We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST HOSTEL BY FAR!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Deco Walk Hostel | Beach Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Deco Walk Hostel | Beach Club to your Saves list
Deco Walk Hostel | Beach Club
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   928 Ocean Dr, 2nd Floor, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Preston
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“BEST HOSTEL BY FAR!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

I had the most fantastic time at this hostel! The staff are extremely friendly and so much fun, there's a 24 hour bar which is cheap and provides a range of drinks and offers! The hot tub on the roof is so much fun and it is right on south beach so the location is perfect. The people we met there were some of the best people I met on my travels! Everyone's up for fun and genuinely really nice. The beach is about a 2 minute walk away which is perfect and it's close to all the partying! The rooms are fine, really clean. I am definitely going back to this hostel, I wish I could have stayed longer! I travelled with 8 people and all of them loved it just as much. I highly recommend Deco Walk!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    56
    36
    17
    26
See reviews for
6
7
78
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Landshut, Germany
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2010

We stayed only a night on a weekend during Spring Break. The location is right in the heart of Ocean Drive, a few meters from the beach, just perfect. The lobby is beautiful, tries to keep the art deco ambience even inside, with big windows over Ocean Drive.

My dorm room had I think 10 people so it stank a bit, but I guess it's the guests' fault... The bathroom was not very clean either, but again I arrived in the evening so I don't know at what time the staff cleaned it...

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2010

My experience was really good for me at the Deco Walk! The staff is great, always there to answer your questions and to help you with anything... Good Price/quality, half a minute from the beach! Small fridge in the room plus the television and a computer for everyone in the lobby! :) Bring your earplugs, Ocean Drive can be pretty loud at night! I totally recommend this hostel! Have a nice trip!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehigh Acres, Florida
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2010

We decided to try something different and spent the weekend at this hostel on Miami Beach. It was our first experience at a hostel so we weren't quite sure what to expect.

The dorm style accomodations were pretty clean, just the usual sand one expects on a tiled floor in a beach town. The lobby/bar area in the reception was in the deco style, and nice and airy. They have an undeveloped goldmine in the roof top patio, only about half of it is setup to be used leaving a whole area in the back that have more seating, tables etc. Some type of toliet would be good too as you have to traipse back down to your room. The only real negative was the distinct lack of ashtrays. There was one overflowing one and that was it. There were quite a few people smoking and we resorted to using beer cans and water bottles for ashtrays.

The location is really amazing, right on Ocean Drive and you can see the ocean from the rooftop patio.

The staff were friendly and helpful with everything. The valet parking for $20 for the entire stay is a great bargain considering the prices of parking on South Beach.

I saw a view negative reviews about the lack of atmosphere, but really its all in what you make of it. Hanging out with new friends most of the night on the patio was pretty awesome, without needing something glitzy.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2009

I stayed in Deco walk for six nights early Dec. and found the place really nice. The kitchen is quite small but adequate. The only 'issue' if you would call it that is there is a roof top jacuzzi advertised but it was not working for my entire stay - with staff saying it would be the next day, he next day etc. It would of been nice to have this in use. Other than that I would have no complaints whatsoever

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2009

The hostel lobby was very modern with white comfy seating clean floors and lovely decor, free internet access and a breakfast bar/night time bar. There was also a BBQ party on the roof the night we stayed which was excellent! You could see South Beach from the large window in the lobby it was literally across the road, we paid about $29 each for one night there was 7 of us and we stay in the one room in bunk beds, the room was rather large nothing fancy but comfortable! we had such a good time there the people who worked there really looked after us. I would recommend this hostel too any young groups travelling to Miami.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Witney, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2009

Our frst impressions of this place were pretty mixed with the UV lighting in the elevator but overall, Deco Walk is well worth the visit if you're on a no-frills budget and want to be right in the centre of the Miami Beach scene.

We stayed in a mixed 8 bed dorm. It was clean and tidy and as mentioned, what you'd expect for $25 a night. Nevertheless, the room and en-suite was very tidy.

What is a great hostel was let down by a couple of things that could be changed pretty easily and cheaply....

The room's air-con though sounded like a 1930's prop plane engine and leaked more than the meagre portioned sized coffee machine you get for the continental breakfast (as mentioned in other reviews - a thimble of coffee and a slice of bread). Walking in small puddles of water to get to the lockers was a bit of a pain in the bum but kind of refreshing don't get me wrong when you're half drunk.

Secondly, the bunk beds in our room were clean, fresh but not good for sharing in a room with 7 other people as like the air-con made more noise than any overweight backpacker snoring on his back.

Moving around at night caused even more noise as most of the other guests were all telling each other to keep it down because the beds creaked like grandma's rocking chair. All beds creak yes but these were pretty exceptional.

Now for a positive, the staff were very helpful and friendly once you understood what they were saying and helped us get our connections and get around the city. They were around in the early hours and there was always a visable presence in the lobby. Best of all, the staff and the hundreds of CCTV cameras made us feel safe which is pretty good for Vice City.

Great lobby, classy decor, stylish and good rooms with friendly and pleasant people. Awesome if you're looking for a great value place to stay in Miami Beach on a budget.

However, I must mention the fact that the advertised 'rooftop bar' was not quite the 'Club Tropicana' scene I imagined it to be. In fact the hot tub (out of use), pool table (out of use) and elevator to the party (out of use) were all, yup, out of use. The rooftop looked like the weather had the party, trashed the place and threw up over it all. (note there was no actual vomit). It just looked a mess and un-kept. They could do with maybe just closing it off when it looks like the mess it was in and re-opening it when there's the weather and the numbers of people willing to use it around. I would have loved to have sipped a cold beer up there with the place alive and kicking. The fact that I couldn't and had to see it all sad and un-usable was a big disappointment. Sorry guys!

Despite the lack of Wham inspired boozing on the rooftop, the Deco Walk is ace place to stay. With a couple of small changes this place would be near perfect. If you're the type of person who likes attention to detail on a budget and doesn't mind getting drunk enough to sleep through the creaks...Go Deco Walk. :)

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Deco Walk Hostel | Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deco Walk Hostel | Beach Club

Address: 928 Ocean Dr, 2nd Floor, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 63 Specialty Lodging in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Deco Walk Hostel | Beach Club 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only Oceanfront Hostel and Beach Club on Miami Beach & south beach, with a Rooftop Lounge with a bar where you can meet other travelers open until 5 am! complete with a Jacuzzi, pool table, ping pong table, TVs, outdoor furniture, large beds on a sun-bathing deck on ocean drive, where something Fun is always happening, If we were any closer to the beach, we would be in the ocean! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Deco Walk Hostel | Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deco Walk Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deco Walk Hostel | Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.