We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location and that's all” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Deco Walk Hostel | Beach Club

Save Saved
You added Deco Walk Hostel | Beach Club to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Deco Walk Hostel | Beach Club
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   928 Ocean Dr, 2nd Floor, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Paris, France
1 review
“Location and that's all”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

The hotel is well situated just near the beach. Also, it has a rooftop that is good to enjoy a sunny day.However, the staff was really rude, and the rooms were the worst I've ever seen. 12 in a ridiculously small room, with only 1 bathroom inside for everyone. When you don't know anyone, such a crowded environment is not good. There are 3 floors of bed, which I had never seen before and the upper beds are not safe at all. No space at all to take the so called "breakfast".
Just go to this hostel if you want cheap price and not a clean environment.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    43
    50
    27
    15
    20
See reviews for
5
6
66
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Awesome ambiance, perfect rooftop, the staff was very pleasant, the place is just in front of the beach, rooms are spacious and the swimming pool is good
Thanks to Decowalk for this few days and thanks to INTERSTUDE

Room Tip: corner suites are large and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

I liked the hostel, the staff is very friendly, they always have good plans for party and different options too. The location is great too and is just across the beach. The food is good considering what you pay for it. Clean rooms too and secure.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

The location is fantastic. You are right on Ocean Drive and all you had to do is cross the street and you are on the beach.

When I booked this hostel it described our room as private however a few days after I booked it we learned we had to walk through another groups room in order to get to ours. Also we shared a bathroom with this other group. This would have been okay except there was no shower curtain around the tub so EVERYTHING was perpetual wet.

Also the "wall" separating the two rooms stop short of the ceiling by a foot so sound travelled quite easily.

Besides this, for the price of staying in south beach and the convenience of it's location is was an okay experience. There is a kitchen and hot tub we never got around to using but those could make a travelers experience better.

Room Tip: Just be forewarned that the "private" rooms may not be very private
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conselheiro Lafaiete, MG
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

I went to Miami for two or three days on my way to Davenport and I had a good experience at this hostel. The staff was kind and very helpful. We had free breakfast till 10am and it was quite good. The atmosphere of the lobby was awesome, cable tv, free Wi-Fi, kind people. The hostel is quite modern and well finished. The entrance is a bit weird, especially at night. Some parties are held on the roof top, there is free barbecue in the evening...pretty cool, actually. My friends and I shared a room with other people. The room was okay, pretty comfortable beds and, the A/C was always working. We had a problem in our room, cuz one of the guys in the room had his cell phone stolen. It was found in a guy's backpack right in the room. There was a guy in the room who was always bringing alcohol into the room, which was forbidden. We registered a complaint and he was told to leave the hostel. (We believe the cell phone thing was kind of a joke played by this man) I strongly recommend that you buy a good padlock and place your belongings in one of the lockers. The location is awesome, right on Ocean Drive...There are lots of bars, discos, restaurants where u can hv fun, right in front of South Beach, I would definitely go back there anytime!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

The Deco Walk Hostel is directly across Ocean Drive from the beach-located SCOPE tent. At $50 per night, I expected it would be booked to the gills. It wasn't. I reserved a spot in a 6-bed all-women room, and only one other adult woman was there.

It's been awhile since I stayed in a hostel, and this was my first hostel experience in the U.S.

Late at night, a friend and I returned to play pool on the rooftop. The cues are worn out but we still had fun.
Don't go for the 2-for-1 drink specials at the adjacent businesses -- one costs $50, as a friend learned the hard way.

Room Tip: I was in the building across the alley which would have been okay if the young security guards had n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Now I'm not sure if we were simply unlucky but it was one negative after another during our stay. We were a group of 4 girls travelling together but because our dates were sightly different we booked as two groups. Upon booking, our single booker called the hostel to explain our situation and ask if she could be put in a room with the rest of us (she was staying 5 nights, us 7). We were told this wasn't guaranteed but they would try their best. Upon arrival we were told this wasn't possible. This was fine apart from the fact our single friend was placed in a 12 bed dorm, of all men (they eventually moved her after we protested that she didn't feel comfortable) whilst we were placed across some dodgy alley way in a separate building in a room with a door that looked like someone had previously tried to break down. The point we didn't understand was that there were 3 empty beds in our room, but we were told our friend couldn't move over, not even just until the other beds would be occupied. On our 2nd night we were then told we would have to move because they were overbooked. Again, not a big deal, they managed to move us into the main building so we felt a lot safer. However it was very apparent they knew we'd have to move all along. Very annoying they hadn't just told us this as we'd already unpacked. We did complain about this, and were compensated with one shot, not exactly great compensation but hey. On our last day we came back to find one of our parties stuff had all been moved and someone was in her bed. The guy who had moved us (he was actually the only decent and helpful guy there) had not informed us we were allocated specific beds. The hostel then treated this as our fault after we complained yet again and the way the manager spoke to us was absolutely appalling!!! The girl whose stuff it was got very upset about this and whilst she was on Skype to her parents explaining what had happened she was basically told to shut up by staff for "disturbing the other guests"...With the exception of one man (who was incredibly helpful and lovely, he also hated the manager and didn't hold back on telling us this) all the men there are so smarmy and creepy and leery. I definitely wouldn't advise sunbathing on the roof in a bikini unless you want to be constantly leered at by creepy old maintenance men. Whilst the hostel itself is nice and clean and the free breakfast and wifi are a bonus, I would not recommend staying there unless you enjoy the worlds worst customer service. Terrible!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Deco Walk Hostel | Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deco Walk Hostel | Beach Club

Address: 928 Ocean Dr, 2nd Floor, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 59 Specialty lodging in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Deco Walk Hostel | Beach Club 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only Oceanfront Hostel and Beach Club on Miami Beach & south beach, with a Rooftop Lounge with a bar where you can meet other travelers open until 5 am! complete with a Jacuzzi, pool table, ping pong table, TVs, outdoor furniture, large beds on a sun-bathing deck on ocean drive, where something Fun is always happening, If we were any closer to the beach, we would be in the ocean! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Travelocity so you can book your Deco Walk Hostel | Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deco Walk Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deco Walk Hostel | Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.