. You can hear people walking by your room all night which made it very difficult to sleep. A friend who was staying here bought ear plugs and said they helped him sleep.

The spa was also very disappointing. I was given dirty flip flops - my husband was so skeeved by the flip flops that he opted to go bare-foot! The spa is poorly structured: you get your locker key on the 3rd floor, have to take the elevator down to the 2nd floor to the locker room, have to take the elevator back to the 3rd floor to use the spa, back down to the 2nd floor to get changed and back up to the 3rd floor to get your room key back and return your locker key. The locker room is very minimal - - no amenities whatsoever.

The spa was hit-and-miss. The sauna was nice; the steam room smelled nasty. The best aspect of the spa (and a unique one at that) is that it is co-ed so if you're traveling with a member of the opposite sex, you can both enjoy the spa together.

The restaurant (Lido) served good food, but the drinking glass was dirty (par for the course at this point) and the service was really slow. The price seemed to suggest a cleaner place with more prompt wait service.

Side story: when we returned from the spa to the room in our robes, our door wasn't working. The battery in the card-reader had died. The maintenance was very helpful and prompt in fixing, but we really were beyond our threshold for patience at this point.

Overall, the staff was gracious and responsive to our complaints, but we were so frustrated and disappointed after the first night that we ended up changing hotels for the rest of our stay in Miami Beach. We paid more for a different hotel, but the difference in quality and cleanliness made the extra money well worth it.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ISMiami, General Manager at The Standard Miami, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
Dear dlovvanPhiladelphia,
Thank you for taking the time out and sharing your recent experience with us. I assure you that your recent finding in your room is not a common occurrence at The Standard. I truly apologize for the overall experience that you encountered. Our team thoroughly inspects each room and public area before welcoming a guest in to rooms or spa. We take all comments and concerns very seriously and once again thank you for bringing this experience to our attention. We hope you will give us an opportunity to make it up to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

We went here because it was a unique hotel from the pictures, and when we got there at 230am the service was awesome. Even though we stayed there for just one night, the room was huge, it had the view of the water, and the bed was so comfortable! Overall me and my wife had an amazing time, really recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Missenden, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

This is an OK hotel in a residential area with rooms somewhat reminiscent of some French autoroute hotels - minimalist decor, foldaway tables etc.
The front desk staff seem to rely on a couple of v e r y slow laptops for check in and out, which can be frustrating. Restaurant food was excellent, if not a bit pricey.
Rather surprised to have to pay $37 per night for the pleasure of having the car moved 50 feet into a nearby residential parking lot. But if I park it there myself, then I would get a ticket!!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

Although this hotel has gorgeous views and a chic ambience, some of the front desk staff are not very competent.
The dining staff is a ten! The food is very good.
They do not allow children here, however, the walls are so thin you can hear everything going on out your door.
The rooms are comfortable but small for the price, but the views are worth every penny!
Very Boutique-y......not so "spa-like"
Would return

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

Needs renovation. Spa bare bones. Not sure why there is a lot of hype surrounding this place… though there were "beautiful people" and good eats at the outdoor restaurant. Would def prefer to stay on the beach!

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rhode island
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

We stayed for three nights and took full advantage of the spa services... great workout room, great steam room, great sauna, great pool. The room was nice, with good AC and a comfy bed, a great shower and wonderful soap/lotion/products in the bathroom. There was noise, though, a lot for a spa... noise outside from people "playing" and noise inside from next door and overhead. Too bad.
The food in the restaurant is quite good, with options for healthy as well as indulgent options. The service is not good. They are polite and nice, but given how many of them there are, it was slooooow. Also, they should step up and correct behavior more. The spa has lots of "rules" which would make it a nice place (like no kids, quiet voices, clean up spaces) but these aren't enforced. The steam room was covered in towels. There were kids pretty much everywhere and the pool area was smoky and noisy.
Overall, a good place. Overpriced, but with good features.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Standard Miami? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Standard Miami

Address: 40 Island Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#18 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#25 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#32 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Standard Miami 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on tiny Belle Isle in Biscayne Bay, The Standard, Miami is an indoor and outdoor hydrotherapy playground that fosters stress-free socializing in a tropical, contemporary setting. With a minimalist design, the holistic hydrotherapy spa hotel provides a stylish yet intimate ambience just blocks from the glitz of South Beach's nightlife and celebrity crowd. Owned by hotelier Andre Balazs, the hotel, winner of Conde Nast Traveler's Readers' Favorite Spa Hotel award, features a one-acre garden with do-it-yourself hydrotherapy-based scrubs, plunges, open-air mud baths, and stunning amenities that include a 103° F Roman Waterfall Hot Tub, a 50° F Arctic Plunge, and a 12-foot Falling Water Column. The 12,500-square-foot spa boasts one of the largest hammams in North America, in addition to an exceptional treatment menu of bodywork, massage, facials, and complementary health alternatives. More than 40 fitness classes are available weekly (including eight types of yoga), and the hotel's restaurants offer healthful Mediterranean coastal cuisine and al fresco dining. The modest guest capacity (a mere 100 rooms) complements the hotel's communal setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Jetsetter, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Standard Miami reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Standard Miami Hotel Miami Beach
Standard Miami Beach
Standard Miami Hotel Beach
Standard Hotel Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Standard Miami, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.