We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right in Ocean Drive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Deco Walk Hostel | Beach Club

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Deco Walk Hostel | Beach Club to your Saves list
Deco Walk Hostel | Beach Club
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   928 Ocean Dr, 2nd Floor, Miami Beach, FL 33139   |  
Hotel amenities
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Right in Ocean Drive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Good hostel, especially for its location that is the reason why I put rate it very good.
Disappointed with the size of the lockers, very small and so, can't put your backpack in it, just the most important things.
Also, got disappointed with the attitude of the staff, they made a mistake on a booking for a tour and could not do it at the end because of their mistake. When there was still a little time to save it, no reactivity at all, no huge help and received apologize during the evening.
It is surely clean, the breakfast is fine and the location great, just cross the street to the beach!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikeo856, Owner at Deco Walk Hostel | Beach Club, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thanks for your review! I hope next time we can accommodate you with a tour! There are lots of great things to see and do in South Beach. Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    56
    36
    17
    26
See reviews for
6
7
79
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bludenz, Austria
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

The room was totally dirty, so was also the bathroom! I actually thought about leaving and looking for something other but I already had paid!
It happened twice that when I came to my room in the evening there was someone else sleeping in my bed. The management of the hostel is not able do conduct a list of their geasts in order to know who is using which bed!
Furthermore my own towel (quickdry towel) was taken away by the cleaning woman and they weren't able to find it any more!

All in all: AVOID THIS HOSTEL in order to have a beautiful vacation!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikeo856, Owner at Deco Walk Hostel | Beach Club, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. You may be pleased to know we are under new management and have new housekeeping staff! Safe travels and hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

You wouldn't notice this place if you were just strolling on by, but through an unassuming alleyway just off the middle of Ocean Drive is the lift entrance to Deco Walk hostel. Through the lift doors you walk right into a beautiful light and shiny reception space. The staff although seemingly nonchalant at first, seemed to bloom into gorgeous, friendly, extremely helpful individuals.

We stayed in an 8 bed mixed dorm room which was really spacious, incredibly clean, with lockers for personal possessions, ensuite shower room....

Our stay ran over New Year and we couldn't have picked a better location....right on ocean drive, rooftop garden overlooking all the action, hot tub (not working at the time unfortunately), bbq, music, perfect people watching and just a quick pace over the road to the beach to watch the New Year fireworks at midnight.

The hostel has a bar with cheap drinks which we made the most of, a stunning floor to ceiling window framing the palm trees, sand, sea and sidewalk, and a piano if you fancy showing off your musical talents.

Would recommend....

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikeo856, Owner at Deco Walk Hostel | Beach Club, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thanks for the review! Hope to see you soon. BTW, the hot tub is working!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

Just think about it, the hotels neighboring you are a couple hindered a night, if not way more. There's famous Mangos a few doors down, and all sorts of bars, it's a party every night! Location is key, and the Deco Walk Hostel has this right on point.

Cons:
From my experience -
The bathrooms could be cleaner, and maybe updated.
The roof top needs chairs and umbrellas
(I mean come on, your on ocean drive, with a ROOFTOP area! That could be a great selling point)
The Jacuzzi needs to be fixed
Breakfast needs a little more substance
Some rude staff
Elevator

Pros:
From my experience -
LOCATION, a 2 minute walk and you will be drownding
Great air conditioning
Comfortable foam mattresses
Roof top access
Wifi
Great people (seasonal)
Party's every night it seems like
(Same places every other hostel goes to)
Next to mangos
7-11 2 blocks away

It was not our plan to stay here but after showing up to Miami International Hostel a few blocks inland, and being denied a room because they overbooked themselves, we had no choice. Right away our trip changed, this hostel was way better then that international travelers hostel.

We checked in smoothly, $10 deposited for a room key, and off to our bunks. This place is newer, nice air conditioning, decent beds, pretty quiet at night. Mostly Europeans here, mostly Germans were here when I was. Great people, had a blast.

Will defiantly be back whenever I come into Miami.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikeo856, Owner at Deco Walk Hostel | Beach Club, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thanks for the review! Glad to hear we could accommodate you. Hope to see you soon, you'll love all the new improvements!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I dunno if it was because their English was so bad or because they were just plain rude but I did not enjoy staying in this hostel. The workers just made me feel so uncomfortable. they mentioned a roof top??? I never got near it because I felt like the workers watched your every move and didnt tell us anything. They also dont allow alcohol in the hostel which is pathetic. Free breakfast is nothing to celebrate, I think i saw a measly bowl of cornflakes. The only good thing was the location... a minute from the beach but dont expect to meet people here.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

WOW!! This hostel truly made my time in Miami that extra special, I was in a 6 bedroomed room females only, you get a free breakfast (if your not too hungover) happy hour is fab, all the workers there are wonderful, offer special limbo rides and party buses with free bar to the big clubs in the area. Very Clean, bathrooms lovely and clean, free wifi, full length mirrors (important for girls.)

LOCATION IS FAB, near mambos bar, miami ink, across the road from south beach... beautiful beach.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I wouldn't recommend staying here for more than a day or two, everything's pretty much broken (hot tub, beds, tvs, air conditions) I'm a laid back guy and even I found this place repulsive. For one or two nights its bearable but no longer. Ps. They give u one sheet and a sad excuse for a pillow so prepare to get a bad sleep. The employees come right into your room whenever they want without knocking or anything so privacy is completely out of the question.

Room Tip: Rooms farther down the hall are better layout
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Deco Walk Hostel | Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deco Walk Hostel | Beach Club

Address: 928 Ocean Dr, 2nd Floor, Miami Beach, FL 33139
Location: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 63 Specialty Lodging in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Deco Walk Hostel | Beach Club 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only Oceanfront Hostel and Beach Club on Miami Beach & south beach, with a Rooftop Lounge with a bar where you can meet other travelers open until 5 am! complete with a Jacuzzi, pool table, ping pong table, TVs, outdoor furniture, large beds on a sun-bathing deck on ocean drive, where something Fun is always happening, If we were any closer to the beach, we would be in the ocean! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Deco Walk Hostel | Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deco Walk Miami Beach

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deco Walk Hostel | Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.